We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be afraid 'cause it's cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Golden Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Paris
South Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't be afraid 'cause it's cheap”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Clean modest lodging run by friendly caring people. You can hear the whistle blow (Norfolk Southern, ex-PRR) through the bathroom window, which is very coool for me. Hummingbird feeders out front, I like hummingbirds. Quiet, the National Pike like dies after 9PM
Gave me a fantastico Mexican eatery in Richmond. I'LL BE BACK......

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilburthebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
380 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I've stayed here multiple times and was surprised to see that I hadn't already reviewed. I guess this was my first visit since I got serious about feeding TripAdvisor. It's a basic well maintained classic with friendly and caring owners. There are a couple of good restaurants in New Paris and Richmond, IN, is close enough to visit yet far enough away to not be bothersome. In the right kind of weather, sitting outside and watching cars pass on US 40/National Road is quite pleasant and there is even a bypassed but drivable section of the old road right across the intersection. This place was a little ahead of the curve with wired high speed internet already in place by my first stay in 2006. Wifi has since been added so you have your choice. Fridge, microwave, and cable TV, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

As I was approaching Richmond, Indiana, I brought up reviews for area hotels/motels and this place popped up with several good reviews, so I thought I'd check it out. So glad I did! It's only a mile from Richmond (at the first Indiana exit as you head west) and it was a breath of fresh air. It is an old-style motel, but with great updates - I had free wifi and a large flat screen tv in my room.The rooms are clean and the place was quiet and restful. I thought the owners were very nice and helpful, too.

Room Tip: I had a room with a king-size bed and it was so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The tile work in the bathroom is an absolute gem. you just don't see it anymore, except at an old time diner. I know it is incredibly geeky of me, but it's the best thing I remember about the place. Like it was said, the motel was built in 1950 and is on the National Road, US Rt 40. the owner was a nice fellow and the prices are very reasonable, two more plusses. The room is clean, it's not incredibly up to date like those high priced chains(with the high priced beds with month old everything), but it is clean and comfortable and it is far far from ratty. Everything I saw was well maintained. More than saying I would stay here again, I'm trying to figure out how I can take my next trip from NY to Minnesota and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I am in the area doing genealogy and I am staying here at the Golden Inn. It is not one of those cookie cutter chains. I feel like I am at home here. The rooms are quite comfortable, I have fast high speed internet for doing my genealogy searches online, and my room has a large flat screen tv. It is quiet and there are plenty of restaurants nearby, and New Paris has a really nice antique mall, too. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a good value and a comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Golden Inn is a much more economical choice in compared to all the other chain hotels in Richmond, IN. It is conveniently located right on route 40, just across the state line from Indiana. I stayed in a single room for $50. The front desk personnel was friendly, helpful, but not over bearing. The room was nice. There was a musty smell in the room, but it also was very humid the day/evening I stayed. Besides that, I loved the place. It had a frig, microwave, flat screen TV with all the regular cable stations, wired internet access, air conditioning, ceiling fan, alarm clock, phone, outlets everywhere. The shower had great water pressure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FindingQuiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We booked a non-smoking room after looking at their website. The price can't be beat in the immediate area and the location is a bit off the busy I-70 interchange so is very quiet. The motel sits on the old National Road (US 40) just south of New Paris, Ohio and a few miles east of Richmond, Indiana. It was originally built in 1950 but has been carefully maintained by the couple who own and operate it. They have installed some very nice upgrades: wall-mounted, flat-screen cable TV's, small refrigerators and microwaves in each room, telephones with free calling both locally and long-distance, and portable heaters to supplement the old heating systems.

The bathroom is small with a free-standing sink and a shower stall. The bathroom window can be cranked open for fresh air. No supplies are offered like soap or shampoo. Overall, the bathroom looked old and dated but clean.

The room was relatively small but fine for the two of us. It had an overhead fan and a comfortable king bed, also a table with two chairs. We slept fine but could hear the people in the adjacent room talking first thing in the morning.

I would recommend this motel for people who want to pay a little less, get the basics with no frills other than the amenities I have mentioned, and don't mind if the room is small and a bit dated-looking. If all the rooms are the same size as ours, I'd have to advise families with children to look elsewhere because there just isn't enough room for more than two. The people who operate the place are great, and will do what they can to make you feel comfortable. It's a "vintage" motel that still has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paris
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Fairfield Inn Richmond
#1 of 2 in New Paris
95 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Classic Inn
BEST WESTERN Classic Inn
#2 of 10 in Richmond
380 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Richmond
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
#3 of 10 in Richmond
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Richmond
Motel 6 Richmond
#7 of 10 in Richmond
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Inn

Property: The Golden Inn
Address: 8868 US Route 40 W, New Paris, OH 45347-1542
Region: United States > Ohio > New Paris
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Paris
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Inn is a small family owned motel located in a quiet country setting. We offer at door parking, flat screen cable tv, wired and wireless internet and refrigerators and microwaves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing