We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegan options”
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ryton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Fox Inn is a traditional village pub set in the small village of Ryton, overlooking the Stretton Hills.We use local and fresh produce to achieve a high standard of quality and presentation.All our meat is British and GM free, fresh fish comes from Birmingham fish market. we are happy to cater for special dietary requirements. We are a free house offering a range of cask ales, many of them local.We serve a superb Sunday lunch which includes a choice of locally sourced roasts and a selection of traditional fish and vegetarian dishes. 1 Course £8.95, 2 Courses £10.95, 3 Courses £12.95Under 12’s1 Course £6.50, 2 Courses £8.50, 3 Courses £10.50If you require a lighter bite our lunch menu is also available in the bar or enjoy the view from the patio.We have a lighter lunch menu and Over 60's Menu onTuesday – Friday lunch times £7.00 main course, £8.00 2 courses, £9.00 3 courses.Special Board(Lunch and Evenings)Monday – Thursday 2 Courses for just £10.00Buffets and outside catering From an intimate meal to a larger buffet in our restaurant or a marquee in the grounds, we are happy to advise you with all your requirements.We can also cater for an event at a venue of your choice.Please give us a call to discuss our buffet menus.Weddings, Christenings, Birthdays, Funerals.If it’s your special occasion, it’s our special occasionLook out for our deli Shropshire Produce range in local cafés, petrol stations, post offices and supermarkets featuring sausage rolls, scotch eggs, pasties, home-made cakes, sandwiches and pasta pots.We also offer a popular take away menu.Collection 7pm – 9pmTelephone orders welcome.All our menus are produced in our 5 Star catering kitchen using quality ingredientsTry your luck at our fortnightly Wednesday quizFrom 8.30pmOnly £1.00ppCome and join the fun!Do you require a venue to hold your business meeting or a member of a club and looking for a regular venue to meet?Give us a call to discuss your requirementsDetails of all events and menus can be found on our website.
Reviewed 21 July 2017

My partner and I were on holiday at nearby Pigeon Door and the Fox Inn is a pleasant 25 minute stroll away. I am vegan and had sent an email in advance to see if any vegan options would be available. I was delighted when Sue replied attaching an entire menu of vegan options for me to choose from! All my emails were responded to promptly, and on the night we visited, everyone we met was so friendly and the food was great - My vegetarian partner really enjoyed his meal too. All in all, a lovely evening.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gillian1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
It was no problem to send you a vegan menu and thank you for pre ordering.
We are glad that you both enjoyed your visit to The Fox Inn and hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We went here as a party of 8 . The food was served hot. All three courses were excellent . The service was brilliant . The staff were all very welcoming and very hospitable. Great value for money . A good British pub at its best .

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Janedales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
Pleased you all enjoyed the Birthday lunch and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

The day could not have been better in this lovely country pub Sue and John organised the food (which was plentiful and excellent) decorations flowers and alcohol without a hitch they were just brilliant.
Thank you so much

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank jeanjrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for writing this lovely review and holding your special celebration at The Fox Inn, It was a great day.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Not as advertised on their website, which makes it look and sound a lovely country pub for a drink and a meal

Date of visit: May 2017
2  Thank DerbyBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to The Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Visted on the way home from a rather wet weekend in Wales. I looked on TripAdvisor for a pub not far from retail park at Shrewsbury. We like independent pubs rather than chain's.
I liked the look of the Fox so I rang ahead to book, the lady who answered the phone was really friendly and helpful.
When we arrived we were greeted with a very nice welcome. The food was really tasty and it was good that there were choices other than the normal Sunday roast.
Puddings homemade and very high standard. I would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: May 2017
5  Thank Rivington53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Fox.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

 
Halfway House, Shrewsbury
Pulverbatch, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing