We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint little hotel with super friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint little hotel with super friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This 50 room hotel is more like a B and B. Absolutely charming decor with quaint pictures on the wall and antique furniture in the public spaces. A second floor balcony looks over the "living room". The woman at the front desk was proactively helpful. Outdoor heated pool is 3 to 5 feet deep. Even though it was a little chilly out, the kids could swim in comfort. Loved the replica of the Statue of Liberty in the corner by the pool. Kids all posed for pictures with her. Just one of many nice personal touches to the facility. All areas were very well kept and clean. Room was spotless. Not a bit of mildew in the bathroom and no chips or scars on walls or furniture. They take care of their property meticulously. All staff was cheery and helpful. Rooms were quiet for a good night's sleep. Quaint part of town with good restaurants and a restaurant with outdoor seating in the facility. Wished we could have stayed longer but on our way to Maine. Hopefully we can go back. I have stayed at a lot of hotels, motels, B&Bs and this place is tops!!! Get off I 90 and go the extra 5 minutes to stay here instead of those big boxes on the thru way.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Not on the highway, so no noise. Nice landscaping all around the hotel and quain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p00ksilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnfieldSkyeManager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take pride in accommodating everyone and pleasing them to best of our abilities. We are so happy that we could do this for you and your family. We work tirelessly to make sure all of our areas in the hotel are maintained properly. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    125
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
227
146
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My idea of Best Western in the past versus the motel we walked into was completely different! Wonderful accomodations better than any we have stayed! Recommending to our Skating Competition group for next year. WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John X M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnfieldSkyeManager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the uniqueness of our hotel. We work tirelessly to make the hotel pleasing for everyone and we are thankful that you appreciated all of our hard work. We hope to you see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very enjoyable stay. The hotel is well appointed and our room was nicely furnished and spacious. While we did not visit the restaurant they do provide room service without any extra charges so we were able to enjoy some items from their menu. The breakfast selections were good although it would be nice if there were some cups with lids available to make it easier to get coffee back to the room but having real mugs is a pleasure, The bed was comfortable and the WiFi signal was strong. Would definitely stay here if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnfieldSkyeManager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that we could accommodate you to your liking. We will take your suggestion about having lids for the real mugs since we only have lids for the paper cups. We hope those were available for you at that time and if they weren't we apologize and the staff will be spoken to about it. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beds and the strong WiFi. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent full service hotel. Enjoyed a good dinner meal. Very convenient room layout with a sitting room/office section with a TV and a bedroom with a TV. Both were roomy and very comfortable. Had a very restful night's sleep. Complementary breakfast offered a full line of hot and cold options including fresh fruit. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnfieldSkyeManager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations at our establishment. We work tirelessly to provide the best experience to each guest and we are pleased that we could do this for you. We are please that you are enjoyed our breakfast options. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful surprise! My first over nite visit to my home town in over 40 years. Recommend this hotel to all. Next time we hope to stay on a nite besides Sunday. We missed the Skye experience. The Melt experience down the street was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank koolfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnfieldSkyeManager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so thankful that you enjoyed our establishment and hope that you can experience Skye the next time you stay. We are so happy that you chose our hotel to be your first hotel in 40 years. We hope that you stay with us anytime you are in Mentor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really cute, clean, and convenient hotel close to Garfield's home and the Botanical Gardens. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I did not eat at the restaurant but my friends said it was very good. It was a bit loud, but that was the only place it was loud. My room was big - it was a suite - and was very comfortable. Breakfast was great - probably one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a hotel. I was very impressed and hope I can get back that way to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XerkUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnfieldSkyeManager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that our establishment was to your liking. We work tirelessly to accommodate all of our guests and provide the best rooms possible. We are so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal City, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have stayed here previously and would stay again. The exterior and interior is well kept and very well done. They even a pool table which we enjoyed. The overall stay was delightful. The Breakfast was very good but they quit using china, probably too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DianeCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnfieldSkyeManager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are so thankful that you took the time to review our hotel. We still use the china for our breakfast however perhaps you might have stayed with us during a busy morning breakfast. We apologize that the china was not available to you and will discuss with the breakfast staff on how that is unacceptable. We recently added the pool table downstairs for extra entertainment and we are so pleased that you could take advantage of the amenity. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.8 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Address: 8434 Mentor Ave, Mentor, OH 44060-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing