We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Concept”
Review of Ravenwood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravenwood Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I booked a cottage at Ravenwood to celebrate our anniversary. We were very excited, especially after reading all of the great reviews. We quickly realized that for the money, we could have stayed somewhere much nicer. The cottage smelled very old and musty, much like an old camper. Clothes, sheets, and any other cloth thing felt damp due to the humidity of the cottage. There were scuffs all over the walls, and the rugs looked very dated. The concept of the castle and the cottages is very good and has potential to be very nice, but right now, at least the cottages need a lot of updates, a few coats of paint, and a dehumidifier.

We didn't get a chance to try dinner, but we did think breakfast was limited, but good. The cinnamon rolls were excellent.

All in all, it is a very neat and unique place with a ton of potential. The staff is extremely friendly, and seemed like they would help out with whatever if need be. For us though, we've stayed in much nicer places for the regular price that we paid. Unfortunately we will never be back unless the place gets a complete makeover.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLC811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide all of our guests the best possible experience, and I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know that your cabin smelled musty, although I wish you had let us know during your stay so that we could have fixed it or moved you into a different cabin. Even though it was extremely humid this past weekend (over 80%!), the air conditioning unit should have been able to keep the temperature and humidity inside your cabin comfortable. I will have Maintenance check that it is operating properly immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

The stay was excellent from the first walk in until checkout. We stayed in the Duke's Dungeon, a quaint little basement in the room that we loved for it's privacy and chill during the hot summer weather. The staff was friendly and accommodating, great to talk to as well. I couldn't recommend it more and we hope to be back this winter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sender R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I wanted to take a trip to get away from all the craziness and chaos of daily life and this couldn't have been a better trip! With minimal cell phone reception at the castle (we have Verizon) and no wifi, I appreciated completely unplugging and just enjoying our surroundings. We stayed in the King Arthur suite and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. The rather large Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom provided an excellent way to unwind and was simply wonderful after full days of hiking and activity. The decor of the room was also quite fitting and helped it to really feel like a castle. Despite the entrance to the room being right off of the main dining area, we never heard any noise and usually woke up to the delicious smell of breakfast. The homemade breakfasts every morning were absolutely amazing. They ranged from casseroles, to homemade cinnamon rolls with fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and granola always available. The staff was so friendly and cheerful. Even better, they have an extensive collection of board/card games. Be sure to talk to the innkeeper (Steve) or the assistant innkeeper and ask them to recommend a couple of games. They gave us some fantastic recommendations and we loved them so much we bought a couple to take home with us. If you would like to enjoy dinner at the castle, be sure to make reservations in advance as the spots can fill up pretty quickly.
As far as location is concerned, the inn is relatively close to several towns in the area with much to do and many good places to eat. Despite not having much reception at the castle, once you get back onto the road we usually had reception and GPS so that we could look for the address of where we wanted to get to or look for places to eat close to where we were at. We definitely hit up canoeing and hiking while we were there and on the rainy days we hit up a flea market and a couple of museums.
Overall this was simply a wonderful trip. The staff were wonderful, the rooms immaculate, the food delicious and the accommodations relaxing and beautiful. I'd highly recommend staying at the castle and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmcd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This will have been our fourth visit to Ravenwood Castle and our first under new management and I don't have anything to complain about. The new owners, inn keepers and staff are very welcoming and know how to run a b&b.

We walked in and glad to see that nothing has changed as far as decor. Love the large dining room furnishings, the bedrooms are still very welcoming and feel like home decor. The staff still serves a nice hot item breakfast of a casserole of sorts along with cereals, cinammon rolls, granola, milks, juice, coffee etc...enough to fill you up and be satisfied for along time.

The bar in the basement is now open and they have a variety of beers and wines that are served and put on our guest tab. We had a deck of card that we brought and a couple of other guest and we asked the inn keeper to join us. How could we not, as he was very welcoming to us and you could tell that he enjoys his job that he and his wife share.

The castle does serve a very nice dinner which consists of hot entree, salad, rolls, vegy and dessert but DO tell them ahead of time that you would like to eat at the castle. Dinner is at 7:00. It is well worth eating there.

I am so glad that the b&b is still up and running. So gald that we returned.

Thank you very much to the new staff for making our weekend enjoyable.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My family has stayed at Ravenwood Castle many times throughout the years. However recently, the Castle has come under new ownership and management. The positive changes were immediately felt. The staff is always present and helpful. The beautiful pub is no longer an afterthought, and serves top-notch crafted beer. The vast selection of games kept our family occupied. The staff is not only knowledgeable about games, they brought various games to us that they thought our boys would enjoy. Fortunately, they've kept the signature things that have made us repeat customers, like beautiful, well-kept grounds and a chef that makes the most delicious breakfasts we've ever had. It is definitely worth the trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamDenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I love the castle. My wife and I have been there a few times now and we just booked 2 more visits. You will go for the castle but you'll go back for the food, staff, games, new friends, the pub, and all the awesome events. I personally love the diverse beer selection. My wife loves the grounds. Don't forget to say "hey" to Steve. Ask him to turn you on to some games you may have never heard of.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barstool3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at Ravenwood Castle in April of this year (2013). I was vacationing solo and wanted a few days of peace and quiet in a luxurious and relaxing atmosphere. I found that and so much more at Ravenwood. I stayed in Cinderella's Coach House...a very cozy and royal suite with a balcony overlooking the quaint Medieval Village. The grounds are literally carpeted with flowers and foliage....both in "beds" and natural. During my visit all of the trees were in bloom, giving the Castle and grounds and even more charming quality.
My room was simply marvelous...Beautiful hardwood floors, a very large jacuzzi w/shower, deliciously comfortable king-size bed, and so much more. The charming decor was amusing and delightful....a little hand-carved wooden mouse in the corner of one of the gorgeous stained-glass windows, Cinderella's glass slipper on the mantle, a gilded pumpkin carriage w/ white stallions on the antique bureau....and the Cinderella board game and books.
And speaking of books....Ravenwood Castle has the most outstanding library!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Plymouth
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
14.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
18.2 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
18.2 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
48 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Castle

Address: 65666 Bethel Rd, New Plymouth, OH 45654-8936
Region: United States > Ohio > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range: £44 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the woods of scenic Hocking Hills, Ravenwood Castle provides a charming setting with a medieval flair. Whether you are planning a romantic trip for two or a unique getaway for family and friends, Ravenwood Castle makes for an unforgettable destination. Ravenwood offers a wide array of accommodations, from castle guest rooms and Medieval Village cottages to rustic Huntsman's Hollow cabins and Gypsy Wagons. Our guests enjoy dining in the Great Hall and Tea Room, or relaxing with a drink in the Raven's Roost Pub after a day exploring the caves and trails of Hocking Hills. Whether your vacation includes outdoor adventure or simply a relaxing escape from the stresses of everyday life, Ravenwood Castle is your destination. Leave the hassle, come stay in our castle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Ravenwood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Castle Hotel New Plymouth
Ravenwood Castle New Plymouth, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing