We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but don't expect peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Maumee
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice hotel, but don't expect peace and quiet”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The hotel was nice and clean, freshly painted. The staff were very nice and the pool was warm and clean. However, the hallways and other floors of the hotel were noisy until probably around midnight. Our kids were tired, so the sleep thru the noise. Breakfast wasn't bad, they had a waffle maker, but just as we finished breakfast about 830a, they were already out of eggs and bacon. So if you choose to enjoy this hotel, eat early.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kidsandusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    116
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
183
66
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

There was one clerk checking in, I waited in line behind two people. It took over 10 minutes. The room was nicely decorated, clean. Indoor pool was nice, there was no one at the pool when we went so we had it all to ourselves. Breakfast was okay, but could have set up a little different. Eggs and sausages were precooked and in the refrigerator so there was a line up to use the microwave to heat it up.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenainai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

There are 3 things I need your attention.

First, when we checked in the hotel, without asking if we want a smoking or a nonsmoking room, the girl on the front desk just gave us a smoking room even though our 3-year-old boy is checking in with us. When we found this and asked to change to a non-smoking room, she told us that she could not do it because we did not book it from the hotel but from the Priceline. My question is do they always treat the customer so differently? Did they always give the different service to the customer depend on where
them made the reservation?

Second, as my wife is 6-month-pregnant and my son is only 3-years-old, my wife could not stand the smell in the room and asked to change the room around 3:30 am on April 25. This time, another person on the front desk helped us. I really want to say thank you to this lady for her help. I have to say this is the only good experience we gave in this hotel, because after my wife and my son moved to a non-smoking room, about 3 hours later, my 3-years-old son fell from bed and bumped his head on the sharp end of the night stand when he was sleeping. This left a hole on his forehead and the bleeding did not stop until we sent him to ER two hours later. When we informed the hotel what had just happened, the stuff named Jennifer is horrible. They did not even feel sad about what had happened and kept laughing The general manager Deanna even threaten to kick us out when I was trying to ask her questions about their safety policy.

So, we decide to check out this hotel instead of been abused by them. The manager said we booked the hotel from Priceline, not from them. That is one of the reason they will not answer any questions from me. Actually, after all the things happened, I just want to alert them the dangerous of the night stand and hope they can give some sympathy to the little boy, but since their attitude is so horrible, and we can not get a simple sorry from them, we really need an answer for this!

My question is when something bad happened in their hotel, do they always treat their customer like this? First, check where they booked the reservation and treat them differently and second, when someone come to complain, the only answer is we can not answer any questions and the customer is the guilty one and need to be responsible for everything?

The Third, when we showed the willing to find a way to complain, such as finding a number to call which was shown in the policy book in the room, the front desk checked out us as soon as they can and refused to talk to us anymore. My question is do they train their staff like this to kick the customer out of the hotel, so they can be out of the trouble?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iloveyouethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akron, ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My husband and two teenageers had a wonderful time. The hotel is quaint, clean and inviting. Fresh cookies and coffee always available as well as breakfast in the morning and free USA today papers. Staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frushky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Our room was ready when we arrived and check-in went smoothly. The fireplace/sitting area in the lobby gives a warm, cozy feeling.

Our third-floor non-smoking room was tastefully decorated, clean, quiet and comfortable. The queen beds were very comfortable. The room air conditioner was quiet and worked well. Cable TV was fine and wireless internet was available but a bit slow. The room had a microwave and refrigerator.

In the later evening, we found that the TV, refrigerator and hair dryer did not operate. We informed the front desk and a person came to our room within 10 minutes to re-set the circuit breaker for the TV and refrigerator. Unfortunately, the hair dryer was broken and a spare hair dryer was not available. The hotel staff then moved us to a different room across the hall where everything was working. We were equally pleased with this new room until the next morning. This new room was located next to an Applebee’s restaurant which had a 6:00 AM food truck delivery that woke us up early.

We used the indoor pool and whirlpool which were clean and well maintained. A business center (computer/ printer with a desk) was available in the lobby.

Complimentary breakfast started at 6:00 AM and offered a variety of cereals, bread, fresh made waffles, sausage, eggs, fruit, juice and coffee/tea. The breakfast room was well organized, clean and spacious.

The hotel itself appears new or newly updated throughout. The parking is ample and we felt the security was good. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful in correcting our room problem and in providing information about restaurants and shops in the area.

The hotel is conveniently located off I-80 on Dussel Road and is located in an area of other hotels, shops and restaurants. In August 2009 there was some road construction on Dussel Road which did cause some minor traffic congestion.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UBHappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We arrived after an 8 hour drive to be greeted by a very nice young man that had been on the job for 2 days. We had booked our room 2 weeks earlier and were looking forward to a nice relaxing evening. The young man then advised us that there were no rooms available on the 3rd or 1st floor, and that the second floor had just been steam cleaned. We went up to see the room and the carpet was soaking wet. Clearly not a room that could be used. The young man then called his manager and her comments that he passed on to us were "we can cancel your reservation, or we can accomodate you on the second floor". What kind of offer is that? We asked that he call her back so we could speak to her. Once she realized that we were quite angry with the situation, she changed her story and then offered to find us a room at another hotel for the same rate. This was done and we stayed next door, however, this process took over an hour to get sorted out. Clearly not what you would expect from any hotel. The manager put her new staff in a very awkward situation, should have had alternate plans for us given we booked 2 weeks earlier, and certainly should not have put us through this unnecessary waste of time

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2go23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtabula OH
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We have begun seeking out Country Inn and Suites. We choose this Maumee location because of a trip to Port Clinton, Ohio and it was close. We also had a coupon for this hotel. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly. The room was clean. The entire hotel had just had all their carpets cleaned and they looked like new. The beds are divine to sleep in with down alternative bedding and topper. The shower had enough pressure.
The complimentary breakfast was one of the best you could get for free. You won't find endless sweet carbs here. They had eggs already cooked in a round shape, sausage links, hot waffles, fruit, cereal, bagels, bread, english muffins...and more. There was only one item that was sweet and that was a muffin. The lobby had continual hot coffee and cookies; although the cookies weren't always there.
The pool area was clean and the pool was fine, but because it was indoors there was a strong clorine smell. The pool is on the small side, but fine if it isn't crowded.
So far we have stayed in 3 Country Inn and Suites and enjoyed each one.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesabeach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maumee hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo South Maumee
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toledo-Maumee
0.5 mi away
Best Western Toledo South Maumee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Toledo / Maumee
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 19 in Maumee
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo
Address: 541 W Dussel Dr, Maumee, OH 43537-4025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Maumee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maumee
#4 Family Hotel in Maumee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo, OH, you can visit area attractions near the hotel's convenient I-90 and I-475 location. Settle into your comfortable accommodations, and enjoy excellent services like the free high-speed Internet access, the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet and an indoor pool. For quick commutes to work or play, Arrowhead Business Park and Side Cut Metropark are both within easy reach. After work, don't miss a minute of the area's best entertainment, dining and shopping in downtown Toledo, just 15 miles away. Whether you're touring the Toledo Museum of Art or the Toledo Zoo, you'll find a warm welcome and great rates at the Country Inn & Suites Toledo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Toledo
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo Hotel Maumee
Country Inn Maumee
Maumee Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo Maumee, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing