We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Booking.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$37
View deal
Hotels.comUS$44
PricelineUS$45
TravelocityUS$44
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
142
215
53
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
215
53
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business trip university jogjakarta culture taste malioboro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times but just decided to put a review after my recent holiday trip. They period was close to year end, hotel was quite full. Check-in was a breeze as usual, guess because they have my name recorded. There is a renovation going (from 8AM to 5PM) on but they informed us upon check in so it's not really a matter as we toured right after breakfast and back by the time the work finished. Room size is little too small comparing to other 4* hotel. Breakfast was better than expected, guess they added more items and options including having a traditional food corner which is a good idea!

The housekeeping was also efficient, I called them asking for extra hand towel, saucer and cup and within minutes they were knocking on my door, well possibly because my room is located close enough to the lobby :) :)

There are new hotels coming up in town so they must really keep up the services as well as upgrading the facilities to win the hearts of their customers.

They have their new SPA, looks great but I did not have chance to try it, next time perhaps.

The location is a little set back but taxi is quite easy.

Will be stay here again, surely :)

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kongco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel during our visit to Jogjakarta city and temples around.
The hotel prooved to have very pleasant and clean rooms, a nice pool and a touch of colonial times environment.
The staff was also always helpful and friendly.
The only downside we experienced was an high WiFi internet rate (they asked us for 50,000Rp - about 4.00€ or $5US for 2-hour access). In a country where we found free WiFi everywhere, from bars to cafes and hotels, this rate was difficult to understand...

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmlousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel's main clientele is large tour groups, which stay for one or two nights, and Indonesian businessmen. The location is near a few universities, but not near any commercial area of interest to tourists or any of the tourist sites in the region. Taxis are cheap and fairly plentiful, so you can get to wherever you want -- but not by foot.

Staff are friendly and try to be helpful, but quality control seems to be lacking. Internet access in guest rooms is often problematic. When there are large tour groups, the restaurant staff is unable to keep the breakfast buffet stocked. The kitchen regularly runs out of or forgets to put out condiments that are daily staples. Our shower drain could not handle the water from a normal shower, so we had to turn off the water frequently during showering. One of the electrical sockets in our room did not work.

The breakfast buffet is large, but oriented toward a local clientele; most foods contain sugar, and chocolate sprinkles are popular. For lunch and dinner, Nana Mia Pizzeria, a short walk from the hotel, seems to be the best nearby option. It is actually quite good for pizza and salad, and attractively priced, though it is more expensive than most local eating places ("warungs").

Exercise facilities are great. There is a large, pleasant outdoor swimming pool and a new gym with modern equipment. The pool is significantly less pleasant than it would otherwise be because the patio area is full of bird droppings -- on the patio, reclining chairs, and even the tables.

Rooms are comfortable, and have large TVs with a good range of channels.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenTLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Service and Experienced

This is a long overdue review, but we really want to express our wonderful stay in the Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel.

The main reason we always choose and stay for a long period in this hotel is the people. This hotel has excellent service and very friendly staff--very genuine. We live and travel all over the world and it’s very rare to find this kind of hospitality. It's always nice to be home in Jogjakarta, to speak our language, and to spend time with nice people.

Besides the service, and the location, the facilities and cleanliness are also beyond expectations. It's an amazing place for our daughter to learn and to experience Indonesian culture, people, and have a great vacation.

We have been staying at the Jogjakarta Plaza hotel a number of times, and I must say that each time we have stayed there it has been a new and refreshing experience!!! The hotel has one of the best staff we have ever seen, friendly, welcoming, helpful, and very polite. On a number of occasions while dining in the restaurant, we have had a number of great conversations, with the waiters and waitresses that were all smiles. The service in this hotel is definitely worth 5 stars.
The Room

We’ve been staying in different rooms while visiting Jogjakarta including the new ones. During our last vacation, we stayed in the Executive Suite Room 122 for 10 nights (July 20 to August 5, 2012) and it was wonderful. We had no problems with our room during our stay and all I can say is that it was very comfortable. The room was very spacious consisting of a large living room with one big flat screen TV, a bedroom with a wonderful view of the pool plus another big flat screen TV, and a huge bathroom with a bath and a very nice shower. The most important thing for us is that the room not only has good amenities, but it is also very quiet. We were able to rest in the room and read books in the living room. In the bedroom, our daughter would lounge on the bed while watching movies. It’s perfect! We had to drag our daughter out of the room just to go somewhere!

The Location

One of the reasons we always choose this hotel for a long vacation is the location. From the hotel, it’s very easy to tour Borobudur, Romo Mangunwijaya’s famous architectures, Affandi, and other museums. We also visited the Gadjah Mada and other universities, and had time to shop for nice batiks in Malioboro. Close by we were able to see quaint, little, bookstores, interesting gift shops in Ambarukmo Plaza Mall, and several other malls. Or you are even able to buy gifts in the traditional central markets around Jogjakarta. This hotel is also within reasonable distance from very yummy, clean, and cheap Indonesian food restaurants such as Nasi Gudeg, Padang food, etc… We are also able to drive to the Jogjakarta Airport without getting stuck in traffic!

The Amenities

There is no question that this hotel has an excellent sport facility. The swimming pool is our favorite place to relax, it has a rectangular design, and is big enough for many people to swim in, and long enough to do laps. We like to swim in the morning, which is when the pool is empty, and is very quiet. We also like to use the gym, the basketball court and the Spa. The Spa, for a person who wants to get away from it all, has many different massages, body scrubs, and of course cream baths to choose from. (My recommendation is the cream bath!)

Our favorite place is sitting in the lobby which is comfortable, and relaxing. It’s nice to be able to sit in the restaurant and see the view of the very Javanese lobby. It’s just beautiful and it makes us feel at home.

This hotel has character, and is also perfect for us. We like the fact that the guests are mixed with both foreigners and locals. It is very interesting because this hotel hosts a majority of people from all over the world.

The Food

The food in the hotel is also very yummy! The breakfast buffet was something to look forward to every morning which included Western style foods, but also a lot of great Indonesian delicacies with healthy choices! It also had a wide range of bread, and desserts, and a great amount of fresh fruits.

Liked Best

People, non-smoking room, breakfast, swimming pool, Lobby--very homey, indoor anad outdoor sport and recreation facilities, Gym area and price.

Liked Least

When we had to leave. It was very hard to say goodbye.

Room tip: Suittes room is large, bright and quiet.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margareta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was on vacation with my family and my brother's family for 3 nights. Good price if we compared with other similar hotels. The room was clean and nice, so is the bathroom. Hotel facilities also complete and in good condition. There were live gamelan and music in lobby. Tennis court and for Rp. 20.000 you can rent a can of balls. There was free drop service to Malioboro at 10 am and 1 pm. Spa and massage are quite expensive and too short for the price offered. I love nasi goreng selimut in this hotel, also soto betawi even though for 4 days stay only once served at breakfast.
Unfortunately when we returned from a day's sightseeing, no massage service over 10 pm. Likewise with our car dirty unwashed for 4 days. I think the hotel should be able to figure this out.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and will stay again someday.

Room tip: The west side facing the street, east side facing tennis court and gym, middle side facing pool.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ris_1_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews