We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place!”
Review of Yew Tree Barn

Yew Tree Barn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Huge Lake District Barn, home to Architectural Antiques, Salvage & Reclamation, Art & Craft Galleries, Garden Furniture & Statuary, Furniture Restorer, Bespokers Forge Blacksmith, Local Wool specialist, Bookbinding Studio, and Harry's Cafe Bar for delicious home cooked food.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Gorgeous food, particularly the wonderfully chewy homemade meringues, gorgeous caramel lattes, gorgeous rarebit and homemade soups, gorgeous and friendly staff, gorgeous setting. An altogether fantastic place to spend real quality time with family and friends. Thank you for always looking after us! Long may the meringues, rarebit and caramel lattes continue!

1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much Sarah! We always look after our regular and occasional visitors as well as possible and offer the kind of service and food that we enjoy when we're out and about. Glad you enjoy some of our regular tasty dishes (especially the chewy meringues!) and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Where to start? Well, the coffee is excellent, and the cafe seems to be used as much by local people as by tourists (always a good sign!) The architectural salvage, antiques, gifts, crafts, art, jam and much else on offer here makes it a wondrous place to spend an hour or two, whether you are just passing or looking for a destination outing. Not to be missed (although the main road bypasses it) and gets better every time I visit.

1  Thank JaneWard1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for reviewing Yew Tree Barn, and glad you enjoyed Harry's Cafe Bar. We agree that pleasing locals is very important, and we have many lovely regulars! We're constantly evolving and improving everything, pleased you like the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Called on the way back to the hotel up the road where we were staying as it was pouring down. Lovely quirky place with modern and antique. Bought a lovely candle and could have spent a fortune if i'd had more money! REcommend the coffee shop and especially the chocolate brownie!

Thank izzy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you Izzy, glad you enjoyed your coffee and brownie so much! We took great care choosing our coffee supplier, and Alyson and her cafe team do a great job. You're welcome to come and spend a fortune anytime! Do visit us again when you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This place has a lot of everything. The coffee shop is lovely for a cosy lunch by the fire on a cold day or outside on a sunny day and the scones are home hade on the premises. I can recommend the Smoked Haddock Chowder.
There are lots of things to get inspiration from for interiors or exteriors and the staff are knowledgeable and genuinely pleased to answer questions and help you get just the right thing. I enjoyed the blacksmith's shop and talking to the other craftspeople dotted about the place.
Worth going for a coffee and a mooch around and its in a lovely setting.

Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This really is a cave full of all sorts! If I was buying a house then this place would be on top of my list to come to in seeing what I could find! It was interesting to walk around and I saw some really nice items. The problem was that it lacks the finesse of organization, it's organised in sections of crafts,food,Wood,iron etc but then resembles a jumble. Really needs expert visual merchandising help! But if you love those Aladdin cave places then this is worth a stop. If you like your selfridges structured organization then move on!!

1  Thank rob148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, Owner at Yew Tree Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thanks for the positive remarks in your review Rob, and if ever you're doing up a house please pay us another visit in person or online. (We deliver to Aberdeen too!). We do try to offer our customers a wide variety of quality goods in the various areas of our offerings, along with excellent service. Display/merchandising to a high standard is something we strive for, but you're right, we don't have the expertise of Selfridges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yew Tree Barn also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Yew Tree Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing