We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Millersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my husband and My first time to a B&B--It was a very nice experience. The Inn keepers were very helpful for ideas on where to eat and what to see. The breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this B&B to anyone that visits Holmes County. B&B was located off the main highway so very quite. When we go back may think about having dinner with a Amish family..make sure you ask about it.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure there is vacancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel1981Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longs, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast is in a very quiet location, which is important to us. The view is of a field of horses. The rooms are very clean and well stocked with needed supplies. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. We especially liked the fact it was buffet style between 8:30 - 9:30 am. We did not have to be seated by a certain time. This is very close to all of Amish country in that you are only 5 minutes from Berlin.

Room Tip: Choose the Magnolia Room. It is at the very end and no one ever walks by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohiobedandbreakfast, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
It always makes our day when someone enjoys our B&B as much as you did! We have put a lot of thought in to everything that we offer. We hope that you return and try other guest rooms as well. The Garden Gate Suite is on the opposite end of the house offering as much privacy at the Magnolia Garden Room and is even larger with a Jacuzzi tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celina, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We have a belated 30 anniversary celebration. Having stayed here in November of last year it was a simple decision when I saw that it was available. Carol is very diligent in making sure that everything is perfect. My wife and I enjoyed our second stay here and already are planning for our next stay. Great place and relatively close to many Amish activities and stores. Recommend without any reservations. They even offer a cozy fire if you want to enjoy the early evening and meeting new folks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have never stayed in a B&B. After staying here we will definitely do it again. Carol and Herb made it seem like we were family staying in their home. The breakfast top rate and the cleanest place we have ever stayed. They helped us find the out of the way places we like to visit and wanted to hear our stories when we returned. Everything you could want was provided down to the wind bottle opener and glasses to enjoy the wine we purchased at the local wineries. The only thing-and this is so minor-I didn't like the pillows.

Room Tip: you have to spend a little more and get the garden gate suite or cabins. more room and fireplace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laddy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celina, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First time here but certainly not last. Herb and Carol were wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was super nice. They had everything available for us. Amenities were abundant. Breakfast...wow. Highly recommended. Follow the self tours they have made and you will wonderful folks like Elva the candle maker. The scenery of Amish country was breath taking. The peace felt, priceless.

Room Tip: No swimming pool unless you count the jacuzzi as one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a relaxing weekend at the Garden Gate Get-A-Way. The rooms are clean and you can tell that Carol and Herb have tried to make their guests as welcome as possible. The homemade cookies at the bedside, delicious breakfast foods and relaxing bonfires were just what we needed while touring Amish country. Carol and Herb's knowledge of the area was especially helpful in helping us to use our limited time wisely. We found this to be one of the nicer B7B's that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Magnolia Room but I think all of the rooms would be equally as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kla1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We wanted to get away from the crowds for Labor Day and Herb and Carol had the perfect place!! Lovely setting in Amish country -- only the sounds of crickets and the clip-clop of the horse-drawn buggies -- yet close enough to play golf and shop to your heart's content. We stayed in one of the cottages and they are most definitely worth the price.

Room Tip: The 2-room suite is nice, but there are no closets or dressers -- one of the cottages is definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohiobedandbreakfast, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We're thrilled that this guest had a great weekend.
If anyone is considering our B&B vs. our Cottages, please note that the 4 original rooms were built by the previous owner with hooks & hangers on the wall instead of a closet. I guess that was part of the "Plain People" living in Amish Country. If guests need additional hangers they are available. The Garden Gate Suite and Cottages were built by us and each have a closet to hang your clothes instead of hooks & hangers.
For those considering a stay at our B&B we want you to know that the 2-room suite that this guest stayed in the first night has a king bed with pillow-soft mattress, 600 thread-count cotton sateen bed sheets, luxury bath robes and bath amenities, rocking-reclining Lazyboy microsuede chairs, 32" flat screen TV with Satellite, Coblentz Chocolates by your bed-side, and a kitchenette with a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. The kitchenette is stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and bottled water. So please don't shy away from a B&B stay due to the lack of closet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersburg
1.5 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
688 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#3 of 4 in Millersburg
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 11 in Berlin
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6041 Township Road 310, Millersburg, OH 44654-8703
Region: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Millersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning Amish Country Ohio bed and breakfast located between Berlin and Millersburg. Beautiful flower gardens and evening campfires. Garden-theme guests rooms have private entrances and bath with upscale amenities. Complimentary homemade breakfast, afternoon cookies and hot beverages. First B&B in Ohio with their own tour bus for guest tours. Choose from Amish Culture tours, wine tours, and major attraction tours. Hosts can also arrange to have dinner with an Amish neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast Ohio/Millersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing