We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Unique!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravenwood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ravenwood Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Unique!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed in the Silversmiths Cottage and it was sooo cute! The upstairs is the master suite and is huge. The heart shaped tub is much larger than the pic looks. It was great after a day of hitting the trails. People were friendly and when we asked for help cleaning up webs in our cottage they came right away to do it. Bed was comfortable. Food was very good too. If you look closely to cleanliness, as I do, you will find deep cleaning needs, such as walls, doors, windowsills and ceilings, but the basics were very clean. I think it may be our new weekend away spot!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    45
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
161
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

My wife and I had wanted to stay at Ravenwood for a long time. We saw a deal pop up on Living Social and after reading the positive reviews on the new owners and innkeepers, we decided to make the trip. We were NOT disappointed!

We stayed in the King Arthur suite and it was wonderful! We loved that it was next to the Great room, yet secluded away from the other rooms. There was a balcony that overlooked the garden as well. It had a working easy-to-use fireplace downstairs and a giant king bed upstairs. The mural on the upstairs wall was a nice touch! There was also a nice marble chess set on the table downstairs (as you can probably tell by now, the King Arthur suite has 2 floors!). The bathroom was clean and the whirlpool tub was big! There were couches and chairs both upstairs and down, so plenty of places to stretch out.

The innkeepers were gracious and super-nice folks! They were always present if you needed anything, and would always check on you if they saw you. We enjoyed the conversations and it was nice to see a family taking care of the place, not just co-workers. Steve was very much in communication with us during our visit as well as when booking our reservation.

We had dinner and breakfast there as part of our stay. The food was served buffet-style, but do not think that means it's processed, it is not! The food was homemade and excellent! We talked about the orange spiced ham for 2 days lol There was also plenty of food and you couldn't leave there hungry if your tried. We met the chef in the morning during breakfast and she was very friendly and kept making us eat more lol There was another family of travelers staying there as well, so we all sat at the same giant table for dinner and enjoyed some friendly conversation. Overall it was a great experience!

My wife and I travel a LOT for both work and leisure. We stay at B&B's all over the place. We will definitely be returning to Ravenwood, hopefully in the Fall! The castle is set atop a big mountain in the woods. Very appropriate and beautiful.

As for suggestions or "cons", I don't have much. Possibly a clock radio? There is very little cell service there (not a con at all, the seclusion was nice plus we could still make calls out more often than not, Verizon Wireless) so I had my phone powered off quite a bit to save the battery. I needed it to check the time and set an alarm in the AM. The only other suggestion we had was maybe adding the typical small assortment of bath products that you find in most places. (mini shampoo, conditioner, etc...) That was the only thing we weren't prepared for. Again, not a deal breaker.

Also, and this is NOT a reflection on Ravenwood itself, but the county is a dry county so there are no liquor sales on Sunday, meaning the pub is not open. The innkeeper gave us the heads-up when making our reservation, so we came prepared with a couple of bottle of wine. Not an issue at all!

Overall, we had a great time and look forward to coming back again! Recommended for sure!

Room Tip: Our only stay so far has been in the King Arthur suite. It was a wonderful and spacious room with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great room, great food! Only one negative, It had snowed and the looong driveway was almost impassable. Took 3 tries to get up the hill. Reservations and follow-up was very good. Would be a great place for a group of friends as well.

Room Tip: The Shakespeare Suite was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was looking for somewhere to take my wife for a surprise anniversary, but I didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money flying somewhere. While searching for places within a few hours from Cincinnati I completely lucked out and ran across Ravenwood Castle.

We ended up staying in the Merchant's Cottage, and had an incredible anniversary. Not only is the property amazing, but the location is perfect since it is so close to Hawking Hills. And the icing on the cake is that everyone working at Ravenwood is so nice. We spent time talking the the lady who cooks breakfast, we were shown around the different cottages by the lady who cleans, and we stayed up late into the night playing board games with the manager of the castle.

I cannot recommend Ravenwood Castle highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Merchant's Cottage and absolutely loved it. Just make sure to check out the dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHoltkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

My husband and I drove up from Cincinnati on the weekend just before Christmas to celebrate our anniversary (12/22). I had stumbled on to the existence of this castle while frantically trying to come up with some unique, romantic way to spend our anniversary weekend. The night before our arrival a storm hit that continued through our day of travel. It affected Cincinnati as well, but only with ice. At Ravenwood, it brought snow. Not a massive amount, a couple of inches, but enough to make me a little aprehensive. We arrived later than we originally planned, around 7, and it was already dark (and still snowing a little). The trek up the drive was a little daunting, given the snow and ice, but my husband kicked in the 4 wheel drive and loved every second of it, and for me it added to the intrigue.... As we reached the top, the castle came into view. It was just LOVELY. The snow just made it that much more beautiful. We checked in, got our keys, and went to settle into our room. It was decorated just perfectly. We really felt like we were in another world. SO ROMANTIC. Great big beautiful king size bed, fireplace, 2 person jacuzzi tub, gorgeous stained glass windows - we were in heaven. But we were excited to explore the castle, so we unloaded our things and headed back over.The weekend we stayed, it was only us and one other couple, which we found to be very nice - very intimate. We were so impressed with castle. Every corner you turned brought you a space that was more interesting and beautiful than the last. We had a few drinks in the Raven's Roost Pub, chatted up the inn keepers - GREAT FOLKS, btw - then settle into our room for the night. Woke up to the morning light shining through the stained glass windows on Saturday. Breakfast was delicious. We headed out for the day, exploring Ash Cave and Cedar Falls. Breathtaking with the ice and snow. Came back in time to get ready for our dinner reservations at the castle (our anniversary dinner). The food was fantastic - and there was PLENTY of it!
Our stay was everything we hoped it would be, and then some. The castle is beautiful and unique - and provides such a romantic atmosphere! I can easily see how kids might love it too - it is a fantasy brought to life. I feel so lucky to have stumbled upon it. This was our best anniversary thus far. (See photos - lots of detailed pictures, particularly of Cinderella's Coach House, The Great Hall, and the Fairy Tale Village.)

Room Tip: We stayed in Cinderella's Coach House, but the inn keeper was gracious enough to give us tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I married my husband at Ravenwood on 12/12/12 and the visit was fantastic. All of our guests- those who stayed and even those who did not- had nothing but wonderful things to say of the decor, the grounds, and the staff. We stayed in the King Arthur suite, which was recently updated and looks wonderful. The rooms were all clean, tidy, and inviting. The Raven's Roost Pub was a fun place to hang out after our dinner, which was also well presented and tasted great. If you're looking for a cozy place to hold a small wedding, I highly recommend Ravenwood.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We attended a wedding on 12/12/12 and stayed in the Silversmith's House. It fit our families needs perfectly. We couldn't have asked for a more positive experience. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The dinner provided after the ceremony was very good. The wedding party and guests enjoyed the service provided by the bar tender in the Castle Pub before and after the ceremony. We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Plymouth
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
13.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
18.2 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
20.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Castle

Property: Ravenwood Castle
Address: 65666 Bethel Rd, New Plymouth, OH 45654-8936
Region: United States > Ohio > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the woods of scenic Hocking Hills, Ravenwood Castle provides a charming setting with a medieval flair. Whether you are planning a romantic trip for two or a unique getaway for family and friends, Ravenwood Castle makes for an unforgettable destination. Ravenwood offers a wide array of accommodations, from castle guest rooms and Medieval Village cottages to rustic Huntsman's Hollow cabins and Gypsy Wagons. Our guests enjoy dining in the Great Hall and Tea Room, or relaxing with a drink in the Raven's Roost Pub after a day exploring the caves and trails of Hocking Hills. Whether your vacation includes outdoor adventure or simply a relaxing escape from the stresses of everyday life, Ravenwood Castle is your destination. Leave the hassle, come stay in our castle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ravenwood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Castle Hotel New Plymouth
Ravenwood Castle New Plymouth, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing