We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainy get away weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Mill Run, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rainy get away weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel was conveniently located. Hotel was very comfortable. First night spent in Room 210 and is next to elevator - we were moved to another room for the rest of our stay. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating to our room change request.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    119
    60
    22
    12
See reviews for
174
66
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is pretty good. It is clean and taken care of. The staff seemed nice.
The room I was in, 111, was huge. It had two queen beds and a double and enough room to play soccer. I'm glad I have good eyes still, otherwise seeing the smallish TV from that far away might have been difficult. The beds were fair, if not a bit hard for my liking and therefore I ended up waking up multiple times.
The shower had very hot water, awesome! There were many towels and a great deal of products like shampoo and conditioner. They were ready for a small clan to stay there. They even had bath bubbles but the stopper was broken so I was not able to run a bath. Oh well.
The place clearly is a little older and it shows it age a bit. Small things would make this place better. The multiple repairs were evident from the years of abuse by unruly people. There was rust on the fire sprinklers. Of course, none of this means much other than the eye-sore aspect.
The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare which included mass powdered eggs and other heat and serve products. The available fruit was quite lacking. The coffee was plentiful and hot!
Overall, I would come back but I would ask for a smaller room.

Room Tip: If you need a LARGE room, ask for 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodesPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Heading back from East coast and stopped for short overnight as it is right off of the I-80 Ohio Turnpike. The hotel is very dated. They are currently building a new Hampton Inn right next door.

The best part of the hotel is the location and friendly staff. If you are looking for a quick stop for an overnight sleep, it is an ok hotel. Room was clean. Furnishing all were very well worn and dated. Ice machines on the 1st and 2nd floor were not working properly as there was no ice in either in the morning. Standard HI breakfast served and breakfast area was ok.

This is staff in an updated new hotel will be an excellent property. Until then, I would not have very high expectations of the hotel if you choose to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudDad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

A quick unplanned stop here for sales calls in the area. They are building a new Hampton next door, which I'm sure will be top notch. This property is ok, but figure on a 5 mile drive for dinner, and I often stay at Hampton's as I can count on the fitness center, but this place doesn't have one which was a major disappointment for me! Service was competent, and the breakfast was fine. The room was typical, and bedding comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

On a return trip home, decided to drive until we were ready to stop. The Hampton Inns in Sandusky worked together in finding us a room for the evening. Nice to see two facilities working together to take care of a tired customer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have always chosen the Hampton when in the Sandusky area on business because it is a little bit away from the congestion of Route 250 in Sandusky.
It is absolutely clean and usually quiet with excellent front desk service. Almost without exception, everyone at the front desk is helpful and goes out of their way.
The morning breakfast buffet is organized, well-stocked, and tended to by staff. Everyone is pleasant.
I hope that my experience during my the last visit which was for three nights was an unusual one. Although I do not always ask that sheets be changed every day, I think "stay-overs" should have their rooms cleaned. I have never received a discount for the second or third night. After my first night, my room was cleaned, sheets changed, the whole deal. The second morning I was leaving my room the cleaning person in the hall asked if I wanted my room cleaned. I said that I did. When I returned late that night, I found that it had been quickly and poorly straightened up. The bed was poorly made without clean sheets. The bathroom sink counter had my toiletries and the hotel sample toiletries knocked over with some on the floor. The rug hadn't been vacuumed. Now, the rooms here are exceptionally clean to begin with so the room wasn't dirty. However, one's room rate includes cleaning. Although the Hampton guarantees satisfaction, the problem with this is that most people don't want to take a problem up with the front desk at night when they want to go to bed. I certainly didn't want to at 11 o'clock. Cleaning staff should know to clean all the rooms every day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elinorelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lima, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for business. First time at this Hampton would stay here again. Close to everything. From check in to check out everything went smoothly. Breakfast was great and the lobby and room were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Jane H,
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your future loyalty. We look forward to seeing you in the future and appreciate your time in providing feedback on your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milan
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sandusky / Milan
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Milan/Sandusky Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South
Address: 11600 US 250 Milan Road, Milan, OH 44846 (Formerly Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Milan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan Hotel Milan
Hampton Inn Milan
Milan Hampton Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South Milan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing