We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ambience, Food Too Complicated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 20 Brix Restaurant

20 Brix Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
20 Brix Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Garfield
Description: The 20 Brix wine bar and restaurant features over 100 selections by the glass or bottle. Along with an extensive wine list, the restaurant has an impressive assortment of premium liquors and specialty beers. 20 Brix also includes a patio with comfortable seating areas for customers to enjoy. 20 Brix has created an environment that not only provides a unique wine and food experience to patrons, but also a relaxing backdrop to enjoy every last sip and bite. The knowledgeable staff is ready to offer suggestions and tastes of the available wines at any time. Part of the pleasure of visiting the 20 Brix wine bar and restaurant is pairing your favorite wine with one of the contemporary entrees, salads, or pizzas.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Ambience, Food Too Complicated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a review that I write with a mix perspective. In short, the food was good, but too complicated. In other words, the tastes were competing with each other, canceling out what could have been some great tastes.

For example, the fried Brussels sprouts had too many additions, such that the Brussels sprouts taste was completely nullified. The evening special appetizer of pate was way complicated, such that we were not sure if we were consuming bacon, pate, or the sausage in the middle.

For the main course, the steak was tender but completely moisture-less. The shrimp & grits were good, but taste neutralized.

So, let's balance the review by noting that the décor was outstanding! The service was superb!! and the wine list was incredible!!!

Would we return - yes. But we will definitely gravitate to the less complex-preparation foods.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“20 Brix is not just another Brick in the wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Opened in 2007, 20 Brix bills itself as a wine cellar, wine bar and restaurant. If you see an emphasis on wines, you get one of their strong points. Add to it a knowledgable staff and a creative chef and a good time is had by all. They source many items locally, maybe overemphasize dishes with kale but their is so much more to like. Make sure to try their fried brussels sprouts--the best in the area!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
314 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“So many wines, so little time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

20 Brix is a gem -- it's a charming little neighborhood spot, right in the heart of Old Milford. It's got an incredible wine list and an amazing chef! The menu changes seasonally, so do yourself a favor and go often!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Wine, Good Food, Good People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a gem in old Milford. We go often since it only a few miles from our house, but worth a trip even if you don't live as close. The menu is always interesting with staples like Steak Frittes (I had this last time I was there), to Shrimp and Grits done with a local twist, or one of the rotating items like lamb shank. Always prepared creatively by Chef Paul and his staff. Good wine selection by the glass if you want to try it first before you order a bottle. We discovered Michael David Wines there - we explored their line up based on trying Freak Show at the restaurant. Recently they have had a nice selection of Orin Swift/The Prisoner Wine Group. Always a warm welcome from the staff, and they are willing to accommodate a couple, or larger tables.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I ate there twice. First, I went to their Tuesday wine-tasting and food paring evening. The food was awesome: 5 different dishes, each with the corresponding wine. That evening, we had wines from the "Horseshoe Bend Vineyards" in Kentucky. I didn't know they mad good wines there but I strongly recommend it. The whole thing cost 45 USD, which is definitely worth it. The only disappointment was that the 5 dishes were small main dishes (hence way too much) instead of having a small starter and a dessert among them. In addition, they came way too close to each other and sometimes did not have time to really enjoy it with the wine and the next meal was there already.

The second time was a classic dinner: starter, main dish and dessert. Wine selection is amazing, every dish we had was very good and we paid around 115 USD without tip, which is totally worth it. Will definitely go back there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tristof_Liege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 20 Brix Restaurant also viewed

Milford, Clermont County
Milford, Clermont County
 
Milford, Clermont County
Milford, Clermont County
 
Milford, Clermont County
Milford, Clermont County
 

Been to 20 Brix Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing