We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Made Our Trip Less Stressful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in Mentor for my grandmother's funeral. We were nervous about a place to stay that would be comfortable after a long stressful day. We were so pleased. The staff was so understanding at Residence Inn...they were able to put us into a "pure" room for allergy sufferers. Very clean and no stink. Because of availability, they upgraded us to a suite. Our 11 year old was over the moon about her own king sized bed and her own tv! We enjoyed a full "apartment" with even a gas fireplace. We even bought a pint Ruggle's ice Cream in the lobby area...we were surprised that we were only charged $5 for a pint...we were waiting for the gouge of $10. They made a stressful time almost enjoyable. We want to come back for a family get away.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, ask for a "pure" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Tricia R,

I am so sorry to hear about your loss and that you were visiting us due to unfortunate circumstances.

Your feedback regarding our staff is the fuel that keeps us going. Thank you. We are very fortunate to have such caring and compassionate associates and I'm so glad that came through in the service you received.

Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to come back and I will do my best to make sure your 11 year old daughter gets her own bedroom again!

With gratitude,

Heather Palentchar
Director of Sales
heather.palentchar@interstatehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

This a great hotel if you need extended stay accommodations. It is also great if you need to make a stopover to/from another destination. The rooms are clean and well equipped for cooking. The laundry and exercise rooms are perfect for that long stay or as a stopover to refresh. The location is close to restaurants, Sam's Club and a movie theater, and its proximity to the highway makes access to neighboring towns (or travel) easy. Grocery stores and shopping malls are easily accessible. The staff was welcoming, helpful and accommodating.

If you're looking for the "concierge, Park Avenue" experience, this may not be the hotel for you. But, if you want a comfortable, relaxing, and reasonably priced "home-away-from-home", this is a great hotel.

Thanks to all of the Marriott-Mentor staff.

Room Tip: We liked room 131. It was near a convenient entrance/exit (card key controlled) away from the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Sandra A,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel and for all of the kind feedback you provided. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We realize you have other choices when it comes to hotels and we are very grateful for your business. Thank you again for your support of our hotel!

Kindly,

Heather Palentchar
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The staff was friendly, welcoming, and professional. Check-in was fast and easy. the man at the front desk was so friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean for our little family. Overall an excellent experience. If back in Ohio we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Becky F,

I am so glad to hear that you are your family enjoyed your stay with us! Howard, our Front Desk Supervisor checked you in. He is extremely passionate about providing our guests with excellent service and I'm thrilled to hear that is what you received!

Our housekeeping team takes such great care of our rooms and we are currently in the top 6% of Residence Inn's nationwide based on our cleaning scores. Having a spotless and clean room is at the top of travelers lists and that is what we strive to deliver!

We are so grateful that you and your family chose to stay with us during your trip to Ohio. Please think of us when you return and I assure you that you will always receive the same level of service.

With appreciation,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I was relocated while my house was being renovated. The two bedroom suite was large enough to have some privacy. Kitchen was complete for cooking. It was located near shopping and dining. Movie theater was very close.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Lori K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We very much appreciate all feedback provided to us by our guests.

Isn't the Two-Bedroom/Two-Bathroom Suite great!? It is such a unique room type for a hotel and we have many families that stay with us just because of how spacious it is! For parents, you can put the kids to bed and still have family room, kitchen and bedroom in which to relax.

We realize you have choices when it comes to selecting a hotel and are so grateful that you chose us to take care of you. Thank you so much for your business and we hope you will think of us for any future hotel needs.

Many thanks,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The reviews of this hotel suggest that there is something extra-ordinary and special about this Residence Inn. However, our experience was that it is a very average, very ordinary utilitarian roadside hotel. Although it would be fine to stay here if you need to be in Mentor, it is not worth going out of your way to stay at this hotel. It was clean -- but not particularly comfortable. The mattress was very firm -- so firm my lower back was aching the next day. I found there to be food smells in the hallways. The décor in the rooms was not pleasant -- some of the Residence Inn newer contemporary furniture mixed up with older colonial style furniture from a previous reno. Our room was particularly noisy -- it was near an outside air conditioning unit. I've read on tripadvisor that rooms near the road are noisy too. The outdoor pool was one of the reasons we stayed here. We did get to swim -- but it was a very small pool. The online pictures suggested to me that the pool was bigger than it was. You probably can do better in the Cleveland area, especially for the rates that this hotel charges.

Room Tip: Get there early in the day so you can decide to stay elsewhere if they only have a noisy room to off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Karenkd,

Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I am so sorry to have learned that you were not thoroughly impressed with our hotel as we are currently ranked 24th in the nation out of 636 Residence Inn's based on our Guest Service Satisfaction scores!

It can be difficult to have a bed type that caters to everyone's preference. Should you return, we do keep foam eggshell mattress toppers on hand for travelers who prefer a softer bed.

We are all suite property and each guest room features a fully equipped kitchen. Since our guests who enjoy cooking can take full advantage of this convenient amenity, there sometimes are smells of food in the hallway. If it disturbs you, we are always happy to send our housekeeping team up to deodorize your room or hallway.

External noise is not something we can control due to our location, however we do carry ear plugs and a white noise machine at our front desk to aid our guests' in a better night’s sleep.

I am sorry that you felt you were misled in any way from the pictures of our pool. We are one of the only hotels in the area that have an outdoor pool and have received some fantastic feedback from travelers who come to our hotel each summer strictly because of our pool.

I kindly ask that you keep us in mind for future stays. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to honor the AAA rate for you at any time.

Graciously,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Little things mean lot to a hotel guest -- plush towels, crisp bed linens and high-quality toilet tissue give the message that the owners are willing to spend a bit more than they have to meet Marriott's minimum standards. Couple this with a front desk staff that seems really happy to see you every time you walk in the door and a breakfast team that hustles to keep the food coming and the tables clean -- that's the way to do it. We stayed for five nights and used it as a base to sightsee in northeast Ohio. Long drives a couple of days but it was worth it to have a home away from home.

All is not perfect; the property is in a highway intersection and tends to get some fair amount of road noise. And, the furniture is vintage Rez Inn standard; i.e., it looks a bit dated. The immediate local area has a few restaurants and a movie multiplex but there's no really convenient grocery store.

However, the hospitality offered more than makes up for any negatives.

Room Tip: Bring your white noise generator if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear NewSmyrnaJoe,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff and the hospitality they so passionately provide! When a guest praises our staff for their service, we believe it is the best compliment we can receive because we are so fortunate to work alongside some fantastic people.

Due to our location, the can be some highway sounds depending on where your room is located. Since we cannot move our hotel, at the front desk we offer ear plugs and also have one white noise machine on hand.

Although our furniture is not the most recent Residence Inn Package, it is well taken care of and comfortable. We anticipate a renovation within the next year which will provide a more modern look to our hotel.

Did you know that at Residence Inn's, we offer a complimentary grocery shopping service? Simply leave your list at the front desk in the morning, and we will have your groceries stocked in your room when you come home. No extra charge and we will add the cost of the groceries to your bill.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will return soon!

Kindly,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A short business stay...evening desk staff was very friendly & accommodating. Our room was large with a spacious kitchen. At the time we were there, construction on the main highway caused a lot of traffic congestion. Also, the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere with not much going on in the surrounding area. Nevertheless I wished that I was staying there longer to more fully utilize the kitchen & other services. The breakfast buffet was awesome! Great for extended stays!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather P, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Myra7,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feedback on our hotel. We are always grateful to hear from our guests.

Unfortunately, the Ohio Department of Transportation has been completing some roadwork and construction on the roads and highways surrounding our hotel since January of this year. Expected completion date is in October 2013 and we will be happy campers when they are finished!

In order to make our guests more comfortable, our front desk offers items such as ear plugs or a white noise machine to aid you in a better nights sleep. Sometimes external circumstances are out of our control but we always try to take the extra steps to ensure our guests' comfort.

We are not in a major metropolis but the peace and tranquility of Lake County is admired by many. Our hotel is just a two minute drive away to Headlands Beach. If you visit us again, please let us know so we can recommend some local restaurants and landmarks that are unique to the Mentor area.

Once again, thank you so much for your business. It is our passion to provide fantastic service to guests like you who put your trust in us.

Cheers,

Heather Palentchar
Director of Sales

Cheers,

Heather Palentchar
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor

Address: 5660 Emerald Ct, Mentor, OH 44060-1869
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range: £119 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor, we have perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living/sleeping areas, plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining or meetings, and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Other special room amenities at our pet friendly Mentor, Ohio hotel include two telephones with voicemail and data ports, and a large, well-lit work desk. Free high speed wired/wireless internet access is also in each guest suite to make your stay with us more productive. Start your day at our hotel in Mentor, Ohio with a complimentary hot breakfast in our Gatehouse, and join us at our weekly barbecues and Evening Hospitality Events offered 2 1/2 times per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor Hotel Mentor
Residence Inn Mentor
Mentor Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing