We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancers House is the best B&B in the world!”
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancers House
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hyperbole perhaps but I fully mean it... my wife and I were guests here early this year. Nick and Jayne work tirelessly at being the kindest hosts imagineable. The rooms are first rate, the food is spectacular. I was here because I was on tour with the Globe's Touring Production of King Lear which was performing at the Old Wardour Castle. lancers house is the standout of all the places we stayed at during our tour of UK & Europe...

If you enjoy walking this is the perfect base to enjoy many of the finest public footpaths in UK and the hosts will even pack a lunch for you

HIGHLY recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RawiriParatene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Jayne and I feel very humbled and we hope to get the chance to meet you both again one day. We have added several further homemade ice cream varieties that may be worth making the round trip for!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I won't beat around the bush: unwelcoming, unhelpful and filthy. The first fact they impress on you as you arrive is that you are supposed to work around their schedule, not the other way around. You're the hapless tourist to be milked and fleeced for their coffers; your comfort doesn't enter their minds: you have a 1-hour window of opportunity to have breakfast - commit the deadly sin of not setting the alarm at 7.30 while on holiday, and your breakfast's gone. You are also treated to workday stress on departure day, as if you don't vacate your room by 10am, you're fined £10. They sadistically specify that the fine applies to *fractions* of hours. What this means is that, supposing nature calls as you're leaving and you're 10 minutes late, you're £10 worse off. My partner and I thought wistfully of establishments where valuable guests are treated like valuable guests. Lancers Guest House is, alas, more akin to a workhouse.

The wifi connection doesn't work. If you're a softly-spoken, slender-built woman, prepare to be treated like an imbecile and to be told there's nothing they can do about their own disservice. If you're lucky enough to travel with a more imposing male partner willing to suggest they find a solution, they might just change your room.

Speaking of rooms, if you value cleanliness you really should steer clear. Our room had dead flies on the carpet and unidentified debris on the window sill. It obviously hadn't been cleaned too fastidiously or even recently. It also was creepy-crawlies heaven. We had a fine collection of spiders, the largest of which we put out ourselves, together with a moth, as we didn't fancy a repeat of the shoulder-shrugging attitude. The next day, the room wasn't cleaned. Nobody had touched it.

I'll shudder as I pass it and drive on, next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_oddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Wow - your name says it all.

Dear The _Oddity,

We realised you were a special guest when, upon arrival you broke down in tears publicly at being unable to log on to the Wi-Fi on your broken phone due to inputting the wrong code. Your "imposing" boyfriend was more interested in what was on TV than your public outburst, so perhaps he had experienced this previously. We moved you to a room closer to our router and explained the code and that if your phone drops out, we can not do anything about it.

Your very late arrival for the breakfast gruel you were served went without fuss or "shoulder shrugging" even when you wanted more. My wife personally serviced your room "just to make sure" as we were too worried to let our staff do it.

For future reference, if you leave your window open with the light on at night, then the scary creepy-crawlies will come in. We do like to learn from our guests constructive suggestions and will monitor this issue with a view to employing 24 hour guards to keep these non-paying guests out or perhaps we should have them earn their keep in the workhouse.

We are bewildered that you have left such a bad review as we felt we had won you over after the Wi-Fi code-gate fiasco, my wife even found you quite chatty at times. There is clearly something deeper than Lancers House going on in your head and we wish you luck with that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have been booking my hotels based on Tripadvisor and Booking.com feedback for years now and it's the first time I am disappointed if I'm honoust.
What was good: parking space, swimming pool very useful during this heat wave, beds. Reasonable food during dinner and breakfast although no fresh fruit nor cheese on the buffet(but lots of eggs of course) Large TV in the lounge with Wii.
What was disappointing: very small family room with third bed partly in front of the window, small bath room, very warm during our stay but sleeping with open Windows was difficult due to traffic noise from the A30, dirty floor around the pool area, dirty carpet under our bed, generally not well maintained. Warmed up croissant or pain au chocolat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the street Side, noisy A30 just passes the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet with your total satisfaction as we strive to exceed everyone's expectations. It is nice to hear that you appreciated the free parking, the food, the swimming pool, the lounge, the 50 inch plasma TV and the Nintendo Wii.

You are correct to say that we do not offer cheese for breakfast but we are surprised about your comment with regards to fruit as there is always fruit available. We do not put eggs out on the buffet as all cooked food orders are taken and prepared to order individually.

All our beds are regularly moved and cleaned under as part of our cleaning regime and the only thing we found under the beds in your room was a packet of sweets.

We really appreciate you taking the time to express your opinion and we have taken on board your comments with regards to the size of the room especially when allowing for 3 adults of over 6 foot each and have decided to change the way the room is marketed to be a double only. This is the first time anyone has been less than delighted with that room but we believe in learning from what we are told and we do not want a repeat of this situation. The room will be remodelled in the winter months to create a larger bathroom and a new superking size bed will be purchased for it with a Vi-Spring mattress to maintain the same quality levels as our other rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great welcoming, relaxing B&B. Good rural location for visitors to see the area. Fine views and local walks. Nik and Jayne provide excellent service serving sumptuous breakfasts and evening meals featuring fresh home made goodies, breads, jams, ice cream etc. their hens wander around the lawn providing those all important free range eggs. Well decorated throughout with comfortable spacious bedrooms and a super lounge to relax in after a busy day. The added bonus is the outside swimming pool with patio area great during this heatwave. This B&B was a great find, so good we extended our stay from 3 to 5 nights, that says it all, excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our food so much. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at Lancers House at the end of May. How fun was it to be greeted with the chickens running around outside! The grounds were beautiful, and I'm impressed at how much they grown themselves and use in the food they prepare. We had a very friendly greeting, and the room was better than expected - quite large, nice view outside the windows, wide variety of TV channels, and supercomfortable bed. We did not take advantage of dinner as we arrived relatively late in the day, but the breakfast was absolutely phenomenal. Their homemade breads are to die for! Especially the cheese onion pepper bread :), which the owners were so kind to give us the recipe for! They make their own jams, they use their own eggs (from the chickens of course!). The room heated up nicely as the night were chilly at the time. I would definitely recommend Lancers House and we intend to stay there again when back in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and we are delighted you appreciated the quality of the beds. We are also pleased you enjoyed the breads and hope you have tried making them at home, alternatively we are starting our bread making courses in September so you could always enquire about available dates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Nice rooms and delicious breakfast (strongly recommend the Eggs Royale!). The outdoor swimming pool was a complete bonus as I had not clocked that when booking. I half wondered if the A30 road noise would be a problem, but it was not. Went to the Compass Inn (about two miles away) for fab supper.

Room Tip: If you are a really light sleeper, I would probably suggest the annex rooms as these are behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We hope to see you again next time you are in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a real find if you need to be near Wilton/ Salisbury or Tisbury. An immediate welcome on arrival from the joint proprietor. A splendid dinner with a good range of choice.Emphasis on genuinely home produced food. Bread baked on the premises- chickens wander around the grounds. -Nic and Jayne can be rightly proud of their hard work over the last three years in running such a delightful small hotel. My wife enjoyed her swim whilst I minded the towels !

Room Tip: We needed the windows(double glazed)closed to cut out the fast traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank objective_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we will continue to strive to improve our offering for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range: £64 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing