We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancers House - I can recommend it!!”
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancers House
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lancers House - I can recommend it!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at Lancers House last week (7 Aug) with my husband and 2 young sons and I can thoroughly recommend it. Ours was a last minute decision to stay in the area and I was glad of the sat nav to get us there. We arrived later than planned and Nick was concerned that we needed an evening meal - he offered his own restaurant or was happy to recommend a local pub. We chose to stay at Lancers and were glad that we did. All of the food is home cooked, fresh to order and delicious. The home made ice creams are absolutely fantastic. We used the family room which was lovely, clean and homely. It wasn't the biggest room that we have stayed in but, heh, you don't spend long in there anyway and it was fine for the 4 of us. There is also a great lounge downstairs should you want more space. After a good nights sleep in the comfy beds it was breakfast - all home made again, delicious. Overall we were very happy with our stay at Lancers and will recommend it to friends and family and look forward to visiting again ourselves. Thanks Nick and Jayne

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzieq4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We look forward to welcoming you all back again, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed our food so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    41
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
109
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Lancers House is one of the nicest B&Bs we've ever stayed in. The Vi-Spring matress made for the most comfortable night's sleep my husband and I have had for months. Although our room was quite compact it was suitable for our 3 night stay. It was very clean,had lots of 'those little extras' (clothes brush, sewing kit, shaving kit) which made for a nice attention to detail, and a great power shower.

Nik and Jayne were so welcoming and the quintessential hosts; nothing was too much trouble and their pride in what they do gives a real sense that they are constantly striving to improve on all aspects of their business and genuinely welcome guest feedback.

The food was excellent. We had dinner on the first night (and would've eaten in-house again if our plans had permitted) Everything was home-cooked, very tasty and served with pleasure in the cosy and charmingly decorated dining room. We had the BEST STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING EVER (and we're aficionados!)

Breakfast was also a feast for foodies with a large choice including superb home-made bread, sausages, preserves, yogurt and the tastiest, freshest eggs from the chickens which roam freely at the rear of the property.

The location was quiet and proved a good base for exploring (Salisbury, Wilton, Longleat, Stonehenge) and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and, although our room was on the 'main' road, it was not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennicupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Jayne and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our food so much. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future. If you think the Sticky Toffee Pudding was good, wait and see what we have in store for next season!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Fremantle
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Really enjoyed staying here, away from the bustle of nearby towns but still close to Salisbury to visit the Cathedral and Stonehenge. Great room with gorgeous bed and everything we could possibly need, and as we had an early departure for Heathrow a picnic breakfast was prepared for us. Slight trick to getting door locked but once told of knack it was OK. Enjoyed a walk across nearby public pathway with wonderful view across countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review, Jayne and I hope you had a really pleasant trip home and we hope to see you again on one of your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We arrived at Lancer's House after a long journey on a hot day, exhausted and in need of a rest. Our children immediately ran to the pool and we knew that our holiday had begun. What a lovely place, what friendly people! We stayed three nights and enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and evening meals. The home made breads and croissants were my favourite and my partner really enjoyed the Lancers House lemon curd. Our boys preferred the home made ice cream. Nik and Jayne went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one and we would like to return next year. Although we saw Stone Henge and the cathedral, had a beautiful walk in the woods and saw many pretty villages, we feel that we only scratched the surface of this lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the area. If you would like us to put together a suggested itinerary for your next visit, then just drop me an email and I will set to work on it for you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The room was perfect for the three of us, nicely decorated and spotless. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice and lots of homemade goodies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next time you are all in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Lancer's house but could easily have stayed for more. From the home made and home grown produce to the extra comfy beds, we felt like we were in a special place. Great location to visit famous sites and feel the peace and quiet at the end of a day of sight seeing. Great little paths nearby for my morning runs. Owners are very friendly and catered very well for our young kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope you go on to grow your own or perhaps make your own bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

After sightseeing in London we arrived there, jumping in the pool and just relaxing. Nick and Jayne gave us a warm welcome and we stayed there for three nights, enjoying the comfartable beds and the great breakfast. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you too, we hope we will get to see you all again next time you come to England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Mandeville
7.3 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
189 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
396 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
400 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Property: Lancers House
Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing