We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancers House
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Being a seasoned traveller I always try to stay at family owned and run hotels, rather than sterile chain owned. I stayed at the Lancers for 3 nights and got the best nights sleep in a long time. The bed was just so comfortable, I opted to skip breakfast just so I could stay longer.

Lancers House is very easy to find and although next to the main Salisbury/Shaftesbury road, it was still very peaceful and relaxing. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Jane who made us feel right at home.

The room was at the end of the building and had the most fantasic views of the valley. Very comfortable and just the right size for my needs, with en-suite shower, tea and coffee and also free wifi. The signal at times was a little slow, but this is easily remedied by going to the guest lounge where the signal was stronger, and also if you needed it a 50'' TV with full Sky package. I never got to try the swimming pool sadly, but it is a good size.

All meals are cooked fresh to order, and if you try the Spanish Omlette, you had better be hungry because it is huge! All in all, I would recommend this hotel It's excellent value for money, but more importantly, you feel welcome. Thank you Nik & Jane, you are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefBosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely comments, Jayne and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the Vi-Spring beds.

The pool is getting plenty of use at the moment and perhaps on your next visit, if the weather is good enough, you might get a chance to enjoy it.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    41
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
109
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The house is attractive and the owners are friendly and helpful and we had a good night's sleep and a filling full breakfast. Those are the things of real importance!
It is situated about 12 miles from Salisbury, set slightly back from the main road.
There were a few niggles: the cleanliness could be better - for example the light shade over the stairs was very dusty with cobwebs attached. There was free wireless internet but it was very, very, very slow to the extent that I gave up trying to use it. There were piles of rubbish by the front gate which didn't give a good first impression.
However, it was a good stay and I liked the free range chickens in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for your review and we apologise that your stay was less than perfect. We have taken your comments on board and acted on them where possible. The light shade has been removed and should not have been left there as this is an unused light.

The rubbish was out for our regular collection and unfortunately the council collected on a different day that week, but we should have removed it again and now make a point to do so, especially around bank holidays and the likes.

The internet does prove to be an issue at times, we have put in the best speeds and largest router we could get and I am not sure why it seems to slow down at different times, but do apologise for the problems you experienced. We do have a laptop available for guests who experience problems and for some unexplained reason, this always seems to maintain high speeds.

Thank you for your comments as these help us to try and continually improve our offering and we hope that should you decide to stay with us again, you will be pleased with the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Lancers House was easily the best accommodation we had on a recent trip through Salisbury and Bath. Our host was really helpful in suggesting places to visit in Salisbury and made sure we had everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast the next morning was perfect too. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Beautiful location, easy to find. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very accommodating and breakfast was awesome!! Excellent value for money, would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadows123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Mandeville
7.3 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
196 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 4 in Tisbury
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dean Lodge
Dean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Swallowcliffe
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Property: Lancers House
Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing