We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, not the greatest breakfast selection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay, not the greatest breakfast selection”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with three young children and had a very nice stay. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. (One of our towels did have a small stain, but that's okay.) We did not partake in swimming but the pool was small, clean, and looked very nice as did the exercise room. Our biggest complaint was breakfast. They had the usual items - biscuits and gravy, pancakes, bread and bagels, cereal, cinnamon rolls - which were all fine, but they were missing the most basic of breakfast items - milk! When we first arrived, they had about four 8oz skim milk cartons. After five minutes, there weren't any, so I asked the lady there of she had any more, and she said no. She wasn't all that nice about it. I know they had juice and coffee, but if you're serving cereal and if you cater to families, milk is a must, and not just skim! Also, there weren't that many healthy options. I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses, and they always seem to have bananas and apples, if not other fruits. Other than breakfast, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMomma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    52
    24
    6
    11
See reviews for
65
29
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was traveling on business. I found this hotel on Hotels.com. My company booked it for me. I not only noticed other business travelers but also vacationers. The breakfast was good as all holiday inn express hotels are. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They all greeted you happily every time they were near you from the desk staff to housekeeping to breakfast staff. Nice place. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check reviews. Seldom are they wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morleyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our check in was late at night, and no one was at the front desk; my boyfriend had to call the hotel from his cell phone while inside the hotel lobby. Finally, someone emerged from the back room. We stayed for 3 nights, and it was not a bad hotel. The room was clean and well kept. the noise from the rooms (TV, loud talks, etc) can be heard in the hallways and in the room. I used the fitness room (small but acceptable). There was an indoor pool, but I didn't use it. The breakfast food was okay, nothing fancy. On the day of our departure, I had come down the lobby to get a baggage cart but there was not one available (it was in use). The front desk staff really weren't all that friendly, you had to greet them first before they greeted you. The hotel was located in a great spot where there were shopping centers, restaurants, grocery stores, and freeway in the near vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We went to KI for the day and stayed at this hotel. We arrived late (after midnight) and with an extra person in our party. They were most welcoming and helpful. They gave us extra blankets, towels, etc for the additional guest. The front desk folks were awesome both when we arrived and when we departed.

The room was very clean (floors, shower, etc) and we had plenty of space (two queen beds). The (free) breakfast was excellent. This is NOT your typical free hotel breakfast! It was quite a spread, omelettes, fresh fruit, etc.

Would highly recommend this place when you're in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor because we heard in other reviews that it had the best rooms. However, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPaxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for the 5 star rating! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a response about your experience with us. I'm so glad to know that the front desk staff was so friendly and they had taken care of you. We hope to see you back the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 28th and the hotel served its purpose. We stayed here because of it closeness to kings island. There are several restaurants around the area which are great if you don't want to eat at the park. A little pricey for a basic hotel but it was a Friday night and the location is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlcahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback as we look forward to reading what our guests have thought about there stay. I have shared your feedback with my staff as they look forward to reading these reviews! We hope that the next time your in town, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We chose this hotel based on other reviews on Trip Advisor, need for a suite room due to traveling with kids, andproximity to Kings Island and area attractions. Check-in was smooth and room was ready before the promised time! The room was clean -nothing extravagant and certainly does not qualify as a "suite" in our book. The room we reserved was a queen suite but is a stretch to consider it a suite...more like a long narrow room with a small sitting area. The television remote in the sitting area did not work and when we asked for a replacement, it too, did not work! Bathtub and sinks drain slowly and it was a bit weird standing in 2-3 inches of water while showering. Rust stains in tub....but we expected this based on our online research. Beds were awful! They sounded rickety and the bed springs squeaked with every move. Thankfully we were too exhausted after Kings Island to really care. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating but a bit disappointed that we left a tip for housekeeping along with a note requesting extra towels of which the request was ignored but the money was gone. Needless to say, we did not leave any additional tips. Pool was cold and had junk floating in the water. Clearly, this area has hard as evidenced by the stains on the pool's tiled walls. Kids did not mind but we could not swim long before everyone got cold or grossed out by the floaties! Location is absolutely great...close to several restaurants, movie theaters, shopping, and such. Was easy to get to the amusement park as well as only 30 mins to the Newport Aquarium and downtown Cincy attractions.

Room Tip: 4th floor would be advisable. Lots of families stay here and our experience on the 3rd floor was lis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us! We enjoy hearing all of the positives from our guests but also the ways that we could improve. I have addressed with my housekeeping team about the remote that didn't work and with my maintenance team about the drains, pool and the beds. I do sincerely apologize that you had experienced this at our hotel and I hope that you will come back and try us again. Thank you again for your feedback as we strive to ensure that each and every guest has a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was a great location if you are wanting something close to Kings Island or The Beach Waterpark. The room was very clean. My wife is a clean freak and for the first time ever, didn't wear her flip flops throughout the room. The only problem with the room was the noisy beds. They should be replaced. The soda vending on each floor is different. The 3rd floor has fewer options than the second or fourth. First floor vending is part of the hotel market place. Although we didn't use it, the indoor pool is very small. If more than 10 people are in, you will be crowded. Breakfast had a lot of different options. Only downfall, the grease should have been drained from the bacon before bringing out. It was literally dripping like a water faucet. Still, would stay here again as a first option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishinfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We truly value your comments about your stay with us! We are glad that you had a positive stay and that your wife didn't have to wear her flip flops in our guest rooms! I have shared your comments with my staff as we use these to try and improve our services. I do apologize that your room had a noisy bed and I have addressed this with my maintenance team. I have also brought to the attention of my kitchen staff about the grease that was left on the bacon.

We look forward to your return to us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mason hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason
Address: 5100 Natorp Blvd, Mason, OH 45040-7043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mason
#7 Family Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Mason hotel near Cincinnati is close to Kings Island. On your next trip to Cincinnati, stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Mason. Our free hot breakfast bar is the perfect way to start your day with our signature cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit. coffee, juice and many more healthy breakfast items. Enjoy a relaxing stay at our hotel by taking advantage of our heated indoor pool, fitness center, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our central, suburban location offers convenient access to local businesses and attractions. Our Mason hotel is located 19 miles from downtown Cincinnati, but only 1-2 miles from businesses such as Cintas, Microsoft, Clopay, General Electric, Verizon, Proctor & Gamble, and Siemens. Our Mason hotel is 4 miles from area attractions such as Kings Island and the Beach Water Park. The Golf Center at Kings Island offers quality golf during your leisure time. If shopping is what you are in the mood for, Deerfield Towne Center is less than 1 mile from the hotel. With national store chains including speciality stores, you can find everything for which you are looking. The Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals are only a short drive to downtown Cincinnati. Book your reservations now at Holiday Inn Express & Suites and let us show you how we can make your visit relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason Hotel Mason
Holiday Inn Express Mason
Mason Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing