We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ryton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Fox Inn is a traditional village pub set in the small village of Ryton, overlooking the Stretton Hills.We use local and fresh produce to achieve a high standard of quality and presentation.All our meat is British and GM free, fresh fish comes from Birmingham fish market. we are happy to cater for special dietary requirements. We are a free house offering a range of cask ales, many of them local.We serve a superb Sunday lunch which includes a choice of locally sourced roasts and a selection of traditional fish and vegetarian dishes. 1 Course £8.95, 2 Courses £10.95, 3 Courses £12.95Under 12’s1 Course £6.50, 2 Courses £8.50, 3 Courses £10.50If you require a lighter bite our lunch menu is also available in the bar or enjoy the view from the patio.We have a lighter lunch menu and Over 60's Menu onTuesday – Friday lunch times £7.00 main course, £8.00 2 courses, £9.00 3 courses.Special Board(Lunch and Evenings)Monday – Thursday 2 Courses for just £10.00Buffets and outside catering From an intimate meal to a larger buffet in our restaurant or a marquee in the grounds, we are happy to advise you with all your requirements.We can also cater for an event at a venue of your choice.Please give us a call to discuss our buffet menus.Weddings, Christenings, Birthdays, Funerals.If it’s your special occasion, it’s our special occasionLook out for our deli Shropshire Produce range in local cafés, petrol stations, post offices and supermarkets featuring sausage rolls, scotch eggs, pasties, home-made cakes, sandwiches and pasta pots.We also offer a popular take away menu.Collection 7pm – 9pmTelephone orders welcome.All our menus are produced in our 5 Star catering kitchen using quality ingredientsTry your luck at our fortnightly Wednesday quizFrom 8.30pmOnly £1.00ppCome and join the fun!Do you require a venue to hold your business meeting or a member of a club and looking for a regular venue to meet?Give us a call to discuss your requirementsDetails of all events and menus can be found on our website.
Reviewed 22 November 2014

On a very wet evening we did not want to travel far to eat and so decided to try the Fox Inn as we were staying next door and we were not disappointed. We were very warmly welcomed and the fire was lit to ensure we warmed up after our damp walk to the Inn. As a vegetarian I can sometimes struggle to find menu choices that appeal, this was not a problem here. I had the field mushroom as a starter and the vegetarian platter as a main. Both were delicious and not the run of the mill veggie food you can be so often be confronted with. My husband enjoyed the skewered prawns and the scampi and mushrooms. After declining a dessert, I was tempted into having the waffle with cherries, well worth the temptation.
The service was very friendly and attentive, many eateries could learn some valuable customer service lessons here.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kate_St_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this very complimentary review about The Fox, our staff and the food.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Shropshire and that you will come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2014

Our walking group called for lunch. We were made welcome and the woodburner was cheerful on a wet day. We had a complecated selection of meals, all of which were correctly produced. The quality of the food was good. It was an enjoyable lunch. We were surprised to be told, when the bill was presented, that the prices on the menu were incorrect and some had increased by approx a pound. The new menu was at the printers! We paid the new prices but we would have paid more willingly had we been told the situation at the start of the meal.

Date of visit: November 2014
Thank JJ6465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It was a pleasure to welcome your large group and all your well behaved dogs.

We apologise that our menus have been unexpectedly delayed at the printers, hence why our prices are different on our till and it was an oversight on our part not to mention this after you unexpectedly decided to stay for lunch. We were catering for a wedding reception that afternoon and it had obviously slipped our mind until we mentioned it before you were given your bill.

We are pleased that you all enjoyed your meals and hope you enjoyed your stay in Shropshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

We live around 20 minutes drive from here.
We were made to feel welcome straight away. They serve between 12-3pm on a Sunday. We ate in the bar and it wasn't very busy at all so the staff were very attentive and nothing was to much trouble. The menu didnt have the greatest choice ive seen but the food was good.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank smudge198625_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Visited Saturday evening 11th October. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very obliging. Great food and atmosphere plus our dog was made welcome as well. Nice to see traditional standards are still going strong. Will definitely visit again. 10/10.

Date of visit: October 2014
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this complimentary review about The Fox and our staff.
We look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Good value for money. Locals very friendly. Seating outside.
Lovely views. For us less than 5 minutes walk from where we were staying.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this complementary review and visiting us at The Fox.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will come and see us again if you return to Shropshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

 
Halfway House, Shrewsbury
Pulverbatch, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing