We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancers House
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have been booking my hotels based on Tripadvisor and Booking.com feedback for years now and it's the first time I am disappointed if I'm honoust.
What was good: parking space, swimming pool very useful during this heat wave, beds. Reasonable food during dinner and breakfast although no fresh fruit nor cheese on the buffet(but lots of eggs of course) Large TV in the lounge with Wii.
What was disappointing: very small family room with third bed partly in front of the window, small bath room, very warm during our stay but sleeping with open Windows was difficult due to traffic noise from the A30, dirty floor around the pool area, dirty carpet under our bed, generally not well maintained. Warmed up croissant or pain au chocolat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the street Side, noisy A30 just passes the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet with your total satisfaction as we strive to exceed everyone's expectations. It is nice to hear that you appreciated the free parking, the food, the swimming pool, the lounge, the 50 inch plasma TV and the Nintendo Wii.

You are correct to say that we do not offer cheese for breakfast but we are surprised about your comment with regards to fruit as there is always fruit available. We do not put eggs out on the buffet as all cooked food orders are taken and prepared to order individually.

All our beds are regularly moved and cleaned under as part of our cleaning regime and the only thing we found under the beds in your room was a packet of sweets.

We really appreciate you taking the time to express your opinion and we have taken on board your comments with regards to the size of the room especially when allowing for 3 adults of over 6 foot each and have decided to change the way the room is marketed to be a double only. This is the first time anyone has been less than delighted with that room but we believe in learning from what we are told and we do not want a repeat of this situation. The room will be remodelled in the winter months to create a larger bathroom and a new superking size bed will be purchased for it with a Vi-Spring mattress to maintain the same quality levels as our other rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great welcoming, relaxing B&B. Good rural location for visitors to see the area. Fine views and local walks. Nik and Jayne provide excellent service serving sumptuous breakfasts and evening meals featuring fresh home made goodies, breads, jams, ice cream etc. their hens wander around the lawn providing those all important free range eggs. Well decorated throughout with comfortable spacious bedrooms and a super lounge to relax in after a busy day. The added bonus is the outside swimming pool with patio area great during this heatwave. This B&B was a great find, so good we extended our stay from 3 to 5 nights, that says it all, excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our food so much. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at Lancers House at the end of May. How fun was it to be greeted with the chickens running around outside! The grounds were beautiful, and I'm impressed at how much they grown themselves and use in the food they prepare. We had a very friendly greeting, and the room was better than expected - quite large, nice view outside the windows, wide variety of TV channels, and supercomfortable bed. We did not take advantage of dinner as we arrived relatively late in the day, but the breakfast was absolutely phenomenal. Their homemade breads are to die for! Especially the cheese onion pepper bread :), which the owners were so kind to give us the recipe for! They make their own jams, they use their own eggs (from the chickens of course!). The room heated up nicely as the night were chilly at the time. I would definitely recommend Lancers House and we intend to stay there again when back in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and we are delighted you appreciated the quality of the beds. We are also pleased you enjoyed the breads and hope you have tried making them at home, alternatively we are starting our bread making courses in September so you could always enquire about available dates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Nice rooms and delicious breakfast (strongly recommend the Eggs Royale!). The outdoor swimming pool was a complete bonus as I had not clocked that when booking. I half wondered if the A30 road noise would be a problem, but it was not. Went to the Compass Inn (about two miles away) for fab supper.

Room Tip: If you are a really light sleeper, I would probably suggest the annex rooms as these are behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We hope to see you again next time you are in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a real find if you need to be near Wilton/ Salisbury or Tisbury. An immediate welcome on arrival from the joint proprietor. A splendid dinner with a good range of choice.Emphasis on genuinely home produced food. Bread baked on the premises- chickens wander around the grounds. -Nic and Jayne can be rightly proud of their hard work over the last three years in running such a delightful small hotel. My wife enjoyed her swim whilst I minded the towels !

Room Tip: We needed the windows(double glazed)closed to cut out the fast traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank objective_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we will continue to strive to improve our offering for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lancers House for a couple of nights. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean and a large comfortable bed( two singles together ). The breakfast was perfect with a huge choice so everyone should be happy. The evening meal was of a standard top restaurants would be happy to serve. Nic and Jayne made us very welcome and continued to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We will certainly stay again if we visit that part of the country.
David & Joyce B

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and Jayne and I are always pleased when our guests take pleasure in our food. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancers House next time you are both in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Room: Our room was smaller than expected, but very lovely and with very nice decor. The bed deserves a special mention as the mattress was so comfortable, it seemed like a very good quality mattress rather than a normal cheap hotel mattress. The ensuite bathroom was of high standard and very clean. We were very surprised at how powerful the shower was and really enjoyed showering there.

The only downside to the room, and this is personal, was the amount of daylight that came in through the blinds even when they were shut. I cannot sleep when it is bright in the room, and one morning I woke up at 6am and the next morning at 4:30am.
One suggestion would be to have more railing and hooks to hang towels and wet clothes/swimsuits after being in the pool and/or showering.

Food: It is great to find somewhere that has a lot of homegrown ingredients in their meals and lots of homemade food in their menu. We especially loved the fish and the homemade desserts and ice-creams. Breakfast was also exceptional with lots of homemade bread to choose. We loved all of them, but the cheese, onion and chilli was superb. Lovely hashbrowns and mushrooms. There were a lot of options for meat-eaters and a few fish dishes on the menu, not that many vegetarian options, so that would be a suggestion to improve the menu.
Facilities: It was nice that parking was provided. We also liked the gardens with the chairs and tables and the communal lounge with sofas to relax/watch TV/play Wii.

Negative point: The downside about the hotel was the opening hours for the pool. We were very disappointed when we found out that the pool was only open 4-9pm as we stayed there in a very hot weekend and were hoping to relax by the pool most of our time. We would suggest opening the pool from 11am on hot and sunny days. Also, there was a bit of a fight to grab the only 2 sun loungers available between the guests so it would be nice if there were more.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and the main reasons why we are rating it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the pool opening hours and the amount of light that came into the room first thing in the morning not allowing us to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely and detailed review. We will consider all the suggestions you have made including the pool, but the difficulty with that is that it takes a long time each day to open it, hoover it and clean it before checking ph levels and knowing it is safe for our guests to use.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range: £61 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing