We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable attraction!”

Hocking Valley Scenic Railway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hocking Valley Scenic Railway is a 501c3 non-profit organization operated entirely by volunteer members. It operates historic train rides from Nelsonville, Ohio, a close drive to the Hocking Hills. The track was originally built in 1869 and the HVSR has been providing family-friendly train rides since 1972. In addition to weekend trains between May and October, there are several theme trains including Easter Bunny Train, Robbery Train, All-Caboose Train, October Fall Foliage, Santa Trains, and New Year's Eve Train.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable attraction!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found the train ride to be very enjoyable and peaceful. The price is definitely a plus, It is a good value. We enjoyed the narrative of the area and of the train given by the volunteer. We enjoyed talking to the. conductor. I've read some of the poor reviews and I must say I don't know what you were expecting. The track has been down for better than a hundred years, they cannot move it just to make the ride more scenic. It is what it is.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    24
    15
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good operation, just not very scenic”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They even let my boys on the engine, which was exciting for them. The problem is that the ride is not very scenic. Good place to ride a train with your kids, just don't expect many scenic views along the way.

Helpful?
1 Thank buckeyetraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This train ride is what it is advertised as. You get to ride on old but restored train cars....this is not supposed to be a luxury train. Reading some of the poor reviews, makes me wonder what these people were expecting. The Hocking Valley Scenic Railway can not control what you see from the train...it is not Disney! The trip was a nice length...just long enough for the experience and not so long that you get bored. Kids enjoyed the historic village. We rode on the open freight cars which was nice because you can stand at the rail so you can see better. My only complaint was that it was difficult to hear the guide telling us about the trip over the noise from the rolling train cars. If you are looking for a Luxury train, you will be disappointed. If you are wanting a nice historical experience to show the kids, it is a worthwhile trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank lawnman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing Director at Hocking Valley Scenic Railway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm very glad you had an overall enjoyable experience. We are aware of the sound issues and hope to get a final resolution to this.

Thanks again and I hope you come back for another visit on our all-volunteer train!

-Chris Burchett
Hocking Valley Scenic Railway
Volunteer/Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fun! fairly priced”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

not the most posh train in the world but its not meant to be. the stop at robbins crossing was pretty neat too. all in all worth the money paid

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank mamasmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A nice diversion”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Hocking Valley Scenic Railway is a good family value. The price is reasonable and the ride is enjoyable. You also learn a bit about the history of the area, which was once rich in coal, iron, and clay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Thither47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hocking Valley Scenic Railway also viewed

 

Been to Hocking Valley Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing