We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cherry Ridge Retreat(New Plymouth)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Logan)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Logan(Logan)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hometown Inn(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
218
54
26
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
54
26
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysteryking arthurcasserolehocking hillsclock towerplaying board gameschess setcinnamon rollscoach houseget away from it allcell phone servicesmall tvcastle roomsgreat weekendfresh fruitbreakfast is serveddvd player
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a wonderful time at the Castle. The new owner Jim was a gracious host and has a great management style. All the members of the staff were just as laid back and relaxed as their boss. They trully made us feel like family while we were there.

We were in the Rapunzel Room. It was beautiful it was simple and great romantic time for my wife and I. They served breakfast for is the following morning and let me tell you it was unbelievable.

Overall:

PROS: Great Staff Amazing style! Authentic Great food NO TV's and Cell Phone service (adds to the charm and keeps it simple and makes you "unPlug") Staff was helpful and more than willing to make the stay better. Great romantic getaway for my wife and I. Remotely located

CONS: Nature Trails are limited (The new owner is working to add to them) They only had a limited menu for dinner on Sunday The road up to the castle was a bit rough. GREAT place i'd highly recommend this place and plan to visit again.

Room Tip: If your traveling on the weekend or off time please make sure you bring water/drinks. There is no TV's in the rooms so be mindful, the hotel is made for romantic time with your loved ones :D which is half the charm and fun.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had to write a review after reading a basically negative review. This was my second stay at Ravenswood. Two different owners. The first visit we stayed in one of the Gypsy wagons. A unique place to stay and great for families. We were greeted promptly but then the person disappeared for the rest of our stay. This second visit was different. We were greeted promptly but the owners and staff were available the entire weekend. We got to see parts of the castle we did not know existed on our first visit. We were there for the Midsummer festival and enjoyed ourselves. My grandson was probably one of the unruly children. My apologies. We stayed in the Queen Victoria room which was more than big enough for our needs. In contrast to one review, we found the air conditioning to be too cold but evened out the temperature with the fireplace. Even though the room was off the Great Hall we still had enough quiet and privacy. My only complaint is the evening meal service. However,we found that the pub has good food available. Even though we are a distance away (New Jersey), we are looking forward to another visit and tell everyone what a great place Ravenswood is to visit.

Room Tip: Any room three unique choices.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We drove up the gravel road to the castle. When we spotted the exterior, we were very excited. The exteriors of the buildings are very attractive. The staff was very welcoming when we arrived. We stayed in one of the detached cottages, the Spinster. Unfortunately, the interior of the cottage is in need of a little care, with signs of wear (for instance, cracked knobs on the jacuzzi, a crooked cupboard door) and a bit of a musty smell in the afternoon heat. There is also no internet and very spotty cell reception, which we knew when we booked our room (for some vacationers, this might be a plus).

On the other hand, we enjoyed the use of the jacuzzi tub, as well as the DVD player. Ravenwood maintains a library of DVDs and books and games that can be borrowed freely during your stay. We were able to find suitable books for ourselves and our six-year-old daughter, as well as a Care Bears movie for her. We also played the giant outdoor chess set.

Our room had a bed and a futon. The 4 poster bed in the loft was especially comfortable, and we slept well. There is a tasty complimentary breakfast that included coffee, milk, orange juice, fruit, cereal, muffins, and a hot item. When we stayed, it was berry French toast one day and sausage baked in pancakes the next day. We also opted for the dinners at $25 per adult and $13 for kids. The dinner is a fixed menu. The first night was glazed pork stuffed with mushrooms, with a salad, a roll, and fresh fruit, meatballs, pasta baked with cheese, a tomato cheese risotto, grilled veggies, and dessert choices of either a brownie with raspberry sauce, or peach cobbler. The second night again began with fruit, a green salad, and a roll, and also featured potato salad, barbecue pork ribs, grilled or Thai spice chicken, meatballs, grilled veggies, and either a brownie with caramel sauce, or cheesecake with optional raspberry sauce. Ravenwood also has a tavern with a large selection of beers and some wines, all at reasonable prices. The food and beers were all quite tasty and I recommend opting for the dinner.

If you are not picky about the upkeep of the room, you will probably enjoy your stay. It is also possible that the castle rooms are better maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I had booked a cozy cabin near Hocking Hills state park, but had to cancel and book at Ravenwood once I found it. A replica of a medieval castle, it is in a beautiful woodland setting. Not only are there castle rooms, but a plethora of other choices from fanciful cabins to "gypsy caravans." We brought grandparents and small children (5 and 8).

The decor and amenities were very nice. The breakfasts were simple but hearty (quiche or baked French toast with fruit, cereal, etc.) Beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Dinners are offered on Friday and Saturday evenings- which we missed- but judging from the breakfasts and the "tavern food" available at other times, I am sure it is very good.

It is really designed for couples, but they were accommodating of our children by bringing in 2 twin blow up mattresses. There was a large-scale chess board on the law a, tons of games to borrow, and roaming kitties which kept my kids entertained.

The 'accessible' cabins are good for those with limited mobility (except they just installed jacuzzi tubs that are nearly impossible for older folks to use.)

I would definitely return. If they want to cater only to couples, they could go that way. But with a little more effort, it could be a really awesome place for families (a swing? A croquet set? Children's DVD's?)

Also, kitchens could use plates, utensils, clocks, etc. all These could be acquired by a trip to a Goodwill.

We really appreciated their attn (the Day Manager cooked our dinners), and hope this establishment does well for a long time!
http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank KCRidihalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was torn when giving my overall rating as in terms of castle like properties, this one is phenomenal as it is an actual castle (4), not just a front. Our room (Shakespeare) was large as was our bath with beautiful, authentic furniture and accessories. The main dining area was also regal. Now for the not so great (3): apparently the air conditioning that serves our room was broken, so as we entered our "authentic" castle room, a window air conditioner was blasting cooling our room for which we were grateful, but it was a real distraction from the theme. In addition, because of the air conditioner, our shutters on our first floor room would not close, and there was no sheer or curtain of any kind so anyone walking by on the walk outside our room, could look right in greatly reducing our privacy. Backing up to our arrival, we directed ourselves to the check in area/room where a gentleman was placing an order on a computer...he asked us to wait while he finished. He was dressed very unprofessionally and his demeanor followed his attire. (Really, would a polo with a Ravenwood logo on it have been too much to ask?) He gave us our keys and walked us to our room after telling us what time breakfast was served. He offered no other information about the castle or room. He did ask where we planned to dine as the pub was not serving (note on the website it stated that they served until 7:30 on Sundays--it stated that on the menus in the pub as well) so we were stuck going to a pizza "joint" in town unless we wanted to drive another 40 minutes to Athens. He definitely did not add to the "authentic" castle experience and ambience as his welcome was not very welcoming.

Our breakfast the next morning was self serve as was coffee, etc. It was good and adequate, but nothing special: quiche, fruit, muffins and cold cereal. Tables were not set; you grabbed your silverware with your food and beverages and set your own place. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts, and this was just a notch above the continental you normally get at a hotel like a Best Western; it was not a typical bed and breakfast meal. The woman preparing and serving the food in a less than stellar kitchen also checked us out from the same cluttered, unappealing room and desk that we checked in. She, too, was dressed very casually/unprofessionally-again, a logoed shirt would have been appropriate even for cooking. In other theme inns we have stayed, the personnel is dressed in accord with the theme which makes it a totally immersed experience for the guests.

In addition, the amenities in the bathroom were mediocre at best with drug store Pantene shampoo and conditioner and tiny bars of soap; no lotion or bath gel. Typically, in a b&b at this level, we receive "name brand" amenities, and in some cases, they are even branded with inn's name. Linens, towels, pillows and bedding were very nice, although, I found a pierced earring "stuck" to a bath towel, obviously, from a prior guest.

The little notes left in our room regarding the fireplace and the bath towels were also unprofessional....these needed to be laminated/framed rather than wilted pieces of paper propped up wherever. We also needed a notebook/directory of things to do in the area and restaurants that are available with maps and directions as cell service was sketchy and there was no internet. Also note, there is only one tv in the pub...none in the rooms. We were unaware of any of this; if it is one the website, it is not readily found. A history of the castle would have been nice as well. There were brochures in the office, but they were for a very far reaching area, not just the immediate.

Bottom line, this was more of a hotel than a b&b as there was little interaction with the single staff member we saw at two different times. We did not feel very regal during our castle stay. It was very quiet and peaceful and did provide a total retreat from the world at large.

One other note, the inn is promoting itself as family friendly, which it is, but we think the ambience would be improved by restricting reservations to adults and older. well-behaved children. Many small children running around unsupervised do not add to the romance of the inn.

Also, the landscaping really was in need of some work; the ornamental garden was in serious need of trimming; only remotely like the photo on the website.

Room Tip: The Shakespeare room is on the first floor right at the top of the stairs leading to the pub and library...and another room. If you don't want people trying your door knob and randomly knocking as happened to us, you probably need to select any other room in the castle proper.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyonabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the castle, and overall enjoyed your stay with us. In addition to thanking you for your stay, I did want to take a moment to address a few items that you raised.

I apologize that the main air conditioning unit was broken during your stay. I realize the window unit that was temporarily in use was not ideal. Unfortunately we had a two day wait for parts to repair the main unit, and given the recent heat felt it best to provide air conditioning in whatever form we could.

You mention several times the "authentic" castle experience. At Ravenwood we strive to provide our guests with a unique experience, whether that experience involve one of our murder mystery weekends, a board game convention, a beer or wine tasting, or one of our themed family weekends. We don't actually attempt to convey an authentic castle experience however - with the exception of a few of our medieval themed events of course!

This also explains why our staff does not dress in costume or uniform. Our overall goal is to provide an atmosphere of comfort and even familiarity. One of the best compliments we receive from our guests is that they feel as if they are "coming home" when they visit us.

Finally, I would like to clarify our policy on children. We are absolutely a family friendly establishment, and encourage families to bring children. Of course all guests in attendance - children and adults alike! - are expected to be well behaved. That being said, we don't actually have many children in attendance on a regular basis. I would imagine you saw a few more than usual during your stay, as we had events the last two weekends tailored towards families.

Thanks again for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews