We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to Stay, but be patient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Depok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Yogjakarta is a booming place, and a city that is relatively easy to move around. We stayed at the Plaza Hotel and found it a bit 'hidden-in-the-city'. It is nicely decorated in Indonesian style (Yogja-style), but poorly maintained. I am sure that the same space in hands of people with a creative-global spirit would look extremely attractive. WIth an international management the effectiveness and efficiency of service would increase tremendously.

The food was good. For veggies they could quickly improvize and make us happy. Excellent job!

Internet service: available, but you got to pay for it!

For all other services, people were too slow. We had booked a suite, and although we arrived with some delay (caused by Lion Air!) we still had to wait for more than one hour before we could enter into the suite. No body communicated with us, but we were getting their smiles. Room-service takes long time.

The suite was spatial, but carpets were a bit old, and not all amenities were functioining well. Two phones, but only one worked well. A old TV.

The spa: an extensive menu, but no availability of staff and therefore little chance to get an appointment. I managed to get an appointment for a manicure/pedicure, but the two ladies working on me were smiling amateurs!

Overall, a hotel with great potentials, but price/quality wise good to stay for a few days for business and for holidays.

Room Tip: Ensure written communications and availability of room and food preferences.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Hotel was only two-storey and it adapted the Yogya Joglo house. A porter readily came to take our baggage upstairs upon arrival. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. There was a welcome drink at the bar by the swimming pool. The hotel is a bit far from the city center (Malioboro Street), but the hotel provides one-way drop off service at 6pm to Malioboro street. There was not much to see around the hotel itself. A long walk to the north (that is turning right from the main entrance) there was some small restaurants and a convenient store called TOKO Merah (Red Store). A short walk towards west past the Islamic University found more restaurants and a famous satay house called Sate Samirono - with live band.

The swimming pool was big and clean. There was also a gym and a spa, but we didn't try those.

The breakfast was rich with variety. From western selection to traditional Javanese selection. There was even Jamu (Javanese herbal drink) provided - beras kencur and kunyit asam. The Rawon (dark beef soup) was one of the best - that's a 5-star Rawon. There was a Javanese live music entertainment during breakfast and at night. The breakfast live music was played with a traditional music instrument, no microphone needed as the architectural structure of the hotel enhanced the audio. The night entertainment is a mixed of traditional and modern, whichever is on schedule.

There was a great Maduran satay by the street at the other gate of the hotel. Thanks to the information give by the man at the travel agent on the ground floor. He provided us with lots of information of good food around.

Room Tip: Our room faces the main street, but it was not noisy at all
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel was owned by three different companys and They did not update anything since 15 years. I payed eur. 100 per night in a doppelroom and it's too much for that quality. Then they are playing some indonesian musik on the floor, you can hear it in the hotelroom too and it gives a good feeling the first two ours but after four days It was enough :)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usernavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed on this fotel for 3 nights with my family. I booked 2 rooms with connecting door. Basically this hotel is good, clean and have a big room. There are some facilities such as gym, spa, swimming poll and others, but unfortunatelly outdoor facility (eg. tennis court and others) is under renovated.
Please take notice for this hotel, no elevators to up or down stair. Therefore is quite make difficulties for older or handicapped person.
Hotel location is quite far from central city, but there is taxi counter service available that you can order for taxi meter with the ordinary price. The nearest good and completely enough shopping mall (Ambarukmo Plaza) can get to by meter taxi less than IDR 15000 or you only pay about IDR 20.000 to go to Beringharjo on Malioboro street. As overall this is a good hotel and I can enjoy for stayed on this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barliansyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Not much to say. Good average hotel. The service was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We are coming to the end of our 5 D/ 4 N stay in Jogja ( our 2nd visit since 2008)
Our stay at the Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel was a very pleasant one. The Hotel Personel
(from the front office to the room service) were all really very very helpful and always had a ready smile. The rooms very very well kept, the food was good and clean.

Though it is not in the center of the city (near the famous Maliboro Street), taxi services was plentiful and it only cost USD 3 for a one way trip to Maliboro Street. The cab drivers are equally pleasant and helpful.

I plan to return in June 2011 and will very serciously consider staying here again.
Look out for the Front Office Assistasnt Manager Betty, who is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

It's our second time staying here,our coming back to this hotel due to the very good service provided by the hotel,The professionality of the staffs,Overall...The Javanese Hospitality&The beauty of the hotel,which is rich of traditional javanese style in every angle.
The traditional javanese live music is performed at the lobby almost every evening & the modern one as well.
Talking about the room,it is well-equiped&nicely furnished, the bathroom is lovely.
The hotel got all the facilities we need, as spacious swimming pool,such beautiful garden,tennis court&excellent fitness center.
And i've got only one sentence to say, about the breakfast : What a delicious rich breakfast! The javanese traditional herbal drink is a big big plus, it's a very healthy drink, i love it!
Last but not least,
Here is the place where we can enjoy the vacation&feel the truly java sensation!
Best regards to all of the staffs, Noi amiamo questo hotel, Buona fortuna a tutti! Forza!
Heny & Alessandro

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adorable_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depok
0.9 mi away
Novotel Yogyakarta
Novotel Yogyakarta
#21 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,030 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
956 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Tjokro Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,081 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Affandi, Gejayan | Complex Colombo, Depok, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Sleman District > Depok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Depok
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel is a unique International resort-styled hotel located in the city's university district. You will discover how the harmony between our distinctive low rise Javanese styled architecture combines with our warm hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing