We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star fox”
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ryton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Fox Inn is a traditional village pub set in the small village of Ryton, overlooking the Stretton Hills.We use local and fresh produce to achieve a high standard of quality and presentation.All our meat is British and GM free, fresh fish comes from Birmingham fish market. we are happy to cater for special dietary requirements. We are a free house offering a range of cask ales, many of them local.We serve a superb Sunday lunch which includes a choice of locally sourced roasts and a selection of traditional fish and vegetarian dishes. 1 Course £8.95, 2 Courses £10.95, 3 Courses £12.95Under 12’s1 Course £6.50, 2 Courses £8.50, 3 Courses £10.50If you require a lighter bite our lunch menu is also available in the bar or enjoy the view from the patio.We have a lighter lunch menu and Over 60's Menu onTuesday – Friday lunch times £7.00 main course, £8.00 2 courses, £9.00 3 courses.Special Board(Lunch and Evenings)Monday – Thursday 2 Courses for just £10.00Buffets and outside catering From an intimate meal to a larger buffet in our restaurant or a marquee in the grounds, we are happy to advise you with all your requirements.We can also cater for an event at a venue of your choice.Please give us a call to discuss our buffet menus.Weddings, Christenings, Birthdays, Funerals.If it’s your special occasion, it’s our special occasionLook out for our deli Shropshire Produce range in local cafés, petrol stations, post offices and supermarkets featuring sausage rolls, scotch eggs, pasties, home-made cakes, sandwiches and pasta pots.We also offer a popular take away menu.Collection 7pm – 9pmTelephone orders welcome.All our menus are produced in our 5 Star catering kitchen using quality ingredientsTry your luck at our fortnightly Wednesday quizFrom 8.30pmOnly £1.00ppCome and join the fun!Do you require a venue to hold your business meeting or a member of a club and looking for a regular venue to meet?Give us a call to discuss your requirementsDetails of all events and menus can be found on our website.
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great little pub in a lovely location. We enjoyed a really good visit! Friendly welcome & fantastic service! When asking for for my tomato & chilli risotto to be given even more of a kick, it was no problem & the food was excellent. Recommended!!!

2  Thank cheadle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this complementary review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and the customised tomato risotto!
Hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

After enjoying a bike ride of the local shropshire hills, a friend and I have just finished our meal at The Fox Inn, and it was delicious. I had the beer battered fish and chips and it was cooked to perfection and served quickly. Easily the best fish and chips I have ever had. It was topped off with a very naughty but nice homemade sticky toffee pudding. Fantastic friendly atmosphere on a sunday evening, where the owners make the experience of The Fox 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals, especially our famous fish and chips and our sticky toffee pudding!
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I ran a camp for my riding club at a local equestrian centre and they suggested we use the Fox Inn to provide a takeaway dinner for the 19 of us in the evening. the provided the full menu plus a special take away menu, i communicated what we wanted by mail and we picked up at an agreed time. Food as lovely, still warm as packed in appropriate take away and we all throughly enjoyed it

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this complementary review.
We are pleased that you all enjoyed your take aways and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed in Ryton for our holiday and after not visiting the area for 3 years it was great to be able to return to the Fox. You are spoilt for choice with the menu we ate there every evening for the week such a choice! Staff and owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble and the restaurant has lovely views. We would recommend the Fox and hope to be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you both for taking the time to write this complimentary review, it was lovely to see you back in Shropshire and welcome you at the Fox again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

good meal in friendly pub with great views
towards the streeton hills.
prices very reasonable
very good thanks

1  Thank steven i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Pulverbatch, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing