We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Harding Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
Galveston, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas at Harding Cabin”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The only thing that could make this experience better would have been lots of snow! We used this time as a family Christmas gathering and found the cabin beautifully decorated for Christmas and so very welcoming. The isolated location was perfect with the view over the lake and having the lodge facilities at our disposal was incredible. What a beautiful lodge with the fireplace and the tree, etc.The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyJoKokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    81
    39
    36
    18
See reviews for
126
78
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 1 night at Deer Creek State Park Lodge. We took advantage of an off season special, as it would allow our children to enjoy a nice indoor pool and a night away from home a few short weeks before baby #3 arrives. We only live 35 minutes away, so it was very convenient to get to.

The lodge itself is very pretty, classic and outdoorsey and very clean. There is a large gas fireplace in the common area that always had people sitting in front of it. Check-in was a breeze. The front desk attendant was very courteous and polite. We had a recently updated room in the B wings second floor. It was very clean, no funny smellls or bedbugs, and there was a small fridge for us to use. Beds were nicely made and comfortable. I'm in my 9th month of pregnancy, and the beds were a little soft for my taste (I'm miserable pretty much anywhere right now!), but my husband thought they were just fine. Fitted sheet, flat sheet, comforter, then another flat sheet on top, though I would just prefer a flat sheet and full blown duvet cover on the comforter. We had a nice view of the outdoor pool area, which of course was closed for the winter. Our main purpose for going was to enjoy the indoor pool. Our kids, ages 4 and 6, loved it and swam for over 2 hours. The pool is open until 11pm, which is very nice since many hotels close their pool areas at 8 or 9 pm. The pool area was clean, towels for guest use were located in the locker room area, and the chlorine smell wasn't overpowering. We got pizzas from the bar for dinner, which was surprisingly excellent. VERY cheesey! We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which had a variety of foods suited for any preference. However, while the price for dinner for 4 was reasonable, the price of breakfast for 4 was outrageous. They must not offer a childrens rate.

We are planning on returning for another brief getaway again in the future. The only real complaint I have was that there was no "hold" placed on my debit/credit card that I made the online reservation with. I swear when I made the reservation, there was a message that said "This will be held against your card in a pending status until your arrival, at which time you may choose to pay in full with a different method of payment." Not how it happened. I made the reservation on a Tuesday, we checked in on Friday, the $ was removed from my account on Thursday prior to our arrival. So if I wanted to change methods of payment, I would have been out of luck. Just a warning. But overall, we're looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We've stayed in a cabin overThanksgiving for three or four days since 1999...we need two cabins now since our family has grown.....the kids look forward to it every year and actually count down the months until Deer Creek...more popular than Christmas for our family....it is a valued tradition

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Scenic location and over the top service! We enjoyed the lakefront view from our room. The banquet food was delicious and the staff were all attentive to our needs!

Would highly encourage an overnight stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We arrived later in the evening and found that the bunk beds were unmade. They had the mattress pad (bunched up and not attached) and the fitted sheet (inside out on bottom bunk), but I had to do the flat sheet and blanket. When I unfolded the blanket for the top bunk, I found a big hairball. My daughter did not want to sleep in the bed after she saw it. After making the beds I went into the bathroom and found a significant amount of hair in the bathtub, as if someone had cut their bangs in the tub. YUCK. Our refrigerator was sticky on the front and the coffee maker had dust on the top. We went swimming in the morning and found the pool area unclean as well. Wrappers, mud, and hair were on the tile. The heat in the hot tub did not work.

On the good side, the bathrooms have been updated and the counter was clean as well as the floor.

I paid over $170 for this room and do not feel like I got my money's worth at all. I realized this is a lodge, but if you are going to charge this much for a room, please make sure it's clean...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Went with some frineds down to Circleville, Ohio for the Pumpkin Festival and stayed at Deer Creek Lodge. Loved the festival and were very pleased with the lodge as well. The rooms were comfortable and clean, more like a hotel than a state lodge. We had a nice balcony overlooking the outdoor pool area. The view from the restaurant overlooking the lake was fantastic. Our breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed sitting by the fire in the lobby, after walking around the festival all day, sipping a glass of wine from the bar. The hiking trails were good though not teribbly challenging. We were about 25 minutes from the Pumpkin Festival and the drive through the countryside was nice. We would definitely chose this lodge again for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Went to Deer Creek for a quick overnight. The lodge was nice with a pretty view of the lake. The kids loved the indoor pool and hot tub. We also enjoyed several of their hiking trails. Nice getaway!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sterling
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
19.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Washington Court House
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington Court House
Holiday Inn Express Washington C...
#1 of 3 in Washington Court House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Circleville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143-9542
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing