We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice and Peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mount Vernon Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Was on a Business trip...stayed for 4 nights...Break fast was good..The rooms are nice and have a microwave, coffee maker etc and the toilets are cleannice place...elegent...great staff...very friendly and helpful...I had requested for a drop to the Airport at Columbus...The manager drove me there....On the way he even took a detour on my requrest as I wanted to buy some stuff. Very recommended !!!

Room Tip: Check out the double rooms...they are good and face an outdoor garden with tables...great place to r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CManoj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for The Mount Vernon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent 4 nights in The Robb Forman Dew Cottage. It was very comfortable and cozy. This was our 2nd stay at the Inn. We would highly recommend the inn. Breakfast was outstanding. The inter garden are fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The grounds are adorable and the setting just lovely -- the rooms are immaculate and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the employees so friendly. Can't say enough good things about the Inn! There was a small miscommunication in the housekeeping of our originally reserved room but they had everything straightened out before we even arrived, upgrading us to a larger room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mount Vernon Inn 4 days, while enjoying the graduation of our grandson from Mt Vernon High.The elegant beauty and peaceful atmosphere of this B&B was wonderful. The room was nice and modern, The staff earned an A+ for their helpfulness, friendliness, and dedication to the guests. The breakfasts were just what was needed to start our day.
We would recommend the Mt. Vernon Inn to anyone traveling in or near this area and will definately stay here in future visits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Mt Vernon Inn is by far one of the nicest small motels / B&Bs ! It is by far the nicest in the Mt Vernon / Gambier OH area. We have stayed there a number of times over the past 4 years when our daughter was a Kenyon College student. The management is very friendly and helpful and flexible - they go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The rooms are nicely appointed and some quite spacious. Even the smaller rooms are very nice indeed. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Extra amenities are provided in the room & bathroom such as microwave, coffee maker, fresh flowers, bathroom soaps, mouthwash, shampoo, body gel etc. The complimentary breakfasts are cooked to order for hot dishes and there is always great fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice coffee, tea etc - all set in a lovely bright breakfast room / converted porch. Nice weather also affors sitting outdoors at tables in the beautifully landscaped garden surrounding the rooms. A glass of wine can be found at the bar in the evening. There is ample and safe parking right on the premesis. although this is a small family run place, they are very professional and kind and were able to handle the large # of guests staying there for Kenyon graduation. They keep good track of reservations on their system so no worries there either. I am only sorry that it may be some time before i have the pleasure of staying there again soon as my daughter has graduated.

Room Tip: Discuss the room selection with the staff to make sure you get the room you desire.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great place! Loved our quick stay here. The main house is really nice, and our room was as well. The bathroom was small, but appeared to be recently remodeled and was very clean and nice. Slept well, area is very quiet and bed was comfortable. WiFi worked well in the room. The outdoor area between the main house and the building of rooms was quaint, with walkways, lights in the trees and several seating areas. Breakfast offered in the morning was also high-quality - a nice assortment of breads, pastries and fruit, plus tasty made-to-order more filling choices. We were in town for a 2 day track meet at Kenyon College, so had the evening to kill in Mt Vernon and found it to be a charming town! There happened to be a First Friday event going on around downtown with a band playing and some other activities. Had a fun time walking around the area and enjoying the small town atmosphere!! Don't know that we'll have a reason to stay in the area again, but I would most definitely make this the place to book!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athomemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I have stayed in many upper end chain hotels and none of them have left the impression of Mt. Vernon Inn. Clean rooms, great service, and the best breakfast you will ever have. Small, quaint place with a really nice courtyard. You will be treated like family in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwhite160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.4 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
73 reviews
13.6 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
122 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Vernon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Vernon Inn

Address: 601 W High St, Mount Vernon, OH 43050-2328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: £87 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mount Vernon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our selection of rooms and Guest Houses provide the perfect Mount Vernon, Ohio escape. You'll quickly relax in the casual elegance and warmth of these rooms. The interior design throughout our facilities feature natural materials and fine craftsmanship abounds. During the summer months, enjoy your morning coffee or afternoon tea in our extensive courtyard, surrounded by a splashing fountain and beautiful flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mount Vernon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mount Vernon Inn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing