We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and welcome”
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ryton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Fox Inn is a traditional village pub set in the small village of Ryton, overlooking the Stretton Hills.We use local and fresh produce to achieve a high standard of quality and presentation.All our meat is British and GM free, fresh fish comes from Birmingham fish market. we are happy to cater for special dietary requirements. We are a free house offering a range of cask ales, many of them local.We serve a superb Sunday lunch which includes a choice of locally sourced roasts and a selection of traditional fish and vegetarian dishes. 1 Course £8.95, 2 Courses £10.95, 3 Courses £12.95Under 12’s1 Course £6.50, 2 Courses £8.50, 3 Courses £10.50If you require a lighter bite our lunch menu is also available in the bar or enjoy the view from the patio.We have a lighter lunch menu and Over 60's Menu onTuesday – Friday lunch times £7.00 main course, £8.00 2 courses, £9.00 3 courses.Special Board(Lunch and Evenings)Monday – Thursday 2 Courses for just £10.00Buffets and outside catering From an intimate meal to a larger buffet in our restaurant or a marquee in the grounds, we are happy to advise you with all your requirements.We can also cater for an event at a venue of your choice.Please give us a call to discuss our buffet menus.Weddings, Christenings, Birthdays, Funerals.If it’s your special occasion, it’s our special occasionLook out for our deli Shropshire Produce range in local cafés, petrol stations, post offices and supermarkets featuring sausage rolls, scotch eggs, pasties, home-made cakes, sandwiches and pasta pots.We also offer a popular take away menu.Collection 7pm – 9pmTelephone orders welcome.All our menus are produced in our 5 Star catering kitchen using quality ingredientsTry your luck at our fortnightly Wednesday quizFrom 8.30pmOnly £1.00ppCome and join the fun!Do you require a venue to hold your business meeting or a member of a club and looking for a regular venue to meet?Give us a call to discuss your requirementsDetails of all events and menus can be found on our website.
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We were staying nearby and booked in for Saturday night . On a cold and frosty night we were made to feel very welcome and led to our table in the warm and cosy restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was faultless, there was also plenty of choice to suit all tastes.The staff were very friendly and highly efficient. Had we been staying in the area longer we would have definitely visited again. Highly recommended.

2  Thank carolinet802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We hope that you will visit Shropshire again soon and look forward to welcoming you back at The Fox.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017

We visited the pub on 2 evenings while staying nearby. The staff were friendly. The food was superb. We hope to visit agan next time we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lindagill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you for coming to see us at The Fox Inn during your stay in the area and taking the time to post this lovely review. about our staff and food.

We hope to see you back in Shropshire soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Tried to visit on a Monday night only to find it was closed, a recent change apparently. Glad we made the effort the next night. Staff were very friendly, particularly Stuart - said I would give him a mention; noticed whenever my wife's glass was empty and was happy to fill it again. Good food, the 10 oz sirloin steak was excellent with all the trimmings and from a farm just down the road. Real onion rings, delicious. The fish platter was delicious, very light and crispy batter. Wish we could have found room for a dessert, you can have one to take home if you wish. My daughter tried the salad with chorizo and grilled halloumi, she has been disappointed in the past but not this time, she was impressed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LincolnDiveguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your visit to The Fox Inn.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us.
Many thanks from everyone at The Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Had this pub/restaurant on our list to try while staying in Dorrington. Had a few drinks and ordered food. I ordered the burger with bacon and cheese and my husband had the 10oz sirloin. The dishes came out in good time,hot,big portion sizes and looked tasty . My husband raved about how fantastic the steak was which he doesn,t do very often and commented it was the best one he,d ever had including eating in Canada and the USA. The young man behind the bar said they get all their meat from a local butcher. My burger was also very good. We stayed and had deserts and chatted to the owner. If you are the area I would say you should give this place a try. It has lovely staff, wonderful food at good prices. I know that when we next come to Shropshire we will be eating at The Fox Inn again.

3  Thank upmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your experience at The Fox Inn.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks from everyone at The Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff, really couldn't do enough for you. Food nice and cheesecake to die for. My only feedback would be that we're used to ice cold cider 'up north' and it was served room temperature. Not a complaint because that's how it might be served down here but having ice was no trouble at all. Very nice ladies loos with lots of products available, deodorant, hair spray, feminine bits and bobs, a very nice touch. Seemed to be a popular pub with lots of locals in.

1  Thank Wrightyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for writing this review.
Glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Fox and particularly our Toblerone cheesecake.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Shropshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Pulverbatch, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing