We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omkara Resort(Ngaglik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
DOM Hotel Jogja(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
17
18
16
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
18
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount merapibig familyno hot waternice place to stayrelaxation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We went there with kids, it is nice hotel for the price you paid
But we couldnt do much as we are on family trip
If you stay here with yr spouse then this is the place
Quite and romantic and far from anywhere and anything which this was our problem
We (kids) had nothing to do but bicycling around the villa
The pool in our room is too deep for them to swim

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiahNirwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had to make a quick trip to Yogyakarta and tried to get rooms on Agoda. I came across this hotel and thought hmmm... what I did was book on the hotel website itself! It was much cheaper! It could be because Mount Merapi was next door... hence I was one of the two guests in the hotel, But you know what? It was a wonderful place to be. I was busy the whole day with work, and came back to paradise!

Room Tip: Simple: email the manager Mr Ruby. He's very helpful!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinazaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Maya Villa for two nights in early of April 2012. If you are looking for superb relaxing from busy city life..this is the place to stay. Top guest privacy with excellent service ! The villa even provided a golf cart for us to drive up to the club. We were surprised the swimming pool just in front of our room. Nice view of Mount. Merapi from the pool in the morning. SPA facility was also provided in the room and the cleanliness was acceptable. The breakfast and meals provided in the villa was alright and we love the Ayam Bakar very much. You may also ask the driver to stop at the roadside to get some 'Salak Pondoh', a sweet and unique local fruit. However, the location was a bit remote and difficult to get a restaurant nearby. You may join the Lava Tour but nothing much. Overall, it was a good experience to stay there and appreciated the service by the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yeo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Courtesy pick up from airport, approx. 45 mins drive to resort through some villages. Promising start, nice welcome, pleasant staff, smooth check in process. The spa looks really nice but sadly "no staff, they only work in the morning and you need to book in advance".  Villa is nice, spacious and reasonably well furnished. The 'personal butler' appeared with tea (not ordered) and then vanished, never to be seen again during our 2 night stay. TV wasn't working but engineer resolved that fairly quickly. Ordering room service isn't easy if you can only speak English and the dinner menu is pretty basic. Breakfast was OK, reasonable menu and nicely served. The resort 'ran out' of hot water at 9pm though, the engineer came to investigate and said "if you give me some money I can fix this", at almost $300 per night, you really don't expect to have to bribe the staff to get hot water in your shower!
Overall, when it was built, this place was probably really nice but like so many resorts here, a lack of basic maintenance/cleaning and those managing & running the place with no grasp of what 5 star service is (as they promise/claim to provide) and it's now all a bit disappointing for what you pay/expect. Half the price and this would be a great place, but 5 star with personal butler it certainly isn't. We stayed at a holiday weekend but the place was almost empty. Cannot imagine how the owners are making money, maybe they should come and see how the place is being run. Must give credit to the ground staff, the gardens are beautiful - the room maintenance team need to learn from the gardeners.
Location is fabulous to visit Merapi but it's a good 45-60 mins drive to Jogjakarta town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TaipeiFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We booked a room at Cangkringan Jogya Villas and Spas despite the mediocre reviews. We knew the hotel was located a good 30 minutes outside of Jogya and thought it would be nice to stay in a place with nice ambiance and relax on the grounds for the weekend. We rented one of the smaller villas with a shared pool area and shared outdoor living room area. The rooms and hotel grounds have a lot of potential and if well run could be really charming. Unfortunately, the hotel is poorly managed and this contributed to a disappointing stay which we did not enjoy.

Before arriving we wrote to the hotel to ask for information about a guided hike to Merapi. They told us it was not possible. I then found information online about Vogels Hostel and their hike, lead by Christian (highly recommend) and then asked the hotel to help me book a driver. At that point they opened a book with a large list of guides, including Christian's name and information on the Vogel Hostel hike, to call him and ask him how long it would take to get to his hostel. They had his information the whole time but told us that they didn't know any guides.

The resort was almost empty with only two or three other groups of guests when we were there. The rooms are well designed, but have become somewhat run down. The bathrooms were not well cleaned. The couches in the rooms are worn, some with wholes or cigarette burns, which could be easily recovered or replaced in Indonesia for a relatively low cost. We went down to the shared living room area and were relaxing on the outdoor furniture when another family staying at the resort approached us to say they were told it was their exclusive living room area and would we mind moving to the other area. They had talked to the hotel staff before approaching us to be certain it was for their exclusive use. There was a second shared area for the living room so we didn't mind moving to that, but I was sure that the two areas were clearly described as shared on the website. I looked up the description of our villa outdoor areas online and on the hotel's printed brochure and they clearly stated shared. The second living room area did not have cushions on the outdoor rattan-style couches, so we asked (in Bahasa Indonesia) for pillows to be put our so we would have somewhere to sit. The staff told us there were no pillows even though the couches were not meant to be used without pillows. This made no sense. After much back and forth, we asked for a supervisor, who told us there were no pillows and we would have to speak to another manager. After about 20 minutes of demanding assistance, and speaking to three levels of management, they went over to the area the other family had been using (they had temporarily left) and took their pillows and moved them to our coucesh. When we asked what the other family would say when they returned, the hotel staff eventually unlocked a storage room next to the couches and took out the spare pillows. At this point we were upset and angry, all we wanted was to relax and we were now stressed and frustrated. We also asked why they had told the other family and us the other living room section was private when it was not, and the hotel finally agreed that it was shared but they had not wanted to admit that to the other family to whom they had misrepresented the area.

Overall, the hotel grounds could be nice, but are not well maintained, rooms are not kept to an acceptable level of cleanliness, furniture is worn and dated, and service is terrible. We paid a discounted online rate that was still well over $100 US a night. For that price in Indonesia you should be receiving high quality service and accommodations. I will never stay at this hotel again and recommend other travelers avoid it.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews