We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Granville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reliable and friendly”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have stayed a total of four times while visiting family in Granville, OH. This has been our favorite place to stay on our many trips and will be our go-to hotel for future visits. The staff is so nice; I wish we remembered all their names, though I do remember one name from our most recent visit - Jay. He was welcoming and eager to please. Housekeeping does a very good job in cleaning the rooms. Pool and fitness facility are open more hours than most. Basic, but clean. Nice lobby where you can sit and relax. Wifi in all rooms - it works great. We like the third floor the best, though we have stayed on the second and first floors as well. No fan in the bathrooms, but there is a vent so no steam issues. Water pressure is good. We expected a basic hotel with decent service and amenities and this one is consistently better than average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Mary G,
Thank you for your review and return visits with us at Courtyard Newark. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations and amenities, but more importantly, our staff's excellence in service. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our team and I will be certain to recognize Jay with a special commendation for his warm hospitality. We're happy to have you as our guests while vising family in Granville, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    54
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
51
22
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently completed a one week stay at this location. It is pretty typical of a Courtyard but the staff is exceptional. Everyone is very polite. The rooms are spotless and were kept that way throughout the week. If traveling through the area you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
howard s,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your great stay with us at Courtyard Newark. I'm pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our staff's excellence in service, cleanliness, and hospitality. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed one night at this Courtyard, which was very similar to other Courtyards around the country. The hotel is near a freeway exit, and is next to a Texas Roadhouse restaurant and a McDonald's. The hotel was comfortable and in good condition. Because of nearby road construction, getting to the hotel could be a challenge, particularly when we missed the exit and had to drive a long way to get back to the hotel. (Likewise, a trip to a nearby mall to watch a movie took longer because of the construction). We were a short drive from Denison University, which was the focus of the trip. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
BertDC,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Courtyard Newark. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while visiting Denison University, and we're glad our close proximity added convenience to your travels. It's great to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our hotel to meet your expectations. I do apologize for any frustrations you experienced with the nearby road construction. Please plan to visit us again in the near future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montverde, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A very good and typical experience for a Courtyard by Marriott. Actually we came from another Marriott property in Niagara Falls, Canada where we paid a much higher rate and found this marriott more updated and enjoyable. Staff was not as professional as other Marriott we have stayed at but acceptable. Would stay here again if in this area...........

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
John S,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great place to stay, and very convenient, when visiting the Denison Univ area. Very clean. Staff always friendly and great! Stayed there more than 15 times in past 4 years. The recent refurbish is great! Happy Hour offerings at the "bistro" are compareble to restaurant prices. Not too far from the great shopping in Easton.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdad1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
soccerdad1616,
Thank you for your great review from your stay with us at Courtyard Newark. We appreciate your continued patronage over the past 4 years, and we're pleased to hear we consistently provide clean accommodations and great service during your stays. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel when visiting Denison University. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very Clean, Quiet and Comfortable. Very convenient location for a visit to Denison University (about a 10 minute drive) I would definitely stay here again.
The only negative was the over use of air freshener in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wev100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
wev100,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Courtyard Newark. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodations to be clean, quiet, and comfortable. We greatly appreciate your feedback both on positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. We hope you'll stay with us for any future visits to Denison University. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Going in, this looked to be a comfortable place to stay, but I was dead wrong. The price was a total gyp at almost twice the price of similar hotels. I was weary from bicycling all day across Columbus from London, Oh, so I "bit the bullet" and booked a room. The desk clerk had mentioned that not many rooms were available due to a "Mopar" convention in the area, but I did not pay much attention until bedtime. I had learned that these are Chrysler Mopar "muscle car" enthusiasts, but I never expected these allegedly mature men to gather in a drunken mob right under my window in the hotel's front driveway and do "burn outs" a la NASCAR literally all night long. Around midnight after I'd heard enough drunken yells and ear splitting noise of 400 hp hemis, I rang the front desk and demanded he go out and make them stop the noise which I could hear even wearing ear plugs. He did NOTHING. So I called again and after repeated threats he said he'd go out and "talk to them." Nothing happened. They went at it till about 4 am and then started up again at 7 am. I tried to get my credit card refunded, but of course Marriott management lied and claimed to have given me the service I paid for. Insult to injury: for the exorbitant price I get NO breakfast, and not even a microwave or fridge in the room.

Room Tip: get one in back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Granville, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Merrill C,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and receiving your feedback. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a satisfying stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the noisy disturbances you encountered during your visit and any inconveniences you experienced as a result. We value you as our guest and do hope that you'll give us another opportunity to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
3.8 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
3.8 mi away
Buxton Inn
Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Granville

Property: Courtyard Newark Granville
Address: 500 Highland Blvd, Newark, OH 43055-2112
Region: United States > Ohio > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Granville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newark Granville hotel offers spacious accommodations and modern amenities for the needs of today's traveler. Before or after a day on the town, stay energized as you choose from a variety of breakfast and dinner offerings at The Bistro and enjoy Starbucks coffee and cocktails at the Bistro bar. This Newark hotel near Denison University offers free Wi-Fi and large work area in all guest rooms. Unwind in our Indoor Pool or on-site Fitness Center. Courtyard Newark Granville hotel is close to many area businesses and attractions such as Ohio State University - Newark Campus, The Reese Center, National Trail Raceway, The Longaberger Homestead as well as many dining and shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newark Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Granville Hotel Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott
Courtyard Newark Granville Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing