We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Mount Vernon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The rooms here are nice and very clean. They have larger refrigerators and microwaves, which is nice if you intend to eat meals in your room or reheat leftovers. They have a big pool and hot tub area and provide pool toys, too. The staff bends over backwards to make sure you are satisfied, which is especially nice. The free breakfast is great, including eggs, sausage, fresh waffles, fruit, cereal, bagels, coffee, and more. This hotel is within a couple of blocks of downtown, which is nice as there are some great shops to visit. Free wi-fi in the room was fast and easy to acces.
No major complaints to mention. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If the rooms that overlook the pool are available, pay the extra money and get them! 201 and 202 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TangentialT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
10
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stay there while visiting mount Vernon and for visiting the distillery and house is a great location. The room was clean but in need of a freshen up. Yes the safe were very helpful and check in is speedy so no hanging around in the heat. There is a great diner about a mile north on the left, the something Skillet, the name I can't remember but it's proper diner food

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was up to Mt. Vernon Ohio for my class reunion from may 23 2013 to may 27th 2013
And the staff was great welcome me at the door asking me how my trip was and helped me with my bags without asking. Check-in was easy and took less then a minute. The room was clean and has space. The bed was great ( had 4 great night sleeps) The pool area was clean and inside with a hot tub that was so very relaxing. In the morning the breakfast was a big surprise
it had it all Toast, Bagels, French toast, Boiled eggs, Oatmeal, Grits, Yogurts, Scramble eggs, Sausage patties, and make your own Waffles, Coffee and Juices & Milk plus bowls of fruit. it could not have been better. The location is rite downtown you can walk rite to main st.
The wi-fi worked great in the room and they have a computer you can use and print boarding passes for your flights. I stay in lots of hotels and this on for the price is in my top 3 of all time.
When I am up there again I will be staying at this hotel.100% & Again thank you so much to the great staff my hat is off to you.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone ask for the king bed it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frostyboy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenwald, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The rooms were average at best. We stayed in a king non-smoking room and I must say that the Holiday Inn Express is a much better value. There aren't enough options in Mount Vernon and when the Holiday Inn Express was booked, we stayed here. Never again. The office staff was very friendly but she couldn't even supply us with an extra pillow. I could not believe our bill at $174.36 for 2 people (1 night) If we weren't exhausted from driving 8 plus hours, we would have went to another town to stay.

Room Tip: My suggestion is go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel was okay. The rooms were average and pretty clean. The pool area was nice except there were tons of kids so very noisy. I was told the pool water was pretty cold and the hot tub was very small. Also, there was an annoying issue with one of the lights turning on/off but I am sure that can be fixed. There was a sauna as well. The free breakfast had a very nice selection with your usual dry cereals, instant oatmeals and breads/bagels/english muffins and muffins. They also had eggs and sausage. Both the eggs and sausage were in circle shaped and they had cheese slices so I saw many making breakfast sandwiches which was a great idea. There was also make your own waffles and several kinds of juices, yogurts and fresh fruits. The only problem is the breakfast area is EXTREMELY small. There is only 5 tables with 3 chairs each and the set up for the food was nice except again cramped so hard to move around when crowded. Luckily we went down early before it was too bad.

Overall it was an okay stay, The only issue I had was that it's very expensive for just a small, average hotel. We were there for an event at Mount Vernon Nazarene College so I think they probably raised the prices due to influx of out of town guests for the weekend and only a few hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trbyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We've stayed at several hotels while visiting nearby Kenyon College, and this one is not a bad option. The room was reasonably clean, though terribly dated in decor. Someone must have been keeping up with the housekeeping for the carpeting/bedding to have lasted so long! The larger sized in-room fridge/freezer is a nice bonus. My biggest complaint is that the hotel smells of stale smoke throughout the common areas. When I arrived, the lovely receptionist and another member of the staff were immediately outside the front door of the hotel, smoking, so I'm not surprised by the smell in spite of the non-smoking signs on every room. On the plus side, the location is in a quiet area, the staff were very congenial and it is very convenient to Kenyon. I would stay here again if my first choices were not available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJH7363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Clean, nice rooms, desk staff "OK", about $35-$50 higher than comparable motels. While nice, I do not find it worth the extra cost. I would prefer to feel satisfied, rather than feel that I had been taken advantage of. Sorry.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Realkayakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.3 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
#1 of 4 in Bellville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
18.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center Bellville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Mount Vernon

Property: Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Address: 150 Howard Street, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Vernon Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing