We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good hotel just outside of Newark” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Newark Granville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Granville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Really good hotel just outside of Newark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here recently for a one-night business trip, and was very pleasantly surprised. This is a well-run, attractively appointed, comfortable hotel. The room was beautiful and comfortable, the lobby is sleek looking, and the breakfast, while not complementary, was excellent and fast.

My only complaint? The bathtowels, while new, were thin and cheap -- more like what I would expect from a YMCA. They need to upgrade those with some plush towels.

Otherwise, perfect place.

Room Tip: Upper floor will likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Labatt,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments. We are looking into the possibility of replacing our bath towels.
Thanks for choosing the Courtyard Newark for your business needs and we look forward to being of service the next time you are in the area!
Yours truly,
Thomas Mate, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    53
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
21
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis< IN
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

A very comfortable and clean facility. Staff was professional and helpful. This Marriott was nicely decorated and had up to date features. Texas Roadhouse and McDonalds' right next door as well as other restaurants nearby.
Our room was equipped with a nice size flat screen tv and refrigerator.
The king size bed had an assortment of comfortable pillows. Our room was quiet even though it faced highway 16.
Surprisingly it did not serve a breakfast though there was coffee in the room.
We come to Newark frequently and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face McDonalds. Odd numbered rooms face the highway. We faced the highway and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NovTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Was visiting for a wedding for one night and was very pleased with the Courtyard. Rate was $30.00 less than the Hampton nearby. Room was spotlessly clean, nice sized and well appointed. Room did overlook the McD's drive-thru window and I was worried about noise, but did not have any problems with that. Staff was pleasant and professional. No issues at all. Very happy and would stay here again if I returned to Newark in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I wanted to get away for a couple days in Columbus for some shopping. Our first night was at a hotel right in Columbus and it was such a disappointment. Although we had booked the room for a second night we checked out hoping to find something reasonably priced and much nicer. We found it at the Courtyard in Newark!

The foyer and hallways must have recently been remodeled. The color combinations are bold and cheerful. Very contemporary! Our room also looked like it might have recently been redone as well. The tub was relaxing and also had a great shower head. The room was so clean and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby.

The view from our room was a McDonalds which wasn't impressive but was convenient. We felt very safe in this area and will likely stay again when traveling to Columbus rather than staying in the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My boys and I had to spend the night at the Marriott recently. We had adjoining rooms, which were perfect. The staff was very nice. We started off the evening at their indoor pool, then went to the Pizza Cottage, and finished up at the movies. The rooms were very quiet, even though our rooms faced Route 16. Also each bed had about 6-8 pillows each and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

As far as I'm concerned this is the best motel I've stayed in. Here's why. Friendly staff..everyone speaks to you. Well trained and professional desk staff. One of the cleanest motels I can remember. Great coffee and best coffee maker I've found. Plenty of computer connections and fast wi-fi too. Very comfortable bed and plenty of pillows, towels, lighting. Close to road, but no noise issue. I was on the front and back side in two different stays. Well lit parking lot, nice lobby, bar and snack food selection. No hallway, elevator or laundry noise and I was next to the guest laundry for two nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Easy access from the highway and Denison University. The room was clean and plenty adequate. Staff was friendly. Surprisingly, breakfast was not included with the room. Stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyrockgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
3.8 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
3.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
3.8 mi away
Buxton Inn
Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Granville

Property: Courtyard Newark Granville
Address: 500 Highland Blvd, Newark, OH 43055-2112
Region: United States > Ohio > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Granville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newark Granville hotel offers spacious accommodations and modern amenities for the needs of today's traveler. Before or after a day on the town, stay energized as you choose from a variety of breakfast and dinner offerings at The Bistro and enjoy Starbucks coffee and cocktails at the Bistro bar. This Newark hotel near Denison University offers free Wi-Fi and large work area in all guest rooms. Unwind in our Indoor Pool or on-site Fitness Center. Courtyard Newark Granville hotel is close to many area businesses and attractions such as Ohio State University - Newark Campus, The Reese Center, National Trail Raceway, The Longaberger Homestead as well as many dining and shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Newark Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Granville Hotel Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard Newark Granville Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing