We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in a king suite for one night recently. The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice counter, plenty of electrical outlets for recharging needs and a unusually rich selection of TV channels. There are a number of restaurant choices within walking distance and a good number of breakfast options at the hotel. I did experience an issue when trying to connect to the hotel WiFi. Connecting to the network does not require a password but a password is required for internet access so I was able to connect to the network but not the internet. Generally opening a browser will provide access to a page where the password can be entered but that did not work on any of the devices I had with em. I finally found the URL that I needed on the instructions in the room and was able to connect. Signal strength was god.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay. We have take the time to receive feed back from our guest regarding their channel preferences and have added several extra packages for your viewing pleasure. I apologize that you experienced difficulty when trying to access the internet. When opening a URL browser you are automatically prompted to enter the password and submit, once this is done you are immediately routed to Google or any other URL you have chosen. It appears you were able to use the easy access directional tent card in you guest room to gain access.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow Tripadvisor guests.


Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    59
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
130
47
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! Even though we had reserved a standard room, we were upgraded to a suite! Full fridge, stove, leather couches, jetted tub - all fabulous!

We did get to see a few other guest rooms and they were all huge! The ones we saw all had two rooms and lots of space.

The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are excited that you were one of the "upgrades of the day". Our upgrades are done first thing in the morning and it is a pleasure to give them to an unsuspecting guest. The reactions are sincere and genuine. We hope that you will visit us again in the future when passing through the Mentor area.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to Niagara Falls. This is a very nice, quiet, and clean place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room entrance was inside the building. A safe place to stay. Very quiet, up-to-date. Very nice breakfast for guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt safe and comfortable during your stay with us. Our staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home here when your traveling. We hope that you will visit us again when returning to the area.


Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at for business. I have stayed here several times and have been pleased with the complementary room upgrades. The hotel staff is friendly with a location that is great. You can walk across the parking lot for many great restaurants including the brown derby for steak and ribs. The manager is expecially friendly and helpful. When my work computer internet couldn't connect. She diagnosed the problem and was a very positive person. People like her make this a reason for travelers to want to stay here for the welcoming service.

The rooms were clean with a little bit dated. The beds are comfortable, they have an amazing selection of TV channels and free on demand HBO movies. This is so nice so I can catch a show that I missed when I am traveling. I have never seen this in another hotel and I am pleased makes my stay.

Their breakfast is delicious, they have a beautiful sparkling indoor pool and inspiring soft music in hallway makes this hotel the best place to stay in mentor.

For business, pleasure (the beach is 2 miles away) and meetings this place is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrighteousfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us and other readers know about your stay.
The staff is cross trained in many areas, for the simple fact that things do not break during 9-5 hrs. It would not be unusual to see one of our front desk girls changing out a door lock, replacing an HVAC sensor or trouble shooting the cable box. No one like to wait for maintenance engineer to return, so we stand in the gap. If it is something we cannot handle and rooms are available we promptly move a guest. Our hotel is constantly changing and we have many new IHG approved changes coming form the lobby to the guestrooms and the breakfast area. We expanded our cable listings based on what you our guest suggested and are delighted that you noticed and appreciate the effort!
We look forward to having you as our guest in the future and know that you have a lodging choice when making accommodations and hope that you will consider one of the many IHG properties for your next travel accommodations.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is my second trip back to Mentor, Ohio. This time I traveled on business. After my last stay at The Holiday Inn Express, LaMalfa, I decided to stay there again just to see if my first wonderful stay was just a fluke or the real deal. To my delight, I found this stay (5days) to be just as great as my last stay, if not better. I found the rooms to be spacious and well laid out. In fact it appears that they have done some remodeling since I was last there. The amenities offered by this hotel are top notch, especially the pool and breakfast bar. As for the staff, I could not have asked for nicer, more courteous people to deal with. From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out, I was treated like I was someone important. The staff went out of their way to make my stay the best as possible. I would like to give a special thanks and acknowledgement to Tairi the front desk manager, and to Debora, the General Manager. Both were extremely helpful and professional. They are truly an asset to both the hotel and to Holiday Inn. I had a colleague who had to stay at the other Holiday Inn in town and after one day there, he quickly cancelled the rest of his stay and checked into the same hotel as me. I guarantee that his next stay will be at the Holiday Inn Express as well. A great property and great staff made this stay both pleasurable and memorable.

Room Tip: Any room you get is a good room. They have a great club floor (2nd) and all the rooms are suites. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We absolutely love to hear from guest that have stayed with us previously. The staff loves To hear that they make a difference and the only way we can know this is if you the guest take the time to inform us. I'm sorry to hear that your associate did not have a positive stay at one of the other IHG properties. Holiday Inn strives to create consistency among their brands so your experience is just as positive if you stay in Mentor, Ohio or Pittsburgh, PA.
We know that you have a lodging choice when making accommodations and hope that you will choose one of the many IHG properties for your next stay.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for our daughters wedding June 6th through the 8th, 2014. The entire staff was very friendly and courteous at all times. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. I must give a shout out to the Manager Debra who was very helpful in planning our block of rooms, she does an outstanding job. Kudos to Erin who worked in the breakfast bar, made me feel so at ease during my stay. The breakfast bar has excellent food and great coffee!!!!!! The swimming pool is very nice as well. Well stocked vending machines for drinks and snacks. Overall an excellent rating and we would stay here again and again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are excited that we were able to provide you with such a positive experience during your stay with us. We know wedding planning can be stressful and we want your day to be as hassle free as possible. Thank you for noticing Erin, she is the newest member to our team here and has been doing an outstanding job.
We know that you have a lodging choice and hope that you will choose one of the many IHG properties for your future accommodations.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
448 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Reception personnel a bit under-enthusiastic. Received spacious king "suite" - with somewhat unusual configuration. Nice sofa, but no coffee table. TV mounted high up, needed to be cranked into extreme angle to view from bed. Awesome shower set-up, spot less, curved curtain. Fridge with ice shelf and a microwave. Excellent breakfast (several hot food choices) with real china, glass ware and metal flatware. Quite the treat versus the usual Styrofoam feasts. Several restaurants in walking distance. Definitely an above average HIE&S property.
One issue: the air in the in-door swimming pool hall is so saturated with chemicals that my eyes starting tearing within seconds. Could not stay.

Room Tip: This hotel is removed from interstate and local thoroughfare. Should be quiet - unless you have dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. It is not our norm not to be enthusiastic about your arrival as we have two entrances to our facility. I'm guessing you came through the conference area. There is absolutely no excuse not to greet anyone with a pleasant "hello" and a smile. I'm glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our hot breakfast, many guest have told us how much they like the glass plates and flatware it seems to make breakfast taste better and it certainly looks better. Not all suites have coffee tables because of how the rooms are configured, however the next time you are here for a visit let us know and we will be happy to put you in a guestroom that has one. Several of our penthouses have the flat screens mounted on the wall which can be moved to accommodate your viewing. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Address: 5785 Heisley Rd, Mentor, OH 44060-1883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites LaMalfa. This unique property provides the finest personal service and facilities throughout Northeast Ohio. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the European decor throughout the eighty-three all suite facility including Executive Suites, Penthouse and Presidential Suites. Wireless and Ethernet are available throughout the hotel as well as the 60,000 sq. ft. banquet and convention facility. Come enjoy a fireside, hot Continental breakfast in our expanded breakfast area complete with a view of our 25'x52' lap pool with under water lighting and fountains. Located in the corporate hub of Mentor, Ohioand the home of corporate headquarters to Steris, Avery Dennison, First Energy and Rollkraft makes this hotel the number one choice for business travelers. Located just minutes from downtown Cleveland guest can enjoy the excitement of big city entertainment with near by Cleveland Indians, Cavs and Browns, Rock Hall of Fame, House of Blues and Lake County Captains.Local attractions include Mentor Civic Arena, James A. Garfield's Home, Lake Farm Parks, and Kirtland Mormon Temple. Transportation is available upon advance request, contact the hotel directly for arrangements and pricing. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at LaMalfa is a completely smoke free facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Hotel Mentor
Holiday Inn Mentor
Mentor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing