We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Painesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
228
63
22
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
63
22
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomfront deskwedding receptionparty centergreat hotelcinnamon rollsthe general managerthe entire staffbeyond the call of dutynice poolrooms are largelake erieexercise roomsleeping areahousekeeping staffwould stay here againone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here when traveling, Choose this place based on location alone. This hotel is elegant! Room so plush! Very quiet hotel, halls are carpeted in a rich plush carpet. The layout of room is suite, so there is a separate sitting area. Awesome beds and pillows. Shower products were high end! Good water pressure. Very clean hotel every where. Breakfast was hands down best we've ever had! The variety is amazing! The woman working there was exceedingly polite. Huge!! Space for breakfast. Front desk person very helpful. Pool nice, big, a tad chilly, unfortunately no hot tub. My only concern at all with this hotel was poor lights g to enter the complex.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lorri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to provide you with 5 star hotel accommodations during your stay. Everyone from the owner to our staff members take pride in where we work. Front desk staff keeps our lobby and entry way orderly and fresh while housekeeping stays on top of the guest room and laundry facilities. Our two mantenance engineers stay a head of repairs by doing walk throughs to catch issues before you do. Last but not least one of the owners (Michael) you will find doing everything from cleaning the parking lot and landscaping to preparing outstanding dishes as our Executive Chef. We are family owned and operated and it is our goal to make you feel like family when staying with us. We have been changing out the soft yellow lights in the parking lot to the bright whites hopefully you will see a difference on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here while in town to watch baseball at Classic Park. The hotel was clean, modern and looked new. Breakfast was decent although barely enough seating for the number of people staying there. Had trouble with the air conditioner not cooling the room the first night. Turns out the curtains were too long and blocking air flow. I personally dont like it when there is no sink in the room with the toilet (gross) but everything else in the room was clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate_12_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as well as the TripAdvisor readers, we greatly appreciate your comments. We are currently exploring several avenues to correct the issue with the drapes and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Our guest room restrooms were designed with an open format to create a more open and spacious guest room. We have two suites that have a closed in bathroom area that may be to your liking on a return visit.

We know that you have a choice when making lodging accommodations and hope that you will consider one of the many IHG brand properties in the future.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Needed to stay in the NE Ohio region and couldn't believe this was one of the few hotels available. There must have been a lot going on because the suite we booked was one of only a few left. At $299 a night, the amenities had better be nice. They were! Walked into a living room with a nice flat panel TV and a sofa bed that my daughter immediately claimed as hers. Two bifold doors separated the living room from the bedroom and bath (luckily we were so tired that she couldn't hear our snoring from the bedroom). Beds were standard fare, nice and comfy. Large TV (placed awkwardly to one side of the room). Bath suite comes with a separate toilet/bidet (try explaining that to a 7 year old boy who came to visit!), a whirlpool bath and a separate standup shower. Double sink with plenty of counter space for the girls.

The hotel is associated with a conference center that must also double as a venue for wedding receptions. The last night (Saturday) they hosted an event and the bass was really thumping, even after 11. Would be nicer with a little more sound proofing.

Staff were professional, although the linens weren't changed until late afternoon. Just a little odd for a Holiday Inn. The most frustrating part was that there was no ice machine on the third floor: you had to go to either the first or third floor and even then quite a trek. For someone with a disability this is really not optimum. Hopefully the hotel will look into putting ice machines on the floor where the suites are!

The last comment for first-time visitors is that the entrance is at the far end of the parking lot (exit is closest), and even then you must go around the conference center to get to the hotel. There are several good restaurants near the hotel, but you must exit onto a busy street and a quick block north to get to the drive thrus. I recommend a quick walk to the pizza joint (Guilio Bonazza's Pizzeria).

Room Tip: Suites on the second floor are near the conference center, so music events may be loud at night
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay. I see you were actually a guest in our Queen Penthouse. This room is very spacious and our staff at times has had to explain what a bidet is used for even to some of our adult guests. Bidets are generally a european fixture and we do have quite a few guest that are international travelers. The most outlandish usage I have seen someone use it for was to wash their socks in it. (wouldn't recommend it). Ice machines are located on the first and third floors, because of the super suites on the second floor there is no room for an ice machine, they are an easy walk one floor up or one floor down. The hotel staff would have been delighted to get the ice for you if you would have contacted the front desk. In the future if it is our hotel or another, please call the front desk to assist you with any questions you may have.

Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My bride and I stayed here on our honeymoon trip around Lake Erie. While I wouldn't exactly call this a romantic getaway, it served its purpose for a night. The hotel was beautiful, the room large and with lots of stuff in it for use, and it was very clean. The staff was friendly as well. We were disappointed that breakfast ended at 9:30, but that wasn't a big deal because we had lots of leftovers with us. This hotel seems to be geared more for business travelers than couples, which I figured ahead of time since this hotel is in Mentor. Nonetheless, it was conveniently located for our honeymoon as we traveled along the seaside trail.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. Our hotel is located in the hub of the corporate district in Mentor, but we do have a wide variety of guest who visit with us from tour groups, seminars, reunions and of course the wedding venues. Our staff goes out of their way to make every guest feel special and enjoy their stay.

Breakfast hours are set by IHG. They want consistency across the board for breakfast times, breakfast items, and in room amenities that are offered. Having consistency for the guest helps create brand loyalty to IHG.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you as a return guest in the future.


Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

A great HI property, one of the nicest & all suites! Great breakfast, even sat at outside patio tables, surrounded by roses. The room was huge, the beds & pillows were excellent! Restful stop, w/ a pretty and sparkling clean pool. Would definitely stay again, good restaurant choices & movie theatre within walking distance.
My only issue was finding the actual entrance; it would help if online directions stated left after second set of lights, instead of .3 miles. If you turn at first light you are back on highway, 2nd light you're in w/ restaurants w/ no access to hotel entrance.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that we had the opportunity to exceed your expectations. I am sorry you felt the directions were confusing I pulled them from the web site. They do state .3 mile on the left next to McDonalds. I will look into seeing if I have enough character space to add "after the first set of traffic lights on Heisley Rd.'

Once again thank you for the review.


Sincerely,
Debora M. Neath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews