We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always on our way through town”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Central Pastry Shop
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Middletown
Restaurant details
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“always on our way through town”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I grew up in Middletown and had these donuts growing up. Now that I live in Columbus, I always make a point in stopping when visiting. These are THE BEST donuts!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkkramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hard to rate this:)”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This review is about their cakes and donuts. We have loved Central Pastry for years, and especially their icing on cakes! It's SO yummy, I could eat the icing alone. I ordered a marble cake and they said it was extra for marble, then, they forgot to make the marble, so, I asked if they could just do half white, half chocolate. She agreed, then said they would give me a donut when i came in for the $1 extra I paid for the marble...what?? Then, I went their twice in the last couple of months for donuts for meetings. I was there about 45mins after they opened and they hardly had any donuts! They only had 4 trays. I asked for a specific kind and had to wait 10mins for them to come out. They didn't have any just plain glazed. Both visits were a little strange, like I wasn't sure what was up? Where were the donuts? It's not that busy around 7am.
It seemed a little strange.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MimiJoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

best cake in the world. best frosting. best bread. do not miss this place... was in line with a woman who came from miles away....,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice Bakery, But Just OK”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is what I would consider the #2 bakery in Middletown. Convenient if you're near downtown when you want to pick up bakery goods. Also, a local business, which I do like to support. But as good as it is, Milton's (a couple miles away) is even better.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sketchyStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Icing of my Dreams!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have been adicted to Central Pastry's icing for decades. My only regret is they will not sell you a tub of it. I suppose their cake is good, I only eat it to get to the ICING! They have a fabulous elephant ear pastry as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Pastry Shop also viewed

 
Middletown, Butler County
Middletown, Butler County
 

Been to Central Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing