We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Valley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed with the Cherry Valley Lodge. The facility is getting rundown and could use some maintenance. Our sink and tab would not drain and we asked 3-4 times to get it fixed but nothing. Each time I reported it the staff acted like it was the first time they have ever heard of the problem.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Called a few weeks before our arrival to change our reservation, and the staff member was rude and rushed me through the call. When we arrived, our room was dirty (in general and there was a used washcloth and an old dry cleaning bag on the floor in the closet). The shower curtain wasn't wide enough to cover the entire tub and it smelled like mildew. The mattress was old and bowed in the middle. The patio door was so dirty that we could barely see through it. We'll definitely be looking for another place to stay the next time we are in town which is a shame since it's a good location for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RBDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were in Granville staying at another hotel chain and decided to change to Cherry Valley Lodge to stay 2 nights and glad we did! With a room upgrade, we paid LESS with a AAA discount than the other hotel and had a much better experience. The reason why I didn't book this lodge initially was because of the mixed reviews. We stopped in unannounced and was greeted by a friendly front desk staff member, Shawna, and was promptly given a tour by one of the housekeeping staff, Kim, prior to making the decision to return the next day to stay. Kim was very gracious and we were given a tour of several rooms and the grounds. This is an older, rather large lodge surrounded by scenic gardens abundant with flowers, trees, a pond with ducks, fish and a gazebo. Lots of room to roam around. We stayed in the 600 area on the second floor and our room had a small balcony with a view of the trees. The area was quiet and felt private. The room had an interesting layout, was roomy and very clean. The bathroom was very spacious and had a nice shower head and a huge tub. We had plenty of clean towels. All amenities were in good working order and we had no issues with housekeeping. The indoor pool and hot tub area open up to an outdoor patio area which was a plus. We had the area to ourselves a couple of times. The outdoor furniture was adequate but could use some refurbishing or updating. Some areas on the exterior building could use some attention. The water park was not open during our weekday stay which was a plus for us since we wanted a more relaxing stay. We ate in the in the pub for dinner and I do agree that the service was slow but the food was good and the staff was friendly. We had a very private breakfast outdoors while enjoying the beautiful gardens and listening to the song birds. All staff we interacted with responded to our needs and was helpful and professional. We would stay again!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk to the pool, lobby or food service stay in the 500 or 600 rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry M, Owner at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Teresa,
Thank you so much for giving us a try. We are so happy to hear that you got outstanding service from both Shauna and Kim. We are grateful that you took the time to review our Lodge and to share your positive experience with others. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in June . First room smelled like smoky bar so upon checking in after maintenance confirmed complaint we moved to 2nd room. That night told husband felt legs getting bit . In morning found ants everywhere not sure what got legs but both had bites. We were moved again after trying to get room at another hotel. Hot tub nasty and had to clean own patio chairs. Peeling wallpaper etc so run down .we stayed there several times over the years No more! Til they refurbish and clean update. Prices do not justify. We did file formal complaint no response as yet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Patricia,
Thank you for your review of Cherry Valley Lodge. I sincerely apologize for your poor experience and assure you that it is not typical of a stay at our Lodge. My staff has already reviewed your circumstances and I noticed that we were able to make a credit to your account prior to check out. We did have EcoLab Pest Control inspect your room and they noted some insect activity in the room but nothing that would normally be of great concern. All of our rooms are on a scheduled contract program but your room has been re-treated and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night here. The room was set up a little weird. Clean room. Good atmosphere to walk around in. Lobby was clean. Did not take part in water park. Was not wowed but was not disappointed. Exercise room left little to be desired.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Jacob,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cherry Valley Lodge. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place is a dirty hole. Dirty hot tub inside and out, the outside hot tub had like 35 cigarette butts laying around it, like no one has cleaned this place in a year. Downhill is where this Motel has went over the years!! Rooms smell like dirty dog and wet moldy yuck in both rooms we rented. We will NEVER come back. Try to talk to staff about the place and was told that if we didn't like it we could leave.

Room Tip: My tip is go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cindiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here the Sunday before Memorial Day. I booked two rooms but upon check in I was told they only showed a reservation for one room. Virginia and Shawna were very helpful and friendly and were able to get me adjoining rooms. The lobby has a warm and inviting feel. There is a pond in the main courtyard with a little walking path with flowers and plants plus a gazebo and fish in the pond. The pool was nice but towels were in short supply even after telling the front desk. The rooms are very big but have an odd "L" shaped layout. We had a room with two queen beds. A couple of cons, the screen door on the patio was off and laying on the railing, I noticed other patios had the same problem. Also, there were room service napkins and coffee mugs from the previous night in the hallway that didn't get picked up until around seven in the evening. Maybe they were short staffed due to the holiday weekend. For $8 we got a nice sized breakfast that was big enough for my son and daughter to share. We did have a little trouble upon checking out. We were charged $50 more for one of our rooms. Uraiyah at the front desk was very helpful and got the amount reduced with a little help from Bernadette. Over all we had a good stay and the place is nice even though it's a little run down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigersfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Tigers Fan68
Thank you for your recent stay at Cherry Valley Lodge and also for your review. I am glad that your overall stay was a good one and I will share your comments with our staff to help us better serve our guests in the future. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
2.3 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Heath
71 reviews
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Pickerington
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Valley Lodge

Address: 2299 Cherry Valley Rd SE, Newark, OH 43055-9393
Region: United States > Ohio > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £76 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest may choose from 200 comfortable guestrooms and Jacuzzi suites. Enjoy in room refrigerators, coffee makers, complimentary WiFi, and views of the courtyard and surrounding gardens. Indoor pool and Jacuzzi, exercise room or our full-service Banyan Leaf Spa can be enjoyed. Also featuring Sunflowers Restaurant and The Lodge Pub as well as The CoCo Key Indoor Waterpark. POPULAR NEARBY ATTRACTIONS: The CoCo Key Indoor Waterpark, Denison University, The Midland Theatre, The Works, The National Heisey Museum, Ye Olde Mill Ice Cream Parlour and Museum, National Trails Raceway, The Great Circle Earthworks & Ohio Indian Art Museum, The Longaberger Homestead ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cherry Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Valley Hotel Newark
Cherry Valley Newark
Cherry Valley Lodge Newark, Ohio
Cherry Valley Lodge Ohio
Newark Lodge Cherry Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing