We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One time, all time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mount Vernon Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“One time, all time”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have been to this hotel several times and enjoyed it. The atmosphere is unique and enjoyable. Sitting in the yard, having some relaxation is utmost. Will come back for the next stay in Mt. Vernon. Congratulations to the owner family and their team to keep the standard upright, but also improving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    68
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
68
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Whether you are traveling to Mount Vernon for business or pleasure you wont find a nicer place than the Mount Vernon Inn. I was in town for business and spent 4 nights with them. Clean comfortable room, very nice bedding and a REAL breakfast made to order every morning were the highlights. The whether was rather chilly but had it been warmer, relaxing in center garden would have been on the list as well. I did receive a corporate discount so dont forget to ask them when you book your room. Avoid the chain hotels and do business with real people!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrishogg42379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Mt Vernon Inn is a hybrid boutique hotel and part B & B which is full of charm and has great potential but not for everybody. Call and ask questions prior to finalizing your reservation if you are a first time visitor. We will be looking for an opportunity to stay here again because it is comfortable for our style of traveling.

First the property; the main row of rooms are all remodeled rooms from an old style single story drive up to your door motor lodge like you would see along national roads before interstate highways existed. So of course it is next to a busy street because that is part of the property's heritage. What was their parking lot long ago is now filled with beautifully landscaped areas with hardscape pathways and patios that beckon the visitor to sit or stroll awhile. Check out the picture gallery. Personally I applaud this effort at historic preservation and find it unique for sure.

Secondly the room; we stayed in a nice little space called the Northern Catulpa room, which worked well for 2 but would have been cramped for 3 or 4 people. Our cost was $146 incl tax for the night and we did receive a discount. Maybe since we were not able to stay for breakfast, but they were gracious enough to do that without asking and I have no idea if that is standard practice or policy but was a plus nonetheless. You will notice their web pages are nicely done but are lacking room pictures or floor plans. Our toilet was tucked under the bathroom counter just a bit and may be a bit challenging for folks with minor mobility issues. Also we usually always open up the curtains and blinds but this time we did not due to being at ground level and privacy issues with other visitors using the pathway right along the rooms.

Lastly the summary; this pocket of central Ohio has much to offer a visitor and this hotel adds to the charm of what a weekend getaway in this region should be like. We had spent the day at Denison University and stayed here because of its proximity to Mohican recreation area for the next day's adventure. Generic chain hotels with their picked over by the herd breakfasts are also available if that is your style. So do some research and make some calls to improve your experience here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've stayed at the Mt. Vernon Inn about 4 times over the last four years and find the people who run it extremely nice and the room and breakfast more than adequate. The breakfast room is lovely and the breakfast excellent. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. It's a haven in the middle of a busy (for Mt. Vernon) street, across from a gas station and convenience store.
The bed we had on our last visit was a double and kind of slumped in the middle, the first time I've encountered anything less than a firm bed. But unlike the negative review I just read, the bathroom is just fine, with an excellent shower and plenty of space. I recommend the Inn as an excellent place to stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Found this oasis and spent a night while my son toured Kenyon College. I hope he is accepted so we can come back more often. Very pleasant and accommodating staff, clean rooms, nice attention to detail at a fair price. I would definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Beautiful grounds, lovely, charming, clean rooms. One of the nicest B&B's we've stayed at. We were not told in advance this is a motel set up, our teenage daughter had her own room near the end where a gas station is hidden from view. Her window was unlocked (I almost didn't think of checking), my husband had to wrestle with it to get it to lock. Our window was unlocked as well. She was not able to dial our room phone from her room phone (it gave a busy signal). I didn't sleep well between concern for her (although she was perfectly content) and our too firm mattress and pillow. Don't let "motel set up" discourage you, this place is beautiful, charming and relaxing with lovely gardens out your door. Opposite the gardens is the house with dining room and breakfast there was very enjoyable. We hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were looking for a place close to the Kokosing Gap Trail (a beautiful bike trail) and found this inn on Tripadvisor. It is very peaceful and the gardens were very beautiful. The complimentary breakfast was very nice; the dining room was beautiful and they provided both buffet items and an entrée choice. The buffet contained many choices of fruit including berries, homemade muffins, bagels and cereals. All the entrees included bacon or sausage which were delicious. Angie was particularly hospitable and friendly during our stay. We stayed in the cottage which was very nice; a large bathroom and a very comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoalOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.4 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.6 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Vernon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Vernon Inn

Property: The Mount Vernon Inn
Address: 601 W High St, Mount Vernon, OH 43050-2328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mount Vernon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our selection of rooms and Guest Houses provide the perfect Mount Vernon, Ohio escape. You'll quickly relax in the casual elegance and warmth of these rooms. The interior design throughout our facilities feature natural materials and fine craftsmanship abounds. During the summer months, enjoy your morning coffee or afternoon tea in our extensive courtyard, surrounded by a splashing fountain and beautiful flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Vernon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mount Vernon Inn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing