We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay shame about the weather”
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancers House
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My family stayed here for 3 nights. Owners are nice and friendly and the breakfast menu is fantastic and food perfect and filling as they work hard at making sure you're happy with your food. The family room we had was more than adequate, we also had bottled water and biscuits in the room as well as tea and coffee facilities. My husband usually struggles sleeping away from home but he found the bed and mattress really comfortable, I just struggled with the traffic from the road for the first night but after that I was fine. Room was spot on and clean with en-suite facilities. No problem with hot water and the heating was on. A good shared lounge downstairs where you could access wifi, Sky TV, DVD player, a Wii and a good selection of games. There is plenty of party to the side and rear of the property. It is also worth a mention that if you are looking for somewhere to eat we found a lovely place to eat about 4 miles away called the Wyndham Arms, Hindon Road, Dinton. Fab place to stay within easy reach of the Fovant Badges, Longleat, Stonehenge, Salisbury town and Cathedral and Wardour Castle to name but a few.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank secserv2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the beds and food especially. Every effort is made to try to please all of our guests as we really enjoy having people to stay. We will continually be learning and trying to improve on our offering, so hopefully on your next visit, you will enjoy your stay even more.

Thank you again for the lovely comments, it was our pleasure having you to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our stay at Lancers House was wonderful from start to finish with extremely attentive owners who clearly had an eye for detail. The decor of this lovely property, was very special indeed and was carefully thought out through all the rooms. Our rooms were sparkly clean, and the bathrooms had lovely hot showers (with a beautiful stained glass window in ours). The beds had lovely bedlinen and were so comfortable and we all slept very well indeed. Nik and Jayne were fun and very knowledgeable of the local area, which was both interesting for our children and us! Breakfast was delicious every morning with lovely freshly lade eggs. We just wanted to say a big thank you and we will be definitely recommending this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hastingsgirl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments, it was our pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Lancers House during our recent driving tour of the South of England and were extremely disappointed.
We arrived at around 6.30pm and rang the electronic bell, twice, but no one responded, then we rang the hand bell and the lady of the house appeared and asked had we booked. We told her we had booked on line and gave our name, she shouted to her partner that we had arrived, he came out to greet us with the smell of alcohol on his breath. We had a general chit chat and he told us we had been "upgraded" - which in effect not the case as we had already booked a king-sized ensuite room and the "upgrade" was to have an old separate bathroom two doors down the corridor from our room past two other guests rooms.
The room was spacious with a good sized bed - which proved to be well past it's sell-by date as the springs were gone and we had the worst night's sleep of our entire 14 night journey.
The cleanliness of the room was dreadful, dust on every surface, dressing table, mirrors, window cills and venetian blinds, it could do with a thorough deep clean.
The bathroom was like something out of the Victorian times, with an old bath, no shower, and an antique washstand as the main means of washing one's self. The washstand was pictured on their website with a back but that seems to have gone with nothing behind it just a mirror placed on the wall.
The carpet could have been hoovered and there were towels hanging on the bannisters at the top of the staircase leading to our room with cobwebs complete with a dead fly hanging from the lampshade at the top of the stairs.
The other people who have given favourable reports on trip advisor must have been given other rooms but the one we had was absolutely hopeless.
Although Nic was helpful he would really need to hire some cleaning staff to give the whole house and guest rooms a thorough going over - the breakfast was adequate but after all the other nasties we didn't really enjoy eating it, all we wanted to do was get out of the place, get to our new hotel and have a shower.
We will not be returning or indeed recommending this B&B to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BlueWilz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

We are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Lancers House. This is the first year we have opened up our home to receive B&B guests and as such we are always grateful for any feedback we are given, especially if it helps us to improve on what we are able to offer. Had we been aware of your disappointment and concerns at the time, we would have endeavoured to rectify any issues immediately.

Obviously the room upgrade was not well received. The room was spacious as it was a family room, rather than the double that you booked. It also benefits from a triple aspect view and a full sky package on the television.

All our beds have been purchased in the last twelve months and are of the highest quality, the only manufacturers we use are Relyon, Memoryfoam, Vi-Spring and Millbrook. The bed you had is a Millbrook Superking Soft, wool tufted model, which is roughly 8 months old. Unfortunately we never know if our guests will prefer firm, medium or soft and therefore have a range in the rooms and I suspect that this mattress was possibly too soft for your liking, which we apologise for.

The carpet throughout our house was supplied by Wilton Carpets and fitted in the spring of this year, we have chosen a very light, solid colour which does show every mark and bit of lint, but the entire house is vacuumed on a daily basis as part of the daily cleaning regime. I believe you were the last guests to arrive on the evening in question and therefore a certain amount of traffic had already taken place during the day.

You have uploaded three photographs as if to back up your comments, the first is of our late check-out notice. We felt the need to put these up as many guests seemed to be unaware of the check-out time, which in turn lead us to having problems catering for requested early check-in’s and also incurs extra expenses with paying overtime to housekeeping staff. We try very hard to offer good value for money at reasonable room rates and therefore we have to keep expenses under control or will be forced to increase room rates.

The second picture shows the basin in the bathroom. This bathroom is five yards from the room and is the only one we have that offers a bath rather than a shower. As you pointed out, the washstand is an antique and we have deliberately presented this room in a shabby chic style as the room lends itself to this with it’s leaded windows, high ceiling and being part of an Art Deco property. We removed the back to the washstand as the height of the mirror on it proved to be inadequate and so we replaced it with a full height mirror.

The third picture claims to be the view from the bathroom. The windows are original leaded and of a frosted style and therefore there is no view, the picture you have taken is from opening the side window and leaning out to the right. This image shows our private garden, which is where we do a lot of the work that we try to keep out of sight. You will notice the washing lines for drying the linen and the berry bushes which provide us with the various fruits to make our own jams. The image does illustrate just how wet it was on the night you stayed with us, which may explain a towel over the banister, although we do apologise for this as this should have been removed.

We are pleased that breakfast met with your approval as we endeavour to offer a large selection of both continental and cooked options. As well as making our own jams, the eggs come from our own free-range hens and we source as many of our ingredients locally as possible.

It is bitterly disappointing to us that you did not enjoy your stay and that you disliked the room so much. We have tried to learn from your comments and are not prepared to risk anyone else feeling the same way again. Therefore we have withdrawn this room until such time as it is remodelled into an En-Suite Double.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is a beautiful bed & breakfast with clean, comfortable accommodations, common area & property. Cute outside garden/sitting area as well. The owners are very friendly & helpful. The room was a good size & a bargain. Free Wi Fi on the 1st floor in common areas. Breakfast was delicious as well. It's in a very picturesque location, about 1/2 hour from Salisbury. There is a restaurant a short drive from here called "The Compasses Inn" which was excellent, but nothing within walking distance. We had a hard time finding this place as I thought it was in Salisbury. Make sure to follow the directions on the Lancer House website as it didn't come up on our GPS and there is no specific address.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure having you to stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the UK. Nik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

lovely and comfortable accommodation.Friendly hosts and good breakfast.Good position for exploring the area including SALISBURY CATHEDRAL/STONEHENGE AND STOURHEAD HOUSE AND GARDENS AND MANY OTHERS

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROWEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time. Nik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We liked our stay very much at Lancers house. The rooms were clean and had all we needed. Location was perfect.
And ... you feel yourself at home immediatly thanks to the warm welcome!
Our nearly three year old liked the place also very much!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camps_mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for your lovely review, we also enjoyed you staying with us very much and look forward to seeing you again. Nik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Clean comfortable room for family of 4. Very friendly hosts, and very reasonable price. A bit out of the way, but hosts provided great local recommendations including Companies inn for dinner. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mreconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklittle, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range: £61 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing