We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is a very nice Best Western. Nice clean rooms, nice lobby, and good breakfast facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is near the Lawnfield, James Garfield's home. Beyond breakfast, we didn't use the restaurant.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not include fridge or microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you were able to tour the garfield home while you were here. It is a remarkable piece of history that we are honored to be located so close to. We hope you also took note of the numerous Garfield Memorabilia that the hotel has to offer. Hope to accomodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

The title says it all actually.

I arrived here in the evening and the check in went on very smoothly. The rooms were fairly priced and very spacious. Infact we took up a suite and it had two rooms with TVs in both rooms (not that we watched any) but the privacy was evident.

The room was well equipped with all the basic amneties.

We had dinner at their fine dining restaurant and though the food is kind of priced a bit steep based on the concept of fine dining, however, the experience overall was great. The service in the restaurant was very nice and friendly. The guy even gave us a free beer tasting before we made our choice.

The breakfast next morning was good. Pretty basic but a hot breakfast was available which is always a savior.

The only problem (being a smoker) I found was that its a fully non smoking facility and thankfully there was no Sandy when I was there, so I could go out and have a smoke without getting blown away.

I might just stay here again, unless I find some place in this area which is equally good and has smoking rooms.

A big thumbs up from me for this hotel.

Room Tip: Advance booking is a must. The hotel seemed to be pretty busy when I was there, but maybe it was jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darshan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will stay with us during future trips to the area. Sandy did hit here very hard, glad you were able to miss that event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I think that every hotel/motel manager should be required to be a customer in this hotel so they could see how it should be done. Everything here is topnotch from the service, friendliness, helpfulness, in house restaurant...everything. Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lreno55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We've been sending people to stay at Lawnfield Inn every since it opened, finally it was our turn to stay. The rooms are large and roomy. Our room had a little sitting room with sofa, chair, tv and desk. There was a small hallway connecting the sitting room to the bathroom and bedroom. Lining the hallway were cabinets that included a small fridge and microwave, it sure looked like a sink and another appliance should have been a part of the kitchenette, there was certainly room and openings for them.

Lawnfield has been open for at least 7 years at this point and while it was obvious that the bed coverings had been updated in that time and the furniture is holding up well the bed linens and towels could use some replacement. I'd say if you are used to staying in Best Westerns you will be pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

Breakfast was included and had many offerings. Overall a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gingertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

We appreciate you sending guests our way and are very pleased you were able to stay here yourself recently. You were very close to how long the hotel has been open for. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary this year. We hope you will continue to recommend us and are able to stay for another getaway in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The rooms were VERY clean. This is so important to a traveler. The breakfast is included; alot from which to choose. Everyone of the staff members at this B&B made each day a nice way to start the day: with warm greetings. Politeness of this staff is something you don't often come across...enjoy. I know I did. As a matter of fact, we have already made arrangements to stay there again. Kudos to the staff!! You made a difference!

Room Tip: No difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

We truly appreciate our guests and are happy to hear that was evident during your previous stay. We look forward to your return stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Great hotel and quality restaurant with an excellent menu of delicious unique offerings. The pub/bar was fun we watched the Romney/Obama debate. Clean with responsive and attentive staff.
The hotel was booked by our company and about 2 hours after we left the our company received a phone call from the hotel to report that we left $180 in the room. "How would you like us to get it back to the guests?"
Money showed up in Canada two business days later (sent by air mail).
Quality accommodations, excellent restaurant, fun pub AND remarkably ethical.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyParallax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

We are pleased to hear your money returned to you safely and fast. We appreciate your business and the time you have taken to write this review. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a rare find when it comes to a Best Western hotel. EVERYTHING about this enchanting hotel is perfect. The double/queen room we had was very tastefully decorated, immaculate, spacious, comfortable beds, and was very quiet. The breakfast, which was included, was over-the-top delicious and beautifully presented, right down to the fresh flowers on each table. The price was right (under $90. on a Sunday night). I would plan a vacation in the Cleveland area, just so I could stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

We hope you do come back to the Cleveland area. The area and surrounding areas have a lot to offer. If you do decide to come back we look forward to serving you and can help suggest activities during your stay. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
440 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
5.8 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Address: 8434 Mentor Ave, Mentor, OH 44060-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range: £70 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing