We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B enjoyment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Millersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have never stayed in a B&B. After staying here we will definitely do it again. Carol and Herb made it seem like we were family staying in their home. The breakfast top rate and the cleanest place we have ever stayed. They helped us find the out of the way places we like to visit and wanted to hear our stories when we returned. Everything you could want was provided down to the wind bottle opener and glasses to enjoy the wine we purchased at the local wineries. The only thing-and this is so minor-I didn't like the pillows.

Room Tip: you have to spend a little more and get the garden gate suite or cabins. more room and fireplace and...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laddy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

First time here but certainly not last. Herb and Carol were wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was super nice. They had everything available for us. Amenities were abundant. Breakfast...wow. Highly recommended. Follow the self tours they have made and you will wonderful folks like Elva the candle maker. The scenery of Amish country was breath taking. The peace felt, priceless.

Room Tip: No swimming pool unless you count the jacuzzi as one.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a relaxing weekend at the Garden Gate Get-A-Way. The rooms are clean and you can tell that Carol and Herb have tried to make their guests as welcome as possible. The homemade cookies at the bedside, delicious breakfast foods and relaxing bonfires were just what we needed while touring Amish country. Carol and Herb's knowledge of the area was especially helpful in helping us to use our limited time wisely. We found this to be one of the nicer B7B's that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Magnolia Room but I think all of the rooms would be equally as nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kla1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We wanted to get away from the crowds for Labor Day and Herb and Carol had the perfect place!! Lovely setting in Amish country -- only the sounds of crickets and the clip-clop of the horse-drawn buggies -- yet close enough to play golf and shop to your heart's content. We stayed in one of the cottages and they are most definitely worth the price.

Room Tip: The 2-room suite is nice, but there are no closets or dressers -- one of the cottages is definitely...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohiobedandbreakfast, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We're thrilled that this guest had a great weekend.
If anyone is considering our B&B vs. our Cottages, please note that the 4 original rooms were built by the previous owner with hooks & hangers on the wall instead of a closet. I guess that was part of the "Plain People" living in Amish Country. If guests need additional hangers they are available. The Garden Gate Suite and Cottages were built by us and each have a closet to hang your clothes instead of hooks & hangers.
For those considering a stay at our B&B we want you to know that the 2-room suite that this guest stayed in the first night has a king bed with pillow-soft mattress, 600 thread-count cotton sateen bed sheets, luxury bath robes and bath amenities, rocking-reclining Lazyboy microsuede chairs, 32" flat screen TV with Satellite, Coblentz Chocolates by your bed-side, and a kitchenette with a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. The kitchenette is stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and bottled water. So please don't shy away from a B&B stay due to the lack of closet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at the Garden Gate Get-a-Way from an early checkin (before noon) on Aug 7 to also an early checkout (before 8 am) on Aug 14, 2013. I was in the area to attend a continuing education class to maintain my license for Massage Therapy, so I left before breakfast every day I was there. Carol put out a very nice breakfast every evening for my early rise. I woke to start my Tai Chi Chih every morning in the garden. The stars were out when I started and 30 minutes later as I was wrapping up the sun was out and the horses next door were completely visable, the birds were singing and the Amish wagons were making there way to their meeting place. In the evening when I got back there was a camp fire going in the garden and many guests to share the day with.
The innkeepers Herb & Carol Steffey made very good recomendations for places to go for dinner and they also joined in at the campfire in the garden. They went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable and meaningful. I really liked the atmosphere and the views of the country side. I had an amazing stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim-n-Betty-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Who'd believe a camp fire in July would be so relaxing? The Garden Gate is run by a wonderful innkeeper, Carol (with her husband) who is an expert on Amish area culture. The Garden Gate was tucked away and quiet. Our room was a perfect, clean and well designed. Breakfast was made by Carol for five quests, fresh and with great selections of pastries, and fruit and a fantastic baked egg dish. Carol is amazing. She is sincere, intelligent and seems to completely enjoy her work. She is entertaining (I suggested she do a reality show), but absolutely respectful of her Amish neighbors. She had the skill of listening to the rhythm of her quests--she was never overbearing in her conversation, and was able to lead us to many places we had never seen. This advice made our getaway perfect. The down side of writing such a glowing review is that this spot will be "discovered". It certainly deserves to be.

Room Tip: We plan to visit in January or Feb. Autumn seems very booked!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

If you don't like the chaos in Berlin and are looking for a nice place to relax by the campfire with the owners and other guests, this is the place for you. Carol will make you a delicious breakfast and give you suggestions for your visit to Amish Country. Our favorite part of the day is the evening campfire. The rooms are on the small side but, very clean and well decorated. Try something new, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: Check the internet for pictures and descriptions, there's something for everyone.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinsgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohiobedandbreakfast, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

We are thrilled that our campfires and breakfast were such a big hit! For anyone reading about our small rooms I would like to let people know that we have several room types: standard, deluxe, and Jacuzzi suite, plus a 2-room suite. Our standard rooms are about 12' x 14' however we also have a 17' x 23' Jacuzzi suite, and then our 2-room suite is even larger. Thus we have something for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersburg
1.4 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
778 reviews
2.9 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
2.9 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
320 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#1 of 11 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6041 Township Road 310, Millersburg, OH 44654-8703
Region: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Millersburg
Price Range: £99 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning Amish Country Ohio bed and breakfast located between Berlin and Millersburg. Beautiful flower gardens and evening campfires. Garden-theme guests rooms have private entrances and bath with upscale amenities. Complimentary homemade breakfast, afternoon cookies and hot beverages. First B&B in Ohio with their own tour bus for guest tours. Choose from Amish Culture tours, wine tours, and major attraction tours. Hosts can also arrange to have dinner with an Amish neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast Ohio/Millersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing