We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise!”
Review of Yew Tree Barn

Yew Tree Barn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Huge Lake District Barn, home to Architectural Antiques, Salvage & Reclamation, Art & Craft Galleries, Garden Furniture & Statuary, Furniture Restorer, Bespokers Forge Blacksmith, Local Wool specialist, Bookbinding Studio, and Harry's Cafe Bar
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a lovely place to visit. Start with a coffee in their cosy coffee shop (with real fire) and have a good look round at all the crafts and gifts. There is absolutely loads to see and then back to the coffee shop for lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GMDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Really glad you enjoyed everything! We were pleased to meet you you and have a chat, it's a shame you couldn't stay for afternoon tea as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    22
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,177 reviews
554 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,212 helpful votes
“An Aladdin's Cave...”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I love browsing through the eclectic mix of doors, statues and ironmongery at Yew Tree Barn. The business is centred around architectural salvage, but offers so much more, including high quality lifestyle products, crafts and antiques. There is an excellent tea room too. The barn has been beautifully transformed by the owners, who are always on hand and is a genuine Aladdin's Cave. There is something for everyone and the setting is spectacular. Whilst there is a large outside display, there are two floors to explore inside making this a good "wet weather" attraction. Convenient for anyone staying in the South Lakes looking for something a little different. Ample parking adjacent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments! So pleased you enjoyed Yew Tree Barn with all it's different sections, WRS Architectural Antiques, Galleries and Harry's Cafe Bar; we try to offer good products and service, so hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and strange collection”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you want anything from an old stripped pine door, or a 2 ton stone dragon you can pretty much find it here. The building itself is interesting to wander round in itself, and the iron work made on site at the forge is top notch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ummagumma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit. Bespokers Forge, run by John Law, is quite a new addition to YTB, and we're delighted to welcome him on board. His work is fantastic, and everyone loves seeing the traditional craft. (NB, John doesn't work every day, please ring to check)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had read all the website reviews about this place so made a special detour to visit it. Unless you want reclamation items, or you're furnishing a large house and need period (or large) pieces of furniture, or have a large garden you want "objects" for, there isn't a lot to see. We bought a tea towel and left!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaperStoneScissors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
I'm so sorry you were disappointed. Most of our visitors are amazed at the breadth and variety of things to see when they come to see us and often return to make more time to fully appreciate what's on offer. It's difficult to convey the eclectic nature of Yew Tree Barn, and we certainly try to e very honest in our description of the barn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fascinating place to visit - something for everyone, and great food too”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Yew Tree Barn houses a variety of businesses, and it's easy to find yourself spending several hours there, very happily. The reclamation side is an absolute treasure trove of old artefacts, bathroom fittings, antique furniture, pulpits, urns, beams etc etc - there's always something I want to take home. The Gallery is the perfect hunting ground for gifts, original artwork, jewellery, greetings cards, locally produced toiletries, Abbey Horn, etc. - I always find the perfect present, and they are so helpful if I get stuck for ideas. There is an amazing ironmongery department, wood burning stoves for sale, Gary Eccles beautifully restored furniture, Harry's Cafe and Bar (see separate review), a selection of the best locally produced beers, and - last but not least - Pip, the "Patterjack" terrier, in her basket (ask about her TV appearance!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CATE D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yew Tree Barn also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 

Been to Yew Tree Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing