We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Wonderful Weekend Get Away”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My boyfriend surprised me by planning a relaxing weekend away. We chose the Boat House at Cherry Ridge Retreat and were SO happy with our decision. It was one of the best weekends away I've ever had. The amenities were as advertised, and so was the view! The bed was one of the comfiest we've ever slept in and we had an amazing time relaxing by the fireplace and in the hot tub.
We loved that all of the kitchen supplies were available for our use and had so much fun cooking our meals together. WE also enjoyed reading the journals with stories left by all the people that have stayed at our little house that were left on the coffee tables.
They even had movies and games available for us to use as we cuddled and shared time away from the world. My boyfriend and I are already planning on going back soon when it's warmer so we can eat outside by the fire pit and go fishing in the lake.
The owner of Cherry Ridge is SUPER nice and did a great job of making us feel welcome.
We will definitely be back, and maybe even stay at another cabin!? We shall see...

Room Tip: The boathouse had a lot of privacy and we enjoyed being so close to the woods. We even saw a deer o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charitysmiles5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    11
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
239
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angola, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is the second weekend we have stayed at Cherry Ridge. Last year we stayed in one of the cabins, this year we stayed in the newest cabin - the Observatory. This place is a wonderful getaway and they have thought of everything to make it relaxing and enjoyable for any couple. It is so romantic. From relaxing in a hot tub, nice smelling sheets, privacy, every kitchen item you could think of, plush towels, very very clean, etc. This newest cabin has a stain glass window that can be lit up for you to enjoy at night with a huge shower that is beyond words. It has a TV in three rooms plus music that is through out the entire cabin that is remote controlled. The other cabin had a hammock for you to enjoy. Both cabins had a fire place that is so romantic in the evenings. This place is nothing but first class. We will be back next year - our only decision is which cabin to stay in. We are already looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend enjoyed the most perfect two night stay at the Ravine's Edge Cabin. We were blown away from the moment we walked in! So romantic, cozy, immaculate, tranquil, and secluded. It was the ideal getaway! We took advantage of the couples massage and it was heavenly:) the staff was warm and friendly..It was the most serene and peaceful vacations ever! We can't wait to come back:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Our brief stay exceeded my expectations which were high, based on their descriptions on their website. If you want to experience the outdoors with some hiking and then retreat to a pampered evening of a well equipped kitchen, warm fireplace in the living room, and large hot tub - this is the place! Each cabin is separated by 3 or 4 acres of woods for privacy on this well-maintained property.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Still Waters cottage for a mini-honeymoon and we had a great time. I would definitely recommend Cherry Ridge for anyone looking for a peaceful, secluded, romantic getaway. The views were great. The cottage was charming, well decorated and super clean. The hot tub was clean and relaxing with a great view. The bed was super comfortable. The kitchen was awesome! Way better than our kitchen at home. I actually enjoyed cooking! The gentleman in the office was nice and helpful when I had to call our first night there with a question. We will definitely be back. We're thinking of making a stay at Cherry Ridge an annual anniversary getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in the Oak Ridge cottage and found it to be welcoming and clean though one should note the discrepancies on their website. The photos posted for this cottage, though similar, are not of the actual Oak Ridge cottage. Slightly disappointing as the Oak Ridge isn't quite as nice as the pics on the website. Additionally, I found for the price per night, the very least the owners could do is provide fire wood at no charge and not charge for wi-fi. Seriously...?

The bed we slept in was more of a hammock than a mattress. I also left a neck tie behind and spoke to someone who said they would check the cottage and get back to me. That never happened.

Overall, it's nice, but I don't believe it's worth the price. There are many other options in the area that I would recommend over this one. I would give it 2/5, though I wouldn't consider this place "poor", hence the 3/5.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 24Td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lexington, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was our fourth trip to Cherry Ridge Retreat. We have stayed in a different cottage each time and love them all. It is hard to explain but once you arrive, you have no reason to leave and no choice but to relax. We took a winter hike which was beautiful as always, enjoyed the hot tub, were warmed by the fireplace, loved the music, cooked together in the well-furnished kitchen and just all in all relaxed. It just seems that conversations are richer and deeper when you don't have all the interruptions of everyday life like cell phones, to-do lists and schedules. We took time to play cards with each other, play a favorite game with each other, talk about nothing and everything. The privacy is unmatched. The staff has a unique balance between always being there for you but never being seen once you check in. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Plymouth
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
9.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
17.2 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
17.5 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
47 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Ridge Retreat

Property: Cherry Ridge Retreat
Address: 22097 Cherry Ridge Rd, New Plymouth, OH 45654-9628
Region: United States > Ohio > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Ridge Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded luxury cabins and lodge featuring absolute privacy. Each cabin and lodge includes gourmet kitchens, artist designed furnishings, deluxe hot tubs, and uninterrupted views of 140 forested acres with ponds and groomed trails. Some accommodations also include a private pool, Cold Plunge, Sauna, private pond and boat. We have an cabin to fit every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cherry Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hocking Hills Cabins - Cherry Ridge Retreat Hotel New Plymouth
Cherry Ridge Retreat New Plymouth, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing