We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diverse menu”

Zeppe's Tavern and Pizzeria
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Italian, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great Food, Great Music, Good Times
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Diverse menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Restaurant and bar have a nice layout and there is a decent size patio. The menu has a wide selection considering this is listed as a pizzeria. If you 're looking for a good meal at a decent price, give this place a try,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MODIAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Visited the restaurant with my family and had an overall wonderful experience. Food came out timely and was very good! Service was pleasant and great ..even with it being a busy night we were not "forgotten "... would recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marie2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going Down Hill Fast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great food, but sometimes their rush their pizza and it is underdone; service has gone from great to poor. Check your bill for errors, they can never get that right. The last three times there has be an error on our bill, and the bills of others at our table. Service has be come slow, even when there is hardly anyone in the restaurant. Waited an hour for pizza rolls appetizer, and come to find out, the order was not put in, then it took another 1/2 hour to get them. We ordered two large pizzas and that took over an hour. Management would do well to tighten up their staff and watch the flow of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank april m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good food, Good service. Mix up on our order of wings, manager made it right and gave us a free order. All food was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“OK for a bar & tavern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Too many teenie-boopers working (oops, I mean receiving a paycheck for physically standing there) who make it abundantly clear they would rather be somewhere else and the sleezy managers who tolerate it to look "cool" to the female staff, I was beginning to think this was a real life production of the movie 'Waiting..." I counted no fewer than 16 workers walking through the dining area during our hour-long stay there. And really, none of that should bother me... especially watching all those super-stretchy yoga pants or super-high tight mini skirts... but listening to that "she said, he said" drama for an hour sorta gnaws at the dining experience. It certainly didn't help speed up the order of grilled pork chops from getting to the table 30 minutes after the order went in. Front of house manager said they wanted to make sure it was cooked thoroughly due to its thickness. *Looking around* Hmmm, a handful of patrons, a huge staff in the back, pork chops, and a half hour??? Sure, OK...

Opened in 2011, this place is one of Zeppe's latest forays into the tavern world having expanded their pizza empire of 30+ shops throughout northeast Ohio. And while I applaud entrepreneurship and competition, why would you open your 30-something-ith store - and the only Zeppe's or other pizza store for at least 5 miles - directly across from the long-running, family-owned local pizza/Italian restaurant Mangia Mangia which had been there for many years? And while I'm not a fan of Mangia Mangia, this certainly wasn't a shout-out for business ethics, fair business practices, or just for being a good business neighbor on Zeppe's part!

This was our second visit, our first having been a carry out order from their takeout side. Probably won't be back. I can (and do) make better pizzas at home and Geauga Farms Country Meats has better pork chops that I can grill in far less than half an hour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PuuKaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zeppe's Tavern and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Zeppe's Tavern and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing