We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when at Jogja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Depok
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights there with my wife. First time in Jogja. Hotel is very near to airport (so don't get cheated by cab drivers if they charge you anything more than $10!).

Service was excellent. After checking in, a lady (Sheri) brought us to our room and recommended Ramayana Ballet. She was very sincere in her recommendation and it was not like she got commission. She helped us to call and confirm the booking. We will go pick up the tickets at the counter ourselves. The ballet is definitely recommended. Staff are courteous throughout and room is big and clean.

Hotel is big and grand. You go up a hill just to get to the lobby. Our room looked over the pool which looks like a palace. Breakfast spread is a good mixture of local and the more continental offerings. They provide free shuttle to a few places like Malioboro, Prambanan and airport.

Only downside is location is far away from the centre of the city, so you will need cab to Kraton, for example, but close to airport and Prambanan.

Room Tip: Choose one with view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestReviewer294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review about your stay with us. We would like to thank you for you kind compliments regarding the landscape, service and facilities in our resort. We also happy that one of our staff named Sherry assists you so patiently until she made everything possible for you to enjoy your leisure time in Yogyakarta. Again, it is our pleasure to give you the best service as international 5 stars hotel. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is located near the airport, about 10 mins drive away with free airport transfer. One of the primary consideration of ours when we decided to book a room with their Advance Purchase rate.
Frontline staff knowledgeable and helpful. Property is sprawling, good if you want to spend a day in at a leisure pace. We took a spa package and it was good (plus cheap!). The room is spacious and well-equipped, though the deco is not very modern. Sleep quality was good. We also had breakfast (USD$10) and the spread was great!
However, there are no sights within walking distance of the Hotel and it is 30 mins on their shuttle into the main shopping district in town. And there was smell of (cigarette) smoke from the aircon on our last day of stay.
Will stay again if in Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtgn_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa for your recent stay. It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed all facilities, service and friendly staffs in our resort. Your satisfaction is our goal and we will share your compliment to all team. Our resort was designed with typical of Javanese where we combined beauty and traditional into one so guest not only feel connected with the city but also the culture. However, we also apologize for inconvenience you experience in the last stay, we will re-investigate it and make sure it never happened again in the future. Thank you very much for your kind review and wishing you all the best until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

2000 SPG points for a free night here is an absolute steal for the quality you get. Our room had an amazing view of the pool, which is gorgeous; the breakfast buffet was huge, varied and delicious; and the hotel itself is really lovely.

Our only gripe was that no one knew what time the world-famous temples opened (how is that possible? It isn't like there are 500 attractions in the area that tourists visit...), so we went later than we would have liked, and the car that we hired at the hotel concierge desk to take us to the temples tried to scam us by taking us to a different place to buy the tickets (and we had to tell him, no, we *just* want to go to the temples, thank you).

But that is the fault of the driver/recommended transport service and would not affect people who don't hire their car/driver, so I won't knock the hotel's review for it. You should be careful if you do go that route, though!

Two tips if you're going to see Borobudur and Prambanan: look online and see what time they open, and then disregard whatever the concierge desk tells you. They insisted the temples opened an hour later, and we said no, we saw it online-- they were very convincing, but trust the temple's website instead. And if you do hire a car and driver to take you out to the temples, make sure you are dropped off at the temples and not at some random "craft center."

Room Tip: The rooms right by the elevator on the SPG floor have a beautiful view of the outdoor pool and groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiyojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for detailed feedback and for taking the time to put your thoughts on how you experienced your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and nice experience during your stay at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa. However, we are also apologize to know that you felt inconvenient with the transport service. Furthermore, we are regret knowing that and we will take responsibility for the inconvenience so thing like that never happened again in the future. Despite your experience, I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is really near the airport, so the location is really great. They have friendly staffs and delicious breakfast. Had a good and nice sleep while I was there with my parents. This hotel really has a nice Javanese nuance, and I dont regret the choice of staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashimidress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hello, thank you for your positive comment. I am delighted that your experience was a success. It is our goal to ensure the comfort of our guests. We always want what the best for guest and we will serve the guest better. Besides, our hotel was designed to make the guest feel the real java when visit Yogyakarta. Again, thank you and we hope you will be planning another traveling get-away soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our son was married in Yogyakarta and the guests stayed at the Sheraton Mustika. In fact some of the celebrations took place at the resort. There were three days of celebrations and considering
the number of guests, all were taken care of with great efficiency.
We were certainly impressed by the beautiful Javanese ambience at the resort. The design of all levels looking down at the inner courtyard was unique.
Being a nature lover, the gardens and choice of plants caught my eyes as did the beautifully designed pool. Of course the view of the volcano Merapi was just the added attraction!!
The service at the desk and rooms and in all facilities was excellent. The restaurants catered to all tastes with delicious food always served with a smile.
The gym was adequate with enough cardio machines that nobody had to wait.
My absolute favourite was the spa. Don't miss the pampering of a facial and massage.

A dinner at the poolside was the kick off on the first evening...informal and well set up.
The grand ballroom was chosen as the venue for the supper on the final evening of celebrations. This was the perfect place for this event...certainly room enough for the guests. I must add that the waiters put on a great show ahead of the meal. Everything was just perfect.
I can certainly recommend the Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta as a super place for a wedding celebration.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the volcano were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

How nice and thoughtful of your review about our resort. We will share your feedback with all associates. We are glad to hear that you had such a memorable experience and enjoyed your accommodations at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa. Knowing that you found the service, facilities and location are great and enjoyable is the most things that we really expect. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort anytime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Came as apart of a group meeting. This is the place, I have to say, the one..a hotel for an accommodation and the venue for the event. I love the staff, quite friendly, helpful and warm. Their meeting like has been beautifully set up for a big or small functions we had. I love the way they arranged the place to eat, lunch in their magnificent view Androwino Bistro overlooked Mount Merapi, and coffee break in..or outside, in the hotel atrium, and dinner by the pool..so creative and yet so lovely. The food, local and international were super delicious (you should try their room service menu for local delicacies...great..just great).The hotel very close to airport, and have a frequent scheduled shuttle to Malioboro Street and drop service to Prambanan Temple. They are free of charge..cool. Their service in certain standard, really five star traetment, like everyone deserve for it. I love this hotel, the furbish, with a classic Javanese touch and spacious room with balcony. No wonder why many multinational companies chose this hotel, where also known to be the official hotel for the Miss Universes on their visit to Yogya. A nice, warm and so majestic...that makes me and some of the group member extended one more night, and finally, check out as individually for another night. :)

Room Tip: Volcano View (also overlooks the Pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusykam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We would like to thank you for positive comment that you had given to us. It is our pleasure to serve you better based on 5 stars hotel standard. All facilities and service that we offered are made to make you comfortable, and memorable stay with us. Knowing that you had a satisfy experience, is the most thing that we want to hear from you. We also happy you noticed that our resort is the official hotel for Miss Universe on their visit to Yogyakarta every year. Again thank you for your kind review. Hope we can see you again in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good side of the stay is: they have free airport transportation, which is really good, and they also have free shuttle to the city, which is convienient, good food in restaurent, staff is nice and friendly.

However, I have to point out one unpleasant thing during my stay, when I was in Prambanan temple visiting, I made a phonecall to hotel, I told receptionist I am in Prambanan temple and asked for a hotel car to pick me up, the receptionist said hotel has a car at the Prambanan temple right now, it was very hot and I don't want to miss this car to wait for next one, so I ended up my visit even I am not finished yet, and rushed into the exit to find the car. I waited for a while didn't find the driver and I start to ask the staff and other drivers, to see if anyone know my hotel driver. But I heard the parking staff broadcasting and still can not find my hotel driver. Then the storm came! I was lucky to met some kind guests also stay in Sheraton hotel and they agreed to give us a ride. I have sent email to hotel, but they put this accident to my misunderstanding of the phone conversation, I wish I had recorded the phone conversation and suggest you could record the phone conversation next time.

Except for this accident, other experience is fine, room is old but clean and in good order, have balcony to volcano view.

Room Tip: valcony view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lidong3921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We would like to thank you for feedback that you've given to us regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa. We do apologize for inconvenience caused by our facilities and service did not meet your expectations, but we also feel happy knowing that there are still some aspects you like and enjoy during your stay at our resort. Here, we do really understand what you felt toward that circumstances and to show our serious action, we already discussed it with related department head and we will retrain our associates so issue like this never happened again in the future. We hope you will choose to stay with us and give us a chance to serve you again on your next trip to Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depok
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
4.1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 207 in Yogyakarta
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 207 in Yogyakarta
1,004 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#16 of 207 in Yogyakarta
1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto KM 8.7, Depok, Yogyakarta 55282, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Sleman District > Depok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Depok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Depok
Price Range: £46 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa is offering unbeatable access to the must see attractions in the region, close to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites, and just minutes from International Airport. The night clubs entertainment are just within walking distance as it is in the hotel complex. In their warmly decorated guest rooms and suites, guests will enjoy private balconies and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper(TM) Bed - a nine-layered custom-designed ensemble boasting an exquisitely comfortable, plush mattress, fluffy down hypoallergenic pillows, crisp cotton sheets, cozy blanket and signature blanket and duvet. Hotel guests will enjoy dazzling views of the garden, pool, and mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Sheraton Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing