We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Maumee
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kind of awful”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

To start, it was a cheap price. That is about the only thing going for it. There was an elderly man walking around the property who almost walked into our room when we were unloaded the car next to our room on the bottom floor. Second, I'm pretty sure there was a prostitute hanging out in the parking lot. I'll agree with a previous review about the breakfast. It is old pastries, nothing hot. The room needed to be vacuumed, and there was a chunk missing from the bathroom door, so it could open and close. Luckily, we only needed to stay a night here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCourtney125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyBudgetMaumee, Manager at Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry for your less than expected stay we continually strive to provide the best accommodation at the best price. I am also sorry to hear that another guest almost walked in your room. Guest safety is very important and that is why we have security in place. While we do not include a hot breakfast our selection of breakfast items are never kept after expiration or sell by date to ensure freshness. We hope to see you again soon in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
3
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The only good thing about this place was the price. We were in the area to visit friends, and not knowing anything about the Toledo/Maumee area, we chose this place based on price and what Expedia said they offered. The room was a far cry from clean, no shampoo, no coffee maker in room. Expedia listed full breakfast buffet, breakfast was non existant, no coffee available in lobby either. Would chose another place, several others in area with better prices.

Room Tip: Poor quality rooms at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyBudgetMaumee, General Manager at Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
I am sorry that your guest experience was less than memorable, we strive to provide the best service and rooms and the best price at the same time. Unfortunately we do not have coffee makers in the rooms, but we do have complimentary coffee in the lobby all day and we have also have a complimentary breakfast in the morning, also located in the lobby. If you had asked any of our hotel staff, or me as I was on hand, we could have gladly directed you to the breakfast area without hesitation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After driving straight from Chicago, we were just happy to have a room. At $40/night it was hard to beat, and being really close to the highway made it easy to find. Not the cleanest rooms, buy we did not find any bed bugs either.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyBudgetMaumee, General Manager at Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your review we value all of our guests opinions and are pleased you had a great stay. We strive to provide the cleanest room possible and we will continually improve to make sure each of our guests have a clean and comfortable room. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
658 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As always, pet friendly is the priority. This was an OK stop, but I would explore other options should I find myself staying in Maumee again. The room was non discript but adequate and fairly clean. It was also pretty quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
The breakfast that morning was non existent! There were some dounuts and I had to wait for the coffe to be made, though I showed up when breakfast should have been ready. It took a couple knocks to get someone from the back.
Good location with plenty of food options and a great grocery store (Meijers) to restock for the trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATTSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyBudgetMaumee, General Manager at Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your response we like to hear from all of our guests to help us improve and ensure a better stay for your next trip. I am happy that cleanliness and customer service were on par with your standards as we highly value those two attributes at The Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee. I am also sorry to hear that the breakfast was inadequate for you. Being the best priced hotel in the area our breakfast includes; donuts, coffee, cereal, milk, orange juice, bread, and toast, while some of our competitors, who also have much higher rates, do not offer breakfast at all. I do hope to see you soon again and if you may have any other questions please feel free to call me at (419)794-7757.

Sincerely

~Sunny, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The old rooms have bedbugs. They didnt seem to care too much. I was in the room for 30 mins and turned off the lights. When I turned the light on 5 mins later I had bed bugs all underneath my pillow. I caught one and took it to the office and the man threw it away, still alive, in the trashcan underneath the counter where they set out the food for the breakfast!!! In the same cabinets where they keep the food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkinicole92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyBudgetMaumee, General Manager at Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
On behalf of the hotel and staff at the Budget Inn we would like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your/our standards during your stay. Our rooms are not only treated but also inspected on a monthly basis by professionals to keep out unwanted pests. We strive to provide cleanliness, comfort, and convenience for all of our guests each and every time they check-in. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Nothing fancy but cheap, very clean and comfortable. Each room has a fridge, a microwave, cable TV, a big bed. We were very surprised at how acceptable it was given the low price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gings22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

room was nice, but saw bugs crawing around. was part of a former single former motel consisting of mutiiple buildings each one become a seperate new motel with a different name. i was told that it was modeled after the old clarion whom i assume they bought their old furniture from when the clarion remodeled.90s or early 2000s cherry finish (not todays modern espresso color or granite) pool was empty and pool are a overgrown still appearntly not in use since its former owners. lobby was still being renovated. good price of 39. just the bugs.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westhavener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyBudgetMaumee, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are committed to continually improve and will notice newer furniture being updated throughout the hotel. We also have pest control spray on a monthly basis to ensure even the most stubborn of pests do not get in. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maumee hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo South Maumee
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 19 in Maumee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Toledo - Maumee
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#12 of 19 in Maumee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee

Property: Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee
Address: 156 Dussel Dr, Maumee, OH 43537-2208
Region: United States > Ohio > Maumee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Maumee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budget Inn located in the heart of Maumee, conveniently off of the 80/90 Turnpike exit 59, and I-475 exit 6, provides spacious, affordable accommodations and practical amenities to visitors wanting to be near sporting events, concerts, river-front festivals and Toledo's popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Toledo-Maumee Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing