We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Great Stop”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We've stayed here numerous times over the years, as it is a good way to break up our trip from the Midwest to the east coast. As with other Hampton Inns it is pleasantly predictable. The evening manager, Mr Collins (?) is always helpful and amiable when we arrived. A new Hampton Inn will soon open next door and this building is said to be refirbed a suite hotel (Homewood?). In light of this the Hampton for the first time did have a tired look, which is understandable if in a few months they are stripping this building to reopen as another brand. My only disappointment will be is that the price will probably go up when the new Hampton Inn opens. We were disappointed the first night of our stay (the second was one week later heading back west) we were place in a room (King Jacuzzi) directly across from an ice machine, which woke me repeatedly through the night. The hotel was far from full, but were informed by the morning manager that all the king suites were next to the ice machines.

Room Tip: While getting conflicting info from clerks, stay away from the King Jacuzzi rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philomundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    132
    66
    25
    13
See reviews for
205
76
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were just driving through to VA and stopped for the night and we were pleasantly surprised. Our stay was very nice! Room was clean, staff was friendly, and the beds were VERY Comfy... We will definitely keep this one on the list for another stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charissa121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

driving across northern Ohio (Ohio tollroad) we looked for Hampton and found this location at time/location we needed it. It stands next to an almost complete new Hampton Inn...this will be turned over to another management soon. Hampton service was very good; no complaints

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cornelius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Run, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel was conveniently located. Hotel was very comfortable. First night spent in Room 210 and is next to elevator - we were moved to another room for the rest of our stay. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating to our room change request.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is pretty good. It is clean and taken care of. The staff seemed nice.
The room I was in, 111, was huge. It had two queen beds and a double and enough room to play soccer. I'm glad I have good eyes still, otherwise seeing the smallish TV from that far away might have been difficult. The beds were fair, if not a bit hard for my liking and therefore I ended up waking up multiple times.
The shower had very hot water, awesome! There were many towels and a great deal of products like shampoo and conditioner. They were ready for a small clan to stay there. They even had bath bubbles but the stopper was broken so I was not able to run a bath. Oh well.
The place clearly is a little older and it shows it age a bit. Small things would make this place better. The multiple repairs were evident from the years of abuse by unruly people. There was rust on the fire sprinklers. Of course, none of this means much other than the eye-sore aspect.
The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare which included mass powdered eggs and other heat and serve products. The available fruit was quite lacking. The coffee was plentiful and hot!
Overall, I would come back but I would ask for a smaller room.

Room Tip: If you need a LARGE room, ask for 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodesPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Heading back from East coast and stopped for short overnight as it is right off of the I-80 Ohio Turnpike. The hotel is very dated. They are currently building a new Hampton Inn right next door.

The best part of the hotel is the location and friendly staff. If you are looking for a quick stop for an overnight sleep, it is an ok hotel. Room was clean. Furnishing all were very well worn and dated. Ice machines on the 1st and 2nd floor were not working properly as there was no ice in either in the morning. Standard HI breakfast served and breakfast area was ok.

This is staff in an updated new hotel will be an excellent property. Until then, I would not have very high expectations of the hotel if you choose to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudDad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A quick unplanned stop here for sales calls in the area. They are building a new Hampton next door, which I'm sure will be top notch. This property is ok, but figure on a 5 mile drive for dinner, and I often stay at Hampton's as I can count on the fitness center, but this place doesn't have one which was a major disappointment for me! Service was competent, and the breakfast was fine. The room was typical, and bedding comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milan
14.5 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
5.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
21.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sandusky / Milan
11.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South
Address: 11600 US 250 Milan Road, Milan, OH 44846 (Formerly Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Milan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan Hotel Milan
Hampton Inn Milan
Milan Hampton Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South Milan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing