We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite”
Review of Ravenwood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ravenwood Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First let me say: I booked this since I thought, "How often can you stay in a castle in Ohio? The kids are going to love it." We stayed in the King Arthur suite which is attached to the castle, off the dining hall. The Suite itself was spacious and furnished with lots of knick knacks. The king bed was comfortable. The sleeper sofa was so bad, we ended up taking the thin mattress off the bed and putting it directly on the floor. This suite had one bathroom, but was by no means "luxurious." It came with a blow dryer but no outlet in the bathroom. I used my own blow dryer and went upstairs. The soap/shampoo were generic, but I brought my own. The wooden shutters and lighting made the suite look more authentic but the chess pieces were broken and one of the black pawns was missing. This suite is located off the dining hall, which is very convenient but we also heard mumbled conversations and could smell breakfast cooking. No internet/wifi but plenty of books/games/dvds available. Surprised at the size of the small tv in our suite. HVAC appeared to missing completely but the suite did have a gas fireplace (it's August, really?)

The "road" to the castle is very rough, and parking close the castle is somewhat disorganized.
There is a small manicured area of bushes in the back, but I expected to see a little more in the way of flowers/herbs/vegetables...after all, didn't castles rely on gardens to augment their food supply?

This castle is run by a couple (not the owners) who were busy trying to accommodate the guests. The young man took us on a whirl wind tour starting with the bar. If no one is there, you just ring a bell and the young man emphasized we would not be putting him out of his way if we did.

Breakfast was limited to pumpkin mini muffins with chocolate chips and a sausage filled baked dough dish, fresh fruit, self serve coffee/tea, and cheerios. We did not buy the dinner.

Security is lacking as the office is in the back and the front door is wide open. The castle is locked at night and if you come back late, one of your two keys will open the door.

In sum, we can say we stayed in a castle. It appeared the owners bought old furniture/knick knacks then decided to stop investing in it. Cute idea but falls short on every aspect (sleeper sofa, bathroom, HVAC, food, security).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I would like to clarify a few items in your review for the benefit of future guests. First, the King Arthur bathroom does in fact have an outlet, with a night light plugged into one of the two sockets. The suite also has air conditioning, although there is no separate thermostat as it is controlled centrally. We are glad to make adjustments at your request. Finally, while as you mention you wouldn’t likely want to use the fireplace in August, many guests enjoy our built in fireplaces during winter stays.

Regarding the sofa sleeper in King Arthur, I am surprised to hear that you had an issue. That unit is a relatively recent upgrade on which we’ve received many compliments in the past. Thank you for bringing your discomfort on it to our attention, we will make sure to look into it.

You mention a concern over security, although as you also pointed out the castle door is locked in the evening and each of the individual suites has its own private lock. The common areas are in fact open and accessible to all guests during the day, although that has never proven to be an issue.

I do agree that the driveway was rough during your stay, which is largely due to the torrential downpours we experienced this spring. You’ll be happy to hear that the driveway is currently in the process of being completely rebuilt from the ground up. This is just one of the many investments and improvements that we have been making in the Ravenwood Castle property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Ravenwood Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in the Woodcutter's cottage for our 17th wedding anniversary after renewing our vows. I couldn't imagine a more romantic time. The cottage was clean, well decorated and an absolutely unique experience. Being out of Wifi, out of cell phone range and having no TV was definitely a selling point. Its sometimes a great feeling to be 'off the grid' for a while. Having read the previous reviews, we opted not to eat here (except the delicious breakfast). We did play some board games with other guests, which was also a great experience. The only negative point I can think of is that housekeeping doesn't visit between nights so its hard to get clean towels or your trash emptied or new packs of coffee. The staff doesn't seem to be around 24-7. All in all, a great place to get away from the hustle bustle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adeshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff went out of their way to be helpful - very friendly. Breakfast was a treat....not to mention the wonderful cinnamon rolls on Sunday morning....everything made from scratch. Dinner was equally good and Pub food is also available.....also made from scratch. The grounds are peaceful and serene....perfect for that quiet time. Our room was delightful....so much larger than the typical hotel/motel....with a delightful sitting area....room to spread out without having to sit on the bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchesandsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The staff tries hard but they really have no idea what's going on with an absent owner lots of details are not done or not done correctly. The manager is nice and friendly but clueless on running a great B&B
First off Never pre-pay for your dinner though it's the only way you will get it.... Save your money the Dinner is shipped in by car a few hours before Diner is serves then put in warming trays YES you can imagine how nasty it will taste they had when we were there chicken breast wrapped in a dough later I commented on the strange biscuits with something in them not knowing what they where.
You have to beg for ice as the machine is in the kitchen and most of the staff is gone for the evening and make your own coffee no biggie but disturbing when you can't find the light switch.
We stayed over memorial day weekend Fri- Mon. No housekeeping at all had to beg for towels and soap each morning, and our trash was piles high..
The back patio was never visited by the staff so we alternated from table to table because of the full ash trays and food stuff on them thanks the lord there were enough tables for the days we stayed and the picnic table so broken it couldn't hold a glass with tipping over.
Something was wrong with the sink (Can't remember what now) but we did ask one lady in the main dining room about it twice Hope the next patron got it fixed.
Security was a joke seeing the office is way in the back of the manor anyone during the day can just enter the building and do what they wanted
As for Kid friendly they have books and dated games with no dice you can try to play lol
BUT if your not into entertaining them yourself good luck.
The Driveway is really bad we brought a bike and I'm a great rider BUT I wouldn't use the exit to exit nasty turn at bottom and little visablity of the road. Car drivers complained and I drove someone else's bike down for them.
The are building a fire pit a distance from the main house mabe one off the back patio could do those folks also.
Told they had a hot tub at one time but the staff told me they didn't want to up keep it so now no hot tub.
The whole place could use a coat of paint and windows cleaned esp by the patio.
BUT what bothered me the most is they have three flag poles on the roof and no one flag was flying on memorial day..
This is a great concept for a B&B we enjoyed the building and friendly clueless staff.
Breakfast was so-so.

Room Tip: before you arrive load up on snakes and stuff nearest store maybe 10 miles away. want quite try the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank neohiobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide all of our guests the best possible experience, and I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

I would like to take a moment to clarify a few items in your review. As you mention, our dinners are catered in by a professional restaurant and catering service, which is why we require an advance reservation. I apologize if this caused any confusion or inconvenience. The meals do not arrive hours before dinner however, they are delivered and served within a 15 to 30 minute window, which is fairly common practice in the catering industry. The majority of our guests enjoy and comment positively on the quality of the food, I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

There also seems to have been some confusion regarding our family friendly environment, as you mention that you had to entertain your children yourself. While we are absolutely kid friendly, and our library of books, DVDs and over 150 board games is available for the use of guests young and old alike, we do not in fact provide a child care service.

You’ll be happy to hear that the driveway, which was absolutely a struggle earlier this year with the torrential rains we experienced, is scheduled to be completely rebuilt in the next two weeks. It will still be an extremely steep gravel drive, and may not be the best driveway for motorcycles, but it will be free of the drainage ruts and bumps which likely caused some of your issue.

In closing, thank you again for your business and your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the building and the friendliness of the staff – although I do take exception to your calling them clueless. While we have a new staff member or two who are in training, the majority of the staff have been with us for some time, and some of them have been with Ravenwood for nearly two decades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

While a friend discovered Ravenwood online by chance, we didn't know quite what to expect.
As we needed accommodations for four, our only option when we were reserving was the King Arthur Suite. It proved to be so beneficial given the frequent rains during our visit as we need only step out our door to enjoy our breakfast in the Great Hall. The food in the Pub was disappointing, however. As there is new management in recent months, perhaps that will improve. If there are seniors in your party, please check to confirm that what is being reserved is suitable for the seniors. Our accommodations had a long , narrow stairway to the second floor with bathrooms only on the first floor. The bed on the second floor was great but the pull out bed on the first floor was not suitable for sleeping. There are stairs to the Pub, too.
Luckily, it was unusually cool during our stay as it did not seem the ac was effective in the second floor so we could open the windows.
It was enjoyable but know what your are reserving ; I cannot speak of the nature of the accommodations in the cottages around.

Room Tip: Book early and be sure you know the specific features of the room/cottage selected.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LinWin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, though I do wish that you had spoken to us prior to booking the King Arthur suite. We actually have quite a few rooms, cottages and cabins that are single floor, many of which sleep four comfortably. On your next visit please let us know you would like to avoid stairs, and we will be sure to set you up in one of our more accessible rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Ravenwood Castle is more then just a B&B , with its themed rooms, it's unusual village just down the path, and of course the Grand Hall itself with great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It had many unique experiences. It is close to the Ohio park "Hocking Hills" with some wonderful hiking trails and water falls to get away from it all even if for only a weekend. We stayed in the dungeon when we went and it was very quite and it's own entrance to the patio. Did I mention the zip lines close by? I should have, anyway! Have Fun!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Rumrummer314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ravenwood Castle gives you a chance to step into your own fairytale for a couple of days. The lovely decor is medieval in nature, with many special touches, like the beautiful paintings in the "Great Hall," the main room where breakfast and dinner are served. The staff are all extraordinarily friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home while you are there. We stayed in the spacious "Empress Matilda" room, and had a fireplace (didn't use it, since it was July), sofa and two chairs, and a luxurious king-size bed. We also had a tiny balcony with two chairs, which was nice for enjoying the lovely forest setting. The bed linens and towels were all high-quality, everything was very clean and fresh and I definitely felt like a princess in our room in the castle.

We did not see the inside of the cottages that make up the "medieval village" next to the castle, or the gypsy wagons, but we did see one of the "Huntsman's Hollow" cabins, which are new this year, and it was also quite nice.

The castle grounds are well-kept, attractive, and fairly secluded. As others have mentioned, this means there isn't cell or internet service. However, the castle offers a library of books and an extensive collection of board games. Our room did not have a TV (and we didn't miss it at all), our friends' cabin did have a TV set. All of the castle is family-friendly -- there were plenty of kids running around having a wonderful time, and plenty of adults enjoying the ambiance, conversation and the board games.

We had breakfast both mornings of our stay and dinner Saturday night. All of the food was good and plentiful, with the Sunday morning cinnamon rolls being a real standout. We also had lunch and drinks in the basement pub, and this was also good.

All in all, we had a delightful stay. The staff and decor are what makes this place special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Plymouth
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
14.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
18.2 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
18.2 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
48 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Castle

Address: 65666 Bethel Rd, New Plymouth, OH 45654-8936
Region: United States > Ohio > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range: £43 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the woods of scenic Hocking Hills, Ravenwood Castle provides a charming setting with a medieval flair. Whether you are planning a romantic trip for two or a unique getaway for family and friends, Ravenwood Castle makes for an unforgettable destination. Ravenwood offers a wide array of accommodations, from castle guest rooms and Medieval Village cottages to rustic Huntsman's Hollow cabins and Gypsy Wagons. Our guests enjoy dining in the Great Hall and Tea Room, or relaxing with a drink in the Raven's Roost Pub after a day exploring the caves and trails of Hocking Hills. Whether your vacation includes outdoor adventure or simply a relaxing escape from the stresses of everyday life, Ravenwood Castle is your destination. Leave the hassle, come stay in our castle! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Castle Hotel New Plymouth
Ravenwood Castle New Plymouth, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing