We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Hohenwald, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average and overpriced”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The rooms were average at best. We stayed in a king non-smoking room and I must say that the Holiday Inn Express is a much better value. There aren't enough options in Mount Vernon and when the Holiday Inn Express was booked, we stayed here. Never again. The office staff was very friendly but she couldn't even supply us with an extra pillow. I could not believe our bill at $174.36 for 2 people (1 night) If we weren't exhausted from driving 8 plus hours, we would have went to another town to stay.

Room Tip: My suggestion is go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
10
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel was okay. The rooms were average and pretty clean. The pool area was nice except there were tons of kids so very noisy. I was told the pool water was pretty cold and the hot tub was very small. Also, there was an annoying issue with one of the lights turning on/off but I am sure that can be fixed. There was a sauna as well. The free breakfast had a very nice selection with your usual dry cereals, instant oatmeals and breads/bagels/english muffins and muffins. They also had eggs and sausage. Both the eggs and sausage were in circle shaped and they had cheese slices so I saw many making breakfast sandwiches which was a great idea. There was also make your own waffles and several kinds of juices, yogurts and fresh fruits. The only problem is the breakfast area is EXTREMELY small. There is only 5 tables with 3 chairs each and the set up for the food was nice except again cramped so hard to move around when crowded. Luckily we went down early before it was too bad.

Overall it was an okay stay, The only issue I had was that it's very expensive for just a small, average hotel. We were there for an event at Mount Vernon Nazarene College so I think they probably raised the prices due to influx of out of town guests for the weekend and only a few hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trbyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We've stayed at several hotels while visiting nearby Kenyon College, and this one is not a bad option. The room was reasonably clean, though terribly dated in decor. Someone must have been keeping up with the housekeeping for the carpeting/bedding to have lasted so long! The larger sized in-room fridge/freezer is a nice bonus. My biggest complaint is that the hotel smells of stale smoke throughout the common areas. When I arrived, the lovely receptionist and another member of the staff were immediately outside the front door of the hotel, smoking, so I'm not surprised by the smell in spite of the non-smoking signs on every room. On the plus side, the location is in a quiet area, the staff were very congenial and it is very convenient to Kenyon. I would stay here again if my first choices were not available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJH7363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
245 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Clean, nice rooms, desk staff "OK", about $35-$50 higher than comparable motels. While nice, I do not find it worth the extra cost. I would prefer to feel satisfied, rather than feel that I had been taken advantage of. Sorry.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Realkayakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Really more like 3.5 stars . . Located close to Kenyon College in nearby Gambier, this Comfort Inn has very friendly and helpful staff. The two-queen bed room is a nice size, with a small fridge and microwave and the sink outside the bathroom. This design decision offers advantages to some travelers but does impinge on closet space and makes the entrance to the room a bit cramped. There is a nice pool & hot tub, (which we didn't use) but no exercise facilities. We returned to the hotel for our second night to find a small wicker basket full of treats (fritos, microwave popcorn, chocolate bars) and a handwritten note saying that we were the "guests of the day" and hoping that we had enjoyed our visit to Kenyon. That was a very nice touch! However, I can't help noting that the beds hadn't been made or the garbage emptied and I don't think that the room had been cleaned ; not sure what to make of the absence of these standard hotel duties. We hadn't made a big impact on the room/bathroom; it didn't really need cleaning/tidying. Still, I've never had the experience before of coming back to a room (we left around 11:30 and returned after dinner, so plenty of time for cleaning), knowing that hotel staff had been here (the basket) and yet having the beds unmade and the garbage unemptied. An oversight? Wifi was free and fine. All in all, however, a nice little hotel; I would definitely stay here again; the price was right too.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

While the bedding still uses quilted comforters, it was clean and allowed for a good night sleep. The hotel had free WiFi and a reasonable business use area. The breakfast was quite good with warmed, prepared foods in addition to the more routine coffee, juice, and dairy and baked goods. Definitely recommend it if staying in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We were in town for the IndyCar races. This was a great location. The town of Mt. Vernon is a quaint (up and coming) town with real character. We got there on a Friday night and the Front Desk employee was really nice & told us of events in town. We had dinner at the restaurant behind the hotel...definitely recommend (Winestein). Room was your average room and clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyde1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.6 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
109 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center Bellville
21.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mansfield
22.3 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Mount Vernon

Property: Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Address: 150 Howard Street, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Vernon Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing