We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We found a wonderfully relaxing few days at Punderson. The manor is striking and there are great views of the lake and surrounding area. The dining room was elegantly set up for the next meal. It is cozy and intimate, but could be a good place to conduct a business discussion with a few people. There is a private dining area in the tower area for a small group. The prices are not out of line from other fine dining establishments in Ohio. If you want casual dining, outside the park and within ten minutes driving time, there are family restaurants and sandwich places available. Our cottage was like no other cottage I've ever stayed in. Everything was clean; rooms carpeted; kitchen was furnished with modern appliances and the dishware and utensils, pots, pans, and skillets were clean and waiting to be used. The fully screened in porch is a nice plus also.The bathroom contains a shower that didn't leak onto the floor and had shampoo, conditioner, and liquid soap dispensers attached to the wall. How thoughtful is that? TV reception was limited to one Cleveland channel, and the internet was only available at the Manor. There are two bedrooms, each with a small hanging closet area and built-in dresser. One bedroom has twin beds and the other seems to be a 3/4 size. I'd thought it was a double, but it didn't have as much room as the double at our home. Heating and AC controls are at your fingertips in the livingroom area. There were plenty of areas to hike. The outdoor pool was ready, but the air temp. was a deterrent for me. The indoor pool at the Manor was being used by several guests. All staff members were friendly and helpful. The grounds are well kept and the scenery is great. While walking, I saw the sledding hill which would be great in winter. There's also a marina where you can rent a boat or kayak. The regulations only allow use of an electric motor on the boat. If you just want to sit by the water, the marina has several benches placed around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

The grounds are lovely, the lodge historic, the food quite good, and the restaurant staff responsive and happy to interact with customers. We even spotted a bald eagle! Don't expect a big, luxurious room. After all this is a property with lots of history, but my room was cozy and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It seems unlikely you'd find a luxury lodge, within a resort atmosphere, in this highly Amish populated region of Ohio. The lodge is more formal than you'd expect....sort of like you'd find in the Catskills. The indoor pool is a plus in the off-season. Folks are friendly and eager to serve...I happened to hit the beginning of the summer season when staff was being trained... but that won't keep me away next time.
Oh, a bit stingy when pouring the alcohol in a mixed drink.

Room Tip: No elevator. Five or six steps to some levels of the lodge.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 495Nick495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Punderson Manor on business. Rooms are charming, but dated - very few outlets, poor quality tv with few channels. Also, I ended up in the room above the lobby and garage, so it was a little noisy outside. They were also doing a controlled burn, so everything smelled like smoke. Probably would stay further away next time to have better amenities.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Alwaysanadventure01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Manor is very well appointed, plenty of privacy..spacious well defined trails, indoor and outdoor pools, cabins, golf....a great place to get away fir a few days and relax...very good food, dinners a little on the pricey side but quite ample in portions..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grumpy507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have stayed at the Manor several times over the past 10 years when visiting family in Ohio. It's comfortable, rooms are clean and the restaurant has good food and drink options. We love to stay in the "old" part of the Manor in the historical rooms (just so charming). The grounds are beautiful with plenty of trails and activities at the lake in the summer. Nice place to relax. Will be back again!

Room Tip: There are several rooms in the "older original" part of the manor that are very charming...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It has been some time since our last visit and the rooms have all been updated beautifully! The bathroom tile, and new countertops make a nice impression. Everything is there for you, hairdryer, coffee service, pool towels and no more wasted lotions and shampoos with their refillable bottles. A adorable stuffed raccoon awaits the guests and we even got chocolate chip cookies upon check-in. The fireplaces in the lobby and dining room were going and it helped to take off the damp chill. The only issue we had was our keycard was sometimes difficult in the door. We enjoyed a huge breakfast, hot and tasty, with friendly service. The prices were reasonable. All the staff were pleasant, helpful with directions and eager to assist in any way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gobucks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
11.7 mi away
The Aurora Inn Hotel & Event Center
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
431 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Solon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland East / Mayfield Village
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cleveland East
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Cle...
#2 of 3 in Mayfield Heights
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 11755 Kinsman Rd, Newbury, OH 44065-9691
Region: United States > Ohio > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £76 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Punderson State Park and only 50 minutes southeast of Cleveland, Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center is a historic English Tudor-style mansion featuring 31 spacious guestrooms, 26 fully furnished two bedroom cottages, a conference center that accommodates up to 100 and an elegant full-service dining room with views of Punderson Lake. Enjoy a challenging round of golf on our picturesque 18-hole championship golf course. Other activities and recreational opportunities include hiking, swimming (indoor/outdoor pools and sandy beach), boating, fishing, tennis and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punderson Manor Hotel Newbury
Punderson Manor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing