We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty dirty dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
mentor
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Dirty dirty dump”
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Save yourself the time and money. Gross rooms. Its basicly like the old saying...you buy cheap you get cheap. Rooms smell foul like they just sprayed febreeze and didnt clean. The staff didnt seem to happy to be there either. Go down tge street to a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gingerriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    4
    8
    13
See reviews for
9
10
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MC DONALD
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I planned a short getaway with my wife and chose this motel due to location to Headlands Beach State Park, cost, and the fact that we could cook some meals to saves some money. My decision was also based on the advertisement touting "renovated" rooms.

We reserved a NON SMOKING room. The room smelled badly of cigarettes. The ceiling was actually stained yellow from the smoke. There were burn marks on the bath tub. In addition to the cigarette issues, there were also stains on the bathroom walls. There was a large dark stain on the parking space directly in front of the room, with foot prints leading to the room and large dark stains on the carpet, probably from motor oil.

We decided that we weren't going to stay there and we left to look for other accomodations.We decided on the nearby Days Inn. The difference was like night and day. When we got back to gather our belongings and try to check out, the office was closed (the office closes at 8). The odor of the room was so bad that our be belongings smelled badly.

I went back the next morning about 7:30 to check out to try to get a refund. The girl at the front desk told me that I had to come back at 9:00 when here manager was there. I told her that I wasn't going to be around at 9 and that she needed to take care of the problem. She reluctantly called her manager on the phone and eventually gave me a refund for both nights after checking the room herself and agreeing with me that the room was bad.

Room Tip: ask to see room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDWARD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I checked into the hotel and I am SO glad that I did not bring my suitcase in yet when I noticed bed bugs. I left promptly.

On the other hand... The evening staff member was so kind, courteous and understanding. She was such a delight!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here. They have bed bugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

All the rooms of this hotel that we checked smelled off from cigarettes, despite the non-smoking policy declared. Even new bed linen that I got had the smell of smoke, probably someone who's doing their laundry bother to add his own odor.
The room we got was very dirty. My wife had to clean it herself several times, and only threats that we'll leave for another hotel convinced the manager to send somebody to switch the smelly curtains and remove the fungus that was growing on the kitchen floor.
The cleaners do us a favor when they show up once a week and "clean", forget to leave new bags for trash, not going over the floor, etc. Very sloppy maintenance.

The operating responsible wanted us to pay only for the first two weeks, even though we ordered for a month. Once the two weeks were off, she called me to let me know that I'm locked out of my room and I must come and pay immediately. I would expect a proper notice a day in advance rather than such a treatment. It would have been the same effort for her, but different attitude and much better feeling for us.

The A/C either freezes us when the outside temperature is moderate, or does nothing when it's hot. And yes, we know how to setup the temperature of the A/C. Also, there is no way to turn this thing completely off, only change modes and fan speed.

I don't think that low budget hotel must mean stinking and dirty hotel, because we checked others in the area. The only thing that kept us here is the fact that we have a pet and needed to have a kitchenette.

Room Tip: Rooms can't be guaranteed in advance, there is no way to pre-order a specific room If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

the kitchen and full size fridge saved me tons of cash while in the area working, the price around 260.00 a week . again motel 6 hit a home run for me!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

It's good for a night or to,don't stay longer.The assistant manager goes through your room when she wants just because & doesn't tell you.Alot of drug bust,noise they won't take care of because of money.They don't treat emplyees the same,1 was told if she took her day off they'd cut her hours.She's very nice to customers,so both manager watch her.1 lives there & the other will spend the night there to see if she talks to guests.You can't get any thing you need after 8pm,even toleit paper.One guests heat wouldn't work & their reply was she doesn't need it yet.If she doesn't like it she can leave.My socks got dirty on the carpet like i was outside.Places might be cheap but you deserve better try Value Place in Mentor off Hiesely Rd. very secure & CLEAN.

Room Tip: sk for a quite arera,make sure you can walk with out dirting your socks.Some units have noisey heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Ok, the staff manager at the desk was nice. Just barely nice though. Nothing extra special. Then we got into our "nonsmoking" room and it smelled so strong of some blend of too much air freshener and old smoke. Then our eyes were drawn to the sitting chair. Covered in dark, old, glaring stains! I mean huge stains! We couldnt believe they would just leave a chair like that in the room. (if they leave obvious stains laying around, what about the stuff we cant see?!?!) Thats when we realized that the management at this location simply does not care. I was still planning to suck it up, when I noticed how hot it was. I went to turn on the AC only to find it was already on and blowing hot air. We called the front desk to explain it was broken. When there was no offer to take care of it, we asked to check out and got a refund. Dont stay here unless you are really broke and desperate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sillyhay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
5.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
429 reviews
7.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wickliffe - Cleveland East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor

Property: Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor
Address: 7677 Reynolds Rd, SR 2 at Reynolds Road/SR 306, Mentor, OH 44060-5126
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to the Studio 6. We are conveniently located off Route 2 on Reynolds Road in Mentor, Ohio and just minutes away from Route 90. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Our rates and service make us the best extended lodging value in our area. At Studio 6 kids stay free and we welcome 1 well behaved pet per room (fee may apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor Hotel Mentor
Studio 6 Cleveland - Mentor Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing