We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait & Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Maumee
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I travel across the country frequently and often stay at Holiday Inns using the discount coupons found at the local travel areas/rest stops (FYI, i am Priority Club Member and AAA Member as well for what that's worth). My most recent trip as no different -- stopped, picked up a coupon book, called to ask the Maumee hotel if they had rooms in this category and if they would honor the coupon. Was told yes, we have 15 rooms available so I drove straight there and arrived within 30 minutes (probably near 8pm). Upon arrival, I was told, yes they have rooms, but none at that price...the best they could offer was nearly double that price. When I explained that I was just told they would honor the coupon, the front desk clerk said, "We are. You can stay with us, just not at that price." I guess we disagree about what honoring the advertised price means. We stayed at a Comfort Suite a few hundred yards away, for less than what HI advertised, and the experience couldn't have been more pleasant. Have to wonder what HI is thinking to treat frequent guests like that????

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank pds_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Pds_travels,

We appreciate your feedback about the use of the Travel Coupon we offer on the Turnpike. We utulize these coupons as a way for travelers to get relief from driving all day. Since these coupons are at such a discounted rate we do not allow advanced bookings. We may be accepting them one minute but not the next based on the hotels availability, as well as the room types we have left to offer.

We strive to inform all our guests about the limited availability of these discounts when they call, but sometimes our walk in traffic is so strong we may stop taking them all together.

We hope your next time traveling through the turnpike you will give us another chance to see that we do in fact honor them just depending on the time of week and hotels availability.

Travis Maschino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our two night stay at the Holiday Inn. The room and bathroom were clean. The room was comfortable and the environment was quiet. The are a large number of restaurants in the surrounding area - many within 2 miles. We were in Maumee on business with Checker Distributor which is within 1.5 miles. We also enjoyed snooping around the Maumee Antique Mall which is a few hundred yards away (this is a very large antique mall - give yourself plenty of time). We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on food quality. I can say that the front desk staff was always very helpful and very friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Dalen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dalen K,

I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your stay. We have a lot of unique attractions in the Greater Maumee area. We strive to provide a higher level of service than you would find at some of our competitors and it seems we did that. I have shared your kind words to my hotel staff, we hope you will come back and visit us again soon!

Travis Maschino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Holiday Inn Maumee is nearly the precise midpoint between Pittsburgh and Chicago. We stopped here overnight to break up our drive. Our room had a king and two bunks which was perfect for our family of four. Holiday Inn Maumee was a decent value for our foursome - nothing too special, but worth what we paid given four of us. The adjoined Splash Lagoon was not open but for a smallish pool for hotel guests only. We knew that ahead of time and the pool was fine for our kids - they enjoyed it but really it was pretty average. Another family there seemed surprised that Splash Lagoon was not open during the week. A little research in advance would have let them know so.

Room was large and pretty clean - a few minor things were missed and a few stains on the carpet. Nothing to really complain about.

The noise from the room above is pretty noticeable (kids, just like us) - but we're pretty good at sleeping through most anything.

The restaurant in the lobby seems decent and we will try it.

We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pittsburgh_Family2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Pittsburgh_Family2,

First off, I would like to thank you for your kind words. Our staff works so hard to ensure your experience in the Maumee area is exceptional.

Our location is ideal for those cross Midwest trips, and being located right off the Ohio Turnpike is so easy for our guests to stop in and get right back on. We hope you will stop back in and see us on your next trip back to Chicago.

Travis Maschino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Brand new hotel. Exxxxxxxpensive room was nice and everything clean we had a travelers coupon for 60 bucks plus a 16 percent tax that was ok but I couldn't use my points card .ok room key didn't work so I had to trek back down to first floor on the slowest elevator I've ever been on . No breakfast continental or otherwise there was an old coffee urn in the lobby with powered cream not even creamers there is a restaurant there that they want you to eat in. When I say expensive it's cause the girl at the desk said regular price was 170.00 if I didn't have the coupon I would have been gone there is a comfort across the street where I have stayed good price and breakfast so forget the new place it just wasn't what we are used to .

Room Tip: I usually get upper floor because of people above being noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linkphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Linkphilly,

We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the Holiday Inn Maumee. I apologize that you were less than impressed with the coffee and elevator service. We take all our guests comments in account to make a better experience for all.

During the summer seasons & weekends we typically do offer higher rates due to travel and waterpark demands. We are considered a full service hotel (the only one in Maumee) which allows us the luxury of offering guests a restaurant and lounge for their convenience.

We hope you will join us again on your travels.

Travis Maschino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for a night to break a journey and found the staff to be friendly and the hotel clean. The room was large, the beds weren't the most comfortable but we're ok. Breakfast was fine, nothing exceptional.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Mikey88,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really focus on the customer service aspects at our hotel. Our staff work really hard and ensure our guests have everything they need to enjoy their experience.

I'm sorry your bed was not to your liking, Holiday Inn is always tweaking their standards to ensure all our guests get a great nights sleep.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Travis Maschino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great time at your hotel. The room was beautiful & clean with a king size bed and a little nook with a couch. The staff at the front desk was polite and made it easy to check in at 1am. My only complaint would be that the waterpark is only open on weekends and it costs extra per person...we did not plan to go to that part so it didn't bother us but I think that should be made clear right away since I'm sure some people would be upset to find out after the fact (especially since it is labeled as a hotel + waterpark). But for us our stay was great! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPepperCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

DrPepperCherry,

I am happy to see we created a memorable experience for you. Our staff enjoys making our guests top priority.

I have forwarded your comments about the Waterpark to the ownership as they are a seperate business that makes their own hours. We do work hand in hand and try to create a seamless experience to all guests (hotel or waterpark).

We hope you will come back and experience the waterpark at its finest.

Travis Maschino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We decided to stop at this Holiday Inn because we trust Holiday Inns and we liked the idea of the fun of a Water Park (attached to the hotel). It was a bummer to find a dirty room after a 10 hour day on the road. Our room and bathroom had not been cleaned.....urine on the toilet seat, dusty furniture, carpet not vacuumed.....etc. I alerted the desk clerk but no Housekeeping was available so she attempted to clean the bathroom with little more than a spray bottle of disinfectant and rag....felt awful having a kind lady all dressed up cleaning our bathroom....so I did not have the heart to ask for dusting and vacuuming as I knew she would have to do it herself...bad experience!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineMary63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

ChristineMary63,

Thank you for bringing these short comings to our attention. We strive to provide a higher level of service and this experience fell short. We know that when you leave for the day you want to come back to a refreshed and comfortable room.

Although I am glad a member of the front desk team was able to assist in some way, the matter shouldn't have happened in the first place.

We hope you will come back and give us another shot to show you a true Holiday Inn Maumee experience. If you would like to discuss this situation further please feel free to contact me at 419-482-7777 ext. 104.

Travis Maschino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maumee
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo South Maumee
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo
1.5 mi away
Best Western Toledo South Maumee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 19 in Maumee
177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Toledo Maumee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee

Address: 1705 Toll Gate Dr, Maumee, OH 43537-1673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Maumee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Maumee
Price Range: £77 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee is ideally situated in the heart of Maumee. Our hotel is close to Toledo Express Airport and offers convenient access to prominent businesses, as well as popular area attractions since we're just off I-80/90. Business travelers find the Seagate Convention Center, a venue for conventions and entertainment, located just 10 mi from our Toledo area hotel. The Arrowhead Business Park is just over a mile away with over 75 businesses and corporate offices. We offer free, high-speed, wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a meeting room which can seat up to 150 people for your business needs. Just five miles from our Toledo area hotel, you can enjoy a thrilling afternoon at the Toledo Zoo or visit Toledo University, home to the Division 1 Toledo Rockets. For a night of entertainment, the Stranahan Theatre is a mile away. Our Maumee hotel near Toledo offers deluxe amenities and stylish rooms. Our restaurant & lounge, Bistro 1705, offers excellent cuisine and kids eat free. There's a well-equipped fitness center. Book your Maumee hotel room today, and take advantage of great Toledo hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Toledo-Maumee
Holiday Inn Maumee
Maumee Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toledo/Maumee Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing