We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have stayed at the Manor several times over the past 10 years when visiting family in Ohio. It's comfortable, rooms are clean and the restaurant has good food and drink options. We love to stay in the "old" part of the Manor in the historical rooms (just so charming). The grounds are beautiful with plenty of trails and activities at the lake in the summer. Nice place to relax. Will be back again!

Room Tip: There are several rooms in the "older original" part of the manor that are very charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

It has been some time since our last visit and the rooms have all been updated beautifully! The bathroom tile, and new countertops make a nice impression. Everything is there for you, hairdryer, coffee service, pool towels and no more wasted lotions and shampoos with their refillable bottles. A adorable stuffed raccoon awaits the guests and we even got chocolate chip cookies upon check-in. The fireplaces in the lobby and dining room were going and it helped to take off the damp chill. The only issue we had was our keycard was sometimes difficult in the door. We enjoyed a huge breakfast, hot and tasty, with friendly service. The prices were reasonable. All the staff were pleasant, helpful with directions and eager to assist in any way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gobucks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in one of the Parkside Cottages, the cottage was very cute & clean. You are only issued 6 of each piece of silverware & towels, even though it sleeps 7 & we rented it for 7. Other than that it was quite nice, I would bring beach towels, the pool towels are the size of dishtowels, and quite thin. The indoor pool is very nice & they have a great sledding hill, the kids loved it!

Room Tip: The Parkside cottage takes dogs, so if you have a pooch that is the one you will be given, the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbarano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Came her for the second year for a girls weekend. The cottages at Punderson are PERFECT for this type of gathering. Cozy, cabins,lovely walking trails, beautiful lodge. The cottages were full with families the weekend we were there, so it is a lively destination for group gatherings. We cooked all our own meals in the cabin and were able to completely unwind and relax! It was a snowy weekend, but they do an excellent job with snow removal! Definitely will go again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jobemtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Punderson is situated east of Cleveland in Geauga County
It has acres of trees the lake and in the winter and fall especially is just so beautiful
Nice restauarant with great baked items and views towards the lake
a great place to get away from it all

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjmjmjmjmjmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stay here every year after Christmas to visit family in Chagrin Falls. It's rustic, but clean and spacious. And it's a good value if you get in for a special rate. There's always snow, but they do a good job of clearing the roads.

Room Tip: Have stayed in several different cabins and they all seem the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpierre4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I, as well as 4 other families from our neighborhood, spent NYE at Punderson Manor. There were 10 adults and approximately 17 children ages 5-16. We all wanted a child and adult friendly evening where the kids would have things to do and the parents could hang out, talk, play cards, etc. We had a great time. My husband and I reserved a beautiful room in the manor house overlooking the front drive. It was very nicely decorated, very homey and clean. The downside was the drafty windows that let freezing air into the room but that's what you get in an old manor. I loved the big, soft bed, but my husband likes a firmer bed so she didn't sleep well.

While the 4 other families ordered pizza and went sledding, my husband and I ate a delicious buffet dinner in the restaurant. There were many offerings including a salad and appetizer table, veg lasagna, lamb, prime rib, chicken and salmon dishes, veggies and potatoes. There was also a large dessert table filled with yummy looking choices. Table service started out quite attentively but, as the tables filled with guests, it was obvious that there weren't enough servers and I had to get up and find a server when we needed more water or another beer, etc. That was the only downside.

After dinner, we joined the other families poolside and then went to one of the family's suites to watch the ball drop. In the morning my husband and I returned to the buffet for a delicious brunch. There were custom made omelettes as well as meats, crepes, fresh fruit and lunch choices such as meats and veggies as well. and Although there were few tables filled, the service was really bad. The servers didn't seem to know who was responsible for what and we had to search out staff members for coffee and later the check.

We'd definitely recommend Punderson for this type of get together but the restaurant needs to make sure they're adequately staffed and then train the staff to be more aware of guests' needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liba7810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
11.7 mi away
The Aurora Inn Hotel & Event Center
18.7 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Solon
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cleveland East - Beachwood
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cle...
#2 of 3 in Mayfield Heights
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 11755 Kinsman Rd, Newbury, OH 44065-9691
Region: United States > Ohio > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £59 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Punderson State Park and only 50 minutes southeast of Cleveland, Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center is a historic English Tudor-style mansion featuring 31 spacious guestrooms, 26 fully furnished two bedroom cottages, a conference center that accommodates up to 100 and an elegant full-service dining room with views of Punderson Lake. Enjoy a challenging round of golf on our picturesque 18-hole championship golf course. Other activities and recreational opportunities include hiking, swimming (indoor/outdoor pools and sandy beach), boating, fishing, tennis and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punderson Manor Hotel Newbury
Punderson Manor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing