We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
97
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holmes county amish country brick walkways clip clop welcome basket breakfast room before noon we've stayed each morning delicious dinner enjoyed our visit the cottages amish buggies b bs beautiful scenery carol horses
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

The place was spotlessly clean and there were many thoughtful touches. The owners was helpful in booking our next place. Breakfast was plentiful and the garden was well kept. Sitting around the camp fire was slightly difficult as we felt that we had to agree with their views and that an open and frank discussion was not welcomed.
It was fascinating going to an Amish home for dinner.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank alibla2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardens4U, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

We would like to thank this guest for the positive statements about our facility, cleanliness, etc.

We would like to apologize for the guest feeling that they could not express an opinion at the campfire and share "the other side of the story" . Our guests asked us to arrange for them to have dinner with an Amish neighbor and when the returned from dinner and came to the campfire they shared their surprise at how modern the New Order Amish in our area live. It seemed as though some of the Amish beliefs and standards for living bothered them. We tried to explain what we have learned about our Amish neighbors, differences between Old Order and New Order, customs, etc. I feel bad that our explanation made them feel like they could not have a different opinion of the Amish. Our statements that evening were meant to clarify what they Amish believe and how they live, and not to tell someone that their personal opinion didn't matter. We are extremely aware that certain subjects like religion and politics are so controversial that we try to avoid having those discussions at our campfires. People are here on vacation and should enjoy the campfire experience. We certainly hope that after the wonderful review of everything else that the campfire discussion is not what made them decide to rate us a "3" when the rest of their review sounded like we would have received a "4" or "5".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Very disappointed in this one. The rooms really need a renovation. Really small, everyone walks past your windows. You have to move the chairs around to see the TV. Overall very clean & breakfast was good, for the price I wouldn't go back. The "garden" was a pitiful mess. Early in the year I understand, but broken items, moldy seating, last years weeds.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardens4U, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

We are so sorry that this guest had a poor experience. When we check guests in we tell them that if there are any problems or anything that they need that we live upstairs are are on call 24/7. If someone doesn't like their room we can certainly move them unless we are sold out.

Our Summer Breeze Suite and Magnolia Gardens have been totally remodeled in the last couple of years and are very fresh and updated. Our Garden Gate Suite is in great condition except some for wallpaper seams that we need to address. Given the description of "moving chairs" we believe that this guest was in one of our "Standard Rooms". These rooms are 12' x 14' in size. Each room has a queen bed with a nightstand on each side. It has 2 chairs plus a private bath. The original owner had a wallpaper store and these rooms have a country look with wallpaper, but none of it is faded or damaged. Since we purchased the B&B the nightstands and lamps are new. The chairs are new and next to the window. One chair has a view of the television but the other chair would have to be moved for a clear view of the TV. Given the 12x14 size of the room there is no other place to move the TV that would not obstruct walking around the room. We have a regular guest from the Columbus area that has stayed with us numerous times over the years and even though we have larger, more modern, rooms they always want the Briar Patch Room (a standard room). They like the country decor and are not bothered by the placement of the chairs/TV. Most of our guests spend the evening around the campfire and don't even use the television.
As for the concern about people walking past their room we would like to say that our guests have much more privacy than most hotels and B&Bs. All of our guest rooms have a private entrance from the outside. A brick path runs along the front of the house and each of the 5 guest rooms doors are along that path. The 5th room that we added is on the parking lot side of the house so there are only 4 other rooms along this path. If this guest was in 1 of the 4 then only 3 other rooms could have walked along the path to get to their room. Thus this is not a high traffic issue. There are bushes and flowers planted along the path. When the guests in the 2 standard rooms look outside they see bushes and flowers and it would be hard for another guest to even look inside their room.
The last thing I would like to address is the "unkept garden". You have heard the saying "April Showers Bring May Flowers" . . . it is very hard to weed flower beds in the Spring when you have so much rain. We also don't like to be weeding while the guests are eating breakfast, sitting on a porch swing, or trying to relax in their room at night. We will admit that in April and May you won't see our gardens in the Better Homes & Gardens magazine. We have been outside. The fairy garden on the side of the house has been weeded and decorated, the garden in front of the Magnolia Garden Rooms has been weeded, The garden in front of the Breakfast Room has been weeded. We try to make it a goal to have all of the gardens cleaned up by Memorial Weekend. It is also early in the year to see very many blooms in the garden and it is too early to plant annual flowers because we may get another frost.
We regret that this guest did not come to us an express their discomfort with their room and feeling of too much traffic passing by because we would have tried to move them to a room where they were more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

We stayed this past weekend, had three rooms. Accomdations were great, comfortable and clean. Breakfast each morning was very good. And good comoany with inn keepers and other guests. Campfire in the evening was great, we missed Saturday night, due to getting in late.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardens4U, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

We are so glad that your group enjoyed their stay. We especially enjoyed your Dad . . . he was so funny. We hope that you keep us in mind when you visit the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Carol and Herb are wonderful people and make you feel right at home. They take great pride in what they do and it shows. Sitting around the outdoor fire each night is amazing. All the quests joined in with great conversation on what they had done that day. Carol is very helpful in making sure you get to see the best there is to see. If you are looking for a beautiful place to set back and enjoy the horses and the wide open skies this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view!!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardens4U, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

We love that you thought our campfire was "amazing"! That is the highlight of our day . . . to sit outside and visit with our guests, watch the stars come out, and see the horses grazing or buggies going down the road. The conversations at the campfire are always something new and fun! We will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We stayed at the Garden Gate Get Away and it was wonderful B&B experience. Herb and Carol, the owners, are warm and friendly and so knowledgeable about the Amish country area. They are very familiar with all the area activities and know many of the locals very well. Their food was delicious for breakfast and our room was comfortable and quaint. There were fresh baked cookies and delicious chocolates waiting for us in our room which was a treat. The porch swings provide a beautiful view of a pasture with horses grazing which was just like a scene from a picture book. We loved the evening gathering around the fire pit visiting with other guests. This place is truly a breath of fresh air. Go see the Walnut Creek farm and take the wagon ride to see the animals. It's awesome.

Room Tip: Ask Herb and Carol about things to do and see.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardens4U, Owner at Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

All of the things that you loved about our B&B are why we love owning it . . . porch swings, views of horses grazing, evening campfires, local places to visit like The Farm at Walnut Creek, etc. Thank you for choosing our B&B. We hope to have you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews